We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak start ended really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf Contest Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NRW
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weak start ended really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a lot time in advance and I was confirmed a remolded twin-bedded-room. Arriving at the front desk we had to learn that no twin-bedded-room was available. Aubrey from the check-in-desk wanted to give us a less expensive room instead (of course with the compensation of difference in money) but as we declared that we do not want to get downgraded she went to the back office and returned with the offer to get a good room and a compensation on the resort card for this mistake.
We accepted and got our queen-bedded junior suite which was really first class!
The Resort is remodeld, some work is still being done (inside and outside) and we have to say that the new rooms are really exclusive.
The nearby beach is good, the staff is friendly and attantive, the location is top notch. We had breakfast, Cocktails (in the bar The Surfer) and Dinner in the resort and we were at no time disappointed.
The breakfast gives a large variety of excellent Food. You can choose "a la carte", continental buffet or the full range of the buffet.
I had a yoga class and I was very satisfyied with the teacher. The fitness room is good as well!

As I mentioned in the title it was a poor start because this happened to be the third try to downgrade us during our Hawaiian vacation (1. in another Hotel where we had booked the executive floor, we should stay on normal floor without getting the advantages of the exec. floor, 2. at Hertz where we had booked a better car than a small hatchback - and all this too a lot time and discussion before we received what we had paid for - therefore we were really shocked as we again were told you booked and confirmed Alii-q-Room is not available)

Room Tip: I cannot advise any room because from each room you can see the water. Higher Level will be an advan...
See more room tips
Green Features: They really behaved as announced: - towels were only changed when they laid in the tub - blankets are changed every three nights – unless you indicate to get it switched - you can sepparate - your waste - paper, glass and cans got to be recycled - bus Station nearby
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha, It’s nice to know your stay with us on the Fabled North Shore turned your Hawaii trip around. Thank you for sharing you liked your suite, our beaches and our friendly, attentive staff. Our new fitness center only offers the best equipment and we’re glad you enjoyed it as well as a yoga class. We also offer zumba, cardio kickboxing, toning, hot hula and more! Mahalo for the perfect rating. We would be honored to serve you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    936
    386
    174
    101
See reviews for
827
1,506
56
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My mother and I stayed there for 10 days,we had very nice experience the staff was very helpful and gave s 5 star servicevte all time we were there.we requested a ocean front room hight floor king bed they gave us room #678 one of the best view!the waves were so strong it's was amazing.we are going back next year!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha, It was an honor to have you and your mother stay with us at Turtle Bay! We’re happy to hear you two had a wonderful experience and plan on visiting us again next year! We look forward to serving you! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Yes, they have some construction going on, and I am very picky about things. Honestly though, this resort is so lovely, and the staff was so attentive, I could overlook the construction. If you like nature, this is the resort for you. It would be ideal for a quiet honeymoon. There are 800 magnificent acres of raw and wild Hawaiian beauty. We especially enjoyed kayaking in a quiet little bay, and horseback riding along unspoiled sandy trails. Our kayak guides could not have been nicer. We had never kayaked before, but it was easy. The highlight was the giant turtle that swam right by me! We also loved the horseback ride along the beach and into the quiet woods, dodging mossy vines, and discovering a giant banyan tree. We felt like we were experiencing a very special place. As to the accomodations, we were not disappointed. We had reserved a cottage, but it was not ready, so we spent our first night on the 6th floor overlooking the pool, with crashing ocean waves beyond. It was spectacular! Wonderful bathtub! We could see the roof construction below, but the ocean view was so stunning, the roof did not bother me. Our cottage was just as nice. We were on the end, so it took a little walking to get to the lobby, but we enjoyed the exercise and the privacy being last in the row. The ocean was just steps away. We slept with the sliding door open and could hear the waves all night. We had our breakfast on our porch and watched a small group of surfers on the point. Every single person at the resort was so nice. The lady at the lobby breakfast bar even remembered my usual order by day three. We had good burgers by the beach in a lovely little open-air restaurant, and the farm to table restaurant at the resort had the most delicious Ahi Poke that I have ever tasted. The people of the North Shore seem to have such a great appreciation of nature, a generous spirit, and a true love of the sea. One local advised to "always wear your bathing because you never know when someone at the grocery store might ask you to go for a swim". We loved Turtle Bay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha, Mahalo for spending time with us on the Fabled North Shore! We’re happy that our aloha spirit and beautiful location made your vacation paradise, despite our current renovations. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, including all the aspects of your stay that made it memorable like our barista remembering your drink and our fresh, mouthwatering Ahi poke at North Shore Kula Grille. We would be honored to serve you again and hope you chose to visit us again someday! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our stay at the Turtle Bay Resort was so relaxing and we were based in such a lovely scenic spot! We decided to pamper ourselves with a beach cottage and were so glad that we did. Upon arriving, we were greeted by our room attendant presenting us with delicious cocktails and a fresh fruit assortment. He was so friendly and happily offered up some great local favs for us to check out. The unit was nicely laid out and super clean! It was great to have a more private space to lounge on our patio and hammocks on the lawn without too many people passing by or hanging out. The beach area closest to our cottage was so beautiful to hang out at for a sunrise or sunset. We really loved being able to walk all over the resort and the array of benches to sit and watch the ocean.

