We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turtle bay has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fantastic Fall Rates!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“turtle bay has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just got back from 7 days at turtle bay. this resort has it all. surfing, horseback riding, snorkeling, golf, water slide,etc. at night, the surfer bar has different types of entertainment including an open mike night for local talent which is way cool , a talk story night, and a hawaiian music night. great feel and good service are all around. it's just a really fun place with a great north shore vibe and i can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: i like the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha, We’re thrilled you had a fun time at Turtle Bay Resort and that you enjoyed the north shore vibes! Mahalo for the perfect rating on Trip Advisor and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,349
    855
    362
    164
    97
See reviews for
746
1359
53
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spend 4 night at the resort. When we checked in we got a free upgrade to a ocean wiew room. Kind of old interior but it was clean, so we didn't bother. Quite when you wanted to go to sleep. Really nice poolarea and the beach was perfect. A really good shop in the hotell that you could buy almost everything! Wr really recomend this hotell if you want a nice and calm place. No party and no noice and we loved it. If we come back to Ohau I would definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha, It’s nice to know you found Turtle Bay to be the perfect hideaway. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our beach, pool area and shops. We look forward to your next visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Turtle Bay for 3 nights in one of the new epic ocean view rooms. The room had a completely new bathroom, it was freshly painted, had new carpet and furnishings. It was a relatively basic room but nice.
We had a good time at the resort and used the pool, beach and golf course. We also dined at a number of the restaurants - the golf course and beach restaurant were our favourites.
It was good having a car so that we could also eat outside of the resort. We used the self parking which was easy and free.
It was very windy during our stay, but I think that was a combination of Turtle Bay's location and the summer trade winds.
If you are keen to stay on the north shore, I'd recommend Turtle Bay if you can get one of the new renovated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha, We appreciate you recommending us to others on Trip Advisor. We’re glad you liked our new epic rooms as well as Lei Lei’s and Ola. We hope to have the honor of a return visit soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Married here in 2011 and return just a week ago. It has changed and is changing quite a bit. Still love the North Shore because of Waimea Valley, Ted's Bakery, Kualoa Ranch and more, but Turtle Bay was the main attraction due to the hotels lovely views, excellent location, great staff and more. TB has changed and the staff seem on edge. The rooms are looking outdated and the staff at Surf bar was the worst. They are a group of younger folks who seem to care more about each other and hanging out than serving the customer. Smoking in groups outside even though the resort says its smoke free, bartender does not know how to make any good drinks. Ordered 4 different drinks and they were terrible. Had to order a beer just to get my taste buds back on track. TB is in the middle of a huge renovation and they do a great job of keeping that separate from your stay. The in room coffee is only a notch above mud. The views are amazing and they did a great job with check in even though we were early and did not try and gouge me for more money. I would stay here again, but hopefully something changes with Surf. I will say that surf has a great happy hour menu and the entertainment is free and fun. We say Taz Vegas and he did a great job.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for visiting us again. Although you enjoy the views and live music at Surfer, The Bar we are sorry to hear about the service you received. The General Manager of Surfer, The Bar has been notified about your experience and he will look into the situation as well as remind his employees about proper customer service. Security will ensure employees and guests only smoke in the designated smoking areas. We hope you visit us in the future so you can see our renovated epic rooms. All of our guest rooms are scheduled to be finished in October 2013. Mahalo for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

we stayed @ Turtle Bay Resort for a week and loved it. The rooms were clean, the pool is warm, the ocean is just on the other side of the resort. The snorkelling is great right in the cove they have at the resort. The staff was friendly. The food on the resort was quite pricey. There are delicious food trucks just east of the resort. They are less than a 10 minute drive away. We had a king room with ocean view. It was beautiful!
They do have a bus system that includes the turtle bay resort. We rented a car, free parking!!
There is a daily resort fee. There is no continental breakfast. We bought some bananas and granola bars for mornings.
