We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing North Shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort is a wonderful hotel situated on an amazing stretch of Hawaiian beach. The property is smaller, by usual resort standards, but I found that to be to my liking. Sometimes bigger is not necessarily better. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the lobby was beautifully decorated. It seemed the property always had some activity going on, and the staff was very friendly. The pool deck was never over crowded and it was easy to find a place to sit and enjoy. Sunset views were phenomenal here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay. Our property is actually one of the largest in the state and covers 840 acres of the North Shore. You can fit all of Waikiki on our property and still have left over land to explore- we think that’s pretty cool! We hope you can join us again on the Fabled North Shore and enjoy another phenomenal sunset! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    975
    400
    176
    107
See reviews for
872
1,584
59
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We came with our boys of 4 and 8 yrs basically on recommendation of friends and MyHawaii. We booked adjoining rooms and even after a slow drive from HNL international we're here by late morning. Great surprise, we were told one room was ready and the other would be within an hour. We drove the inland route and stopped at Wimea Bay (not great for swimming due to the very sharp drop off right on the shoreline), as well as sunset and pipeline. There's some great rock pools along the coast if you have young ones. More important issues, fantastic location for the resort and Sunset drinks by the pool bar watching the surfers with chilled out music is something else!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for recommending Turtle Bay Resort to others on Trip Advisor. We’re honored to be on your bucket list! We hope you can visit us again in the future! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

After looking at many great reviews online I decided to set up a trip with my wife, kids, and parents to the fabled turtle bay. Driving in from Honolulu airport is one of the most beautiful sites I've ever seen on any of the trips I've been on with my family. Once we pulled into we were greeted by numerous people with a smile and a Aloha. Check in was EXTREMELY easy, we were even greeted by one of the managers Filius Laurent who immediately recommended multiple places and things for me and my family to do. One of the main things that really made this trip special that he suggested was the Mother's Day brunch they held in the hotel. Everything from the food to the live music was spectacular. Trips like this give me something to always smile about. Turtle bay has BY FAR the nicest most helpful staff I have ever come across in my travels. I would definitely recommend turtle bay any day over any other hotel. 5 STARS.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha, Your review made us smile! It truly is an honor to know you think back about Turtle Bay with a smile on your face! Thank you for sharing how our staff is the friendliest you have ever encountered! That truly one of the greatest compliments you could give! We’re sure Filius and the rest of our Turtle Bay family would love to see you again someday, so please visit us on the Fabled North Shore soon! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Loved the resort as soon as we stepped out of the Limo.
The staff are so welcoming.
Our room was wonderful, beautiful day core and the view from our balcony looking over the pool and beach was awesome.The balcony's are large and the chairs are very comfortable lovely to relax in with a glass of wine watching the sets roll in.
the Kula Grille was a excellent restaurant to dine in.
The service was wonderful and the chief was first class, we really enjoyed all our meals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha, We’re thrilled you loved your time at Turtle Bay. We’re delighted our friendly staff and delicious dining options made our stay memorable. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There's no other place like it for miles as large hotels are not allowed on the North Shore of Oahu. Although it's been there for quite a while it still is a great place. Right now there's quite a bit of construction but it's not too noisy. They are trying to transform this hotel from an older person's hotel (whatever that means) into an active younger person's hotel and it's going pretty well. One upgrade they really should work on is food quality.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms really. All are pretty good sized. Even the partial ocean view rooms show qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for staying with us at Turtle Bay Resort. We appreciate you sharing Turtle Bay is a great place. We are a resort full of experiences for our guests. The adventures include golfing, surfing, snorkeling, kayaking, Segway tours, helicopter tours, running trails, SUP and more. We also have a brand new spa and fitness center. We would love to serve you again someday. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very, very friendly.....all of them greet you whenever they see you. The housekeeper for my room, Glenda V. Cruz, was most gracious and helpful. The variety of restaurants should appeal to most everyone. The area in which the hotel is located is beautiful but a bit remote unless you are wanting to golf and swim only.

Room Tip: Corner suites are huge. All rooms have some view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Green Features: They use washable plastic glasses for outside areas. Disposable cups are paper, not Styrofoam. Waste baskets have divisions for recycled items.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for speaking so highly of our staff, especially Glenda. We will be sure to share your review with her and commend her for her great service! Turtle Bay offers several activities besides swimming and golfing. We have a brand new spa and fitness center. We also have a surf school on property, helicopter tours, Segway tours, kayaking tours, snorkeling, horseback riding and more. We have 840 beautiful acres to explore on foot or bike. We invite you to join us again on the fabled North Shore. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This resort has the most excellent views of crashing waves and open ocean. The grounds are nicely maintained and rooms are clean. One word of caution the reception sign in or check out are all in the same place so you may stand in line for 15 plus minutes to do either. This is frustrating since you are paying a hefty price to stay here. We had a nice lunch at Ola's right next door to the hotel. Try their grilled octopus. If you are driving from Honolulu the most direct route is right up the middle of the island, takes about 45 minutes. Looking for a scenic route, take the east coast drive. It is winding but you will see a lot of how local folks live and play.

Room Tip: They are all good with views of the water.
See more room tips
Green Features: towel replacement as well as bed linens are optional.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha, mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay. Thank you for sharing what you love about our resort, as well as where you think we can improve. We are working on incorporating IPad check-in to make our guests experience better. We would be honored to serve you again someday. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.