As for the main beach area, it was fun to snorkel for a little while because it was a bit crowded in the water and on the beach. The snorkeling rental attendant was really nice and so were the towel attendants.

We dined at Lei Lei's Bar & Grill for one of the evenings and it was alright, nothing special. The resort was close enough to some really great local eateries and markets so we were able to bring back so much delicious food which we really enjoyed on our patio with breathtaking ocean views.

I was able to participate in one of the yoga classes and take in a spa service which were both relaxing and refreshing. The spa attendants were helpful and cheerful. The yoga instructor had a calming demeanor and good attitude.

Overall, we were able to refresh ourselves in the luxury of this island oasis in our beach cottage on the resort and would definitely come back and stay in them. The staff were easily accessible and always so pleasant to interact with. We felt pampered and enjoyed our time.

Room Tip: The Beach Cottages are definitely the way to go for more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for sharing that you felt pampered during your stay with us at Turtle Bay. We’re glad that our friendly staff and wonderful amenities made your vacation getaway memorable. We hope to have the honor of a return visit someday. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My new wife and I had a great time on our honeymoon, granted construction works are taking place but thr venue and the people make up for what's going on at the resort. It's only going to get better , looking forward to returning on our anniversary.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding! We are honored you chose to spend your honeymoon with us on the Fabled North Shore. We apologize for construction being underway during your stay but we are happy to read our venue and friendly staff made your stay a memorable one. It’s nice to know you are excited about our renovations! We look forward to your visit in the future. Mahalo. 4.0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

So so disappointed by our recent stay at the resort. We were so looking forward to 5 nights of rest and relaxation after 10 nights on the west coast and it just didn't meet up to our expectations or what others had written on here.

Don't get me wrong, there were some fantastic aspects to the hotel. We booked a modernised 6th floor room and had great views over the bay and when up early saw beautiful sunrises. The room itself was very spacious and as you'd expect from a recently refurbished room clean, bright and modern. The bathroom was absolutely fantastic with huge shower and sunken bath which included shutters into the room and thus out to sea, a very relaxing experience. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful with the table service while sat round the pool a great benefit and much utilised. Equally the staff in the restaurants were very friendly and keen to help with recommendations. Finally there are loads of activities you can do and team are very helpful when booking these.

However the were too many poor elements to the hotel which meant it didn't hit the mark for us and like some other reviews mention if the hotel had some competition nearby they would need to improve significantly.

Firstly and most annoyingly for us, building works. They are modernising one of the 3 hotel wings and this part of the hotel is closed off, this didn't cause too much of a problem. The biggest issue was they turned 50% of the lifts off at night due to carpet work, a couple of nights we had to wait for the workmen to move so we could get out of the lift. However the bigger issue for me was the roofing works that are going on, this is around the ledge level with the first floor - these take place between 9am-5pm and can be very noisy, we were not warned about this prior to any booking (we used hotels own website) and we felt we should have been. You could hear the noise by the pool and we wanted to have a relaxing massage in the huts by the sea ($300 for a couple by the way) but you can hear the building noise so that was ruled out. We did complain whilst at the hotel and were offered a cottage away from the building work but it wasn't a concern when in our room.