They are still remodeling some floors. We weren't bothered with noise or dust. I didn't really notice there was construction.
The one thing I did not like - the pillows were too hard. It was hard for me to sleep.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I loved the ocean view room! It was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha, It’s nice to know you loved Turtle Bay! We hope you can visit us again once our renovations are complete. All of our guestrooms should be finished by October 2013. Mahalo and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had read many reviews of the Turtle Bay Resort, so we were prepared for the construction and so-so food. We requested a room in the newly renovated wing, but I can say that we probably had a better view in the un-renovated room we were given. However, although it was a beautiful view, our room was over the pathway where all chairs and tables for weddings are loaded and unloaded. This created a great deal of squeaky, mechanical, distracting noise mornings, afternoons and late at night. We spent all day at the adjacent (public) beach, which had chairs for hotel guests but not for the constantly arriving general public. This leads to an all day spectacle of people dragging chairs around and the poor hotel cabana boy retrieving them. I agree with another recent review that the hotel is far too cold - it was the first time in ten years of Hawaiian vacations that I was constantly cold. And I do not mean my room - I mean the lobby, the restaurants and other common areas. It rained nearly every day (to be expected) and I was freeeeezing in this place not to mention the fact that I found it fairly anti-environmental to have an open-air lobby concept with 70 degree air conditioning. I never even got my free drink from the bar because I didn't bring a jacket so I couldn't endure the lobby in the evening. So on the upside, with the outdated room and cold lobby we spent a lot of our time outside and especially enjoyed the tennis courts. We also took advantage of the yoga classes (Erica was fabulous) and gym, which were wonderful. One problem for the resort is that the pool area is so windy it was actually impossible to sit there for any time at all. We ordered our food and by the time it arrived we had to move because it was literally flying out of our mouths. But on the upside there were plenty of open chairs due to the windy conditions. The only restaurant worth visiting was Ola's, right on the beach, open air, no air-conditioning. Surfer the Bar was very disappointing with the slow service, limited menu, and dim lighting. Our biggest complaint about the resort was that information was very difficult to come by...it felt like we had to research everything via Internet and then go ask an employee very specific questions just to get vague, lackluster answers. An example of this was that no one told us about the lovely (empty) beach on the cottage side which was difficult to get to - no marked path at all - and yet that is where you can actually see the turtles feeding in the shallow waters. The self-parking was fairly convenient, but we felt fortunate that the hotel was only at about 60% occupancy during our stay. There is a big difference between a 4 star resort and a 5 star resort - don't expect a lei when you arrive or much entertainment - but the location is spectacular. Sad to see the turtle logo has been eliminated because I think it was symbolic of the natural Hawaiian beauty and wildlife that makes this resort enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha, We appreciate you taking the time to share your Turtle Bay experience with us. We apologize that you found the hotel to be too cold. We try to keep our hotel at 72 degrees which is considered a comfortable temperature for most people. Management of Surfer, The Bar has been notified about your complaint and will look into the matter. We try to keep our guests informed about events at the hotel via the in room newsletter, our interactive monitors, Turtle Bay Resort App and website. We will soon be implementing SMS alerts to notify our in-house guests as well. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A beautiful lobby and complimentary cocktail greet you here and there is beauty and hospitality beyond there. Prices are resort- typical , so if you want to pay less, try the food trucks along, the north shore, the bakeries and the sandwich shops. Aside from price , the hotel food is good in all the restaurants. Our rooms were maintained well and our kids in the partial ocean view had a nice lookout of pool and bay...not just a sliver of sea! We would go back...the luxury is nice after a day of outdoor activities on the north shore.

Room Tip: Partial ocean views can be a good deal.
See more room tips
Green Features: Best we saw on our stay in Hawaii. Lots of receptacles, etc.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha, We’re happy to hear Turtle Bay was a great fit for your whole family. We agree there is nothing better than enjoying a beautiful view from your room after spending the day exploring and playing on the North Shore! We hope to have the honor of a return visit someday. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.