The choice of bar for the evening is very limited, yes you have Surfer however if you want a quieter drink there's nowhere except the lobby bar which closes at 9pm, hardly late! Equally if you wanted a hot drink you couldn't get one and one night they'd cleaned the coffee machines down so we could only have a hot chocolate!

There are a number of hidden charges and I would urge you to both check your bill when leaving but also do your calculations prior to booking. We had paid for breakfast vouchers in advance, over $30 each by the way which we felt was very expensive considering we'd been paying about that for both whilst travelling the west coast but in addition they'd added breakfast onto our final bill also! There's also a room occupancy tax, $32 per night; a general exercise tax on that $16; a resort fee (for things such as wi-fi which should be free anyway in a hotel of this standard), $25 and that also is taxed $1. It might just be due to being English however this all seemed to make the hotel over-priced with an additional $75 per night.

Finally there seemed to be a number of functions whilst we were staying there, which I know hotels need however there were areas that were closed off not to mention the noise of some of the when near the pool. The most annoying though was whilst we waited for a table at breakfast yet they were seated as a priority, really frustrating when you're paying over $60 for a buffet breakfast!

So overall frustrated and disappointed by our stay, we definitely wouldn't go back and would not recommend the hotel particularly highly to anyone.

Room Tip: The 6th floor rooms give fantastic views, particularly the South Wing.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel doing normal things such as asking you to consider towel usage as well as linen changes.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent stay with us at Turtle Bay. It’s nice to know you enjoyed your room, our friendly staff and the beautiful views at the hotel. We understand your frustrations with our current roof project underway and we apologize for it having a negative impact on your visit. We posted information on the roof project on our website “Enhancements” page, which we keep updated to keep guests informed on the renovation project status. We appreciate you sharing what you believe can be improved upon. Management of the specific areas you mentioned have been notified about your review and they will look into ways to improve their service. We hope to one day have the honor of a return visit so we can make it up to you once our renovations are complete in early 2014. If you chose to give us the honor, please contact our Director of Operations Jeff Perkins so he can personally assist you in booking your stay with us. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very disappointed that we were not warned in any way that we would wake up to major construction and restoration right outside our balcony. Refer to picture! I would share video but "trip advisor" only uploads photos. We booked back April with high expectations of a relaxing and enjoyable experience only to be awoke to load construction works and very loud motorized equipment! Not one person from the resort said we can offer you an upgrade to the other side of resort or a discount? Why would that be okay with mgmt? The updated room was adequate but sparse in decor with a small 32" tv. Very over priced breakfast buffet that pales in comparison to a buffet in Vegas which is cheaper for the buffet. Asked to get lessons for my wife for stand up paddle boarding and was told just let us know 24hrs in advance so we can get a trainer and then to be told after I did as they asked well we can't do it then because we can't find a trainer ?? Really!!? $18 dollars to valet park!! Really once again why? Just another way to nickle and dime you... now remind you I can afford to pay the $18 dollars I just refuse to be taken advantage of because its turtle bay! Now as far as staff goes very pleasant and I didn't have any issues and had several pleasant conversations with staff. Again not disappointed in staff they have been great just mgmt for a major failure in what would a fair and just warning of what ours and many other guests stay would be like.
Thx Bill

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff because we believe our aloha spirit is what truly helps make our guests’ stays pleasant. We sincerely apologize for the current renovations having a negative impact on your stay. We strive to fix problems any of our guests encounter and we apologize for you not being offered another room. We may have been at full capacity and unable to, which is why it was not offered. We offer free self-parking at the resort and feel our valet fee of $18 is reasonable. Especially if you look at rates for valet at other hotels on Oahu, that can be $30 or more. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Turtle Bay and hope to have the honor of a return visit once our renovations are complete so we can regain your trust. Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.