We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Awesome Staff/Location - disappointing surf photos"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Air Ronge
2 reviews
“"Awesome Staff/Location - disappointing surf photos"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights from April 4-8 and loved the experience. The staff and amenities were perfect. The only problem I had was with the photos from the surfing lessons, we paid for 3 adult group lessons and a private lesson for my youngest daughter we were told they would take pictures and give us the option to purchase them. We were quite disappointed when to learned that we had to purchase the entire disc of pictures that were taken during our lessons however, 80% of the photos were of a private lesson done during the same time and maybe 6 pictures were taken of our family of 4. I felt even worse for the young boy who was in our group lesson where the photographer only took two photos of him. The entire disc which we purchased for 40 dollars was mainly pictures of the one private lesson done during the same time. Therefore we have an entire disc of surf lessons of another child's private lesson.

Room Tip: ocean view is AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha, It’s nice to know you enjoyed our friendly staff and amenities, however we are sorry to hear your disappointment with the photo CD you received from the Hans Hedemann Surf School on property. We understand how you could be upset with not having ample photos of your surf lessons. Management of Hans Hedemann Surf School has been notified about your complaint and will look into the issue. Thanks for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor and we hope you can visit us again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    975
    400
    176
    107
See reviews for
872
1,584
59
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orange county, california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The property is very nicely situated on a point, so there are spectacular ocean views from every angle. There is a small cove at the beach area with cool snorkeling, and it was nice that the snorkeling equipment was free each day. The pool had ample lounge chairs, and we enjoyed the Hangten Bar and Grill at the pool for lunch and cocktails. The concierge was helpful and assisted us with booking our excursions.

Yes, the Turtle Bay Resort is undergoing renovations that are obviously necessary, and we knew this going into it so we sort of overlooked the outdated and worn rooms. But what was lacking was the attention to the customer - it was really minimal. Valets, desk-staff and wait staff seemed to be lacking a warmth toward the customers. What was also disconcerting was how darn expensive food and drinks were - we never had a breakfast for four people under $100.00. So since I was paying premium prices I thought I would be getting premium service, but that just wasn't the case. Thankfully there is a town about 20 minutes down the road with some excellent, reasonably priced restaurants.

Would I go there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha, We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and bringing your stay to our attention. We are sorry to hear you felt the staff lacked warmth when dealing with customers. All of our employees go through values training that puts customer service first as well as showcasing the aloha spirit. We apologize you did not feel the warmth first-hand. Our front desk management has been notified about your concern. Though you do not plan on visiting us again, We hope to have the honor of a return visit so we can show you the true aloha spirit of our resort. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is amazing except for the screaming kids at the pool, ugh! Stayed in the cottages. Amazing! Loved it. The new restaurant that opened up while we were there is really good. The sunsets are spectacular. The horse back riding was fun. Thanks Alison for being our guide that day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha, We’re happy to hear you found Turtle Bay to be an amazing place! Thanks for sharing you enjoyed our new restaurant, Kula Grille as well as horseback riding with Alison. We hope to have the honor of a return visit so you can see another spectacular sunset on the fabled North Shore! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in a room on the third floor over the pool and felt that the room needed some upgrades. The golf on the Palmer course was good as was the sunset horse ride. As honeymooners our room being over the pool wasn't the best, but the worst was that the room really wasn't what we would have expected for the price. Wasn't the cleanest I had ever seen but beyond that the finishes were really not what I a expect out of a luxury hotel stay. I know that the hotel is in the middle of an upgrade which interrupted their spa appointments and could be heard at the pool, so hopefully once upgraded the room situation would be taken care of.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha and congratulations on your new life together. We are honored you chose to celebrate the momentous occasion with us at Turtle Bay. We apologize if our renovations put a damper on your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our championship golf course as well as the romantic sunset horse ride. We invite you to experience our renovations first hand once they are complete so you can experience all that Turtle Bay has to offer minus a room you are not pleased with. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the property for three nights figuring it would be a good location for seeing the north shore. It was good for that. While the "beach cottage" was very nice as rooms go (a bit pricey for what it was, even with a discounted rate), the hotel itself was a disappointment when it came to restaurants and services. One problem is that they are in the middle of renovations, which means spa services are not conveniently available, and some restaurants are closed. However the Kuala Grill just opened -- based on our experience it appears to be going through serious growing pains. It is sad to see a hotel spending millions of dollars on superficial infrastructure and yet not apparently putting the effort into the things that don't cost much money ... supervision and training of staff so guests have a first-class experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Just to clarify the spa is still open during the renovations and services are being offered at a discounted price. We’re sorry to hear that it seems you did not experience the aloha spirit first hand. Each of our employees have undergone values training which includes customer service. We are excited for the renovations taking place so we can better serve our guests. Mahalo and we hope to have the honor of a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in April in one of the suites (room 630) and had a GREAT time!
The room is very spacious (a little outdated but the hotel is undergoing a major renovation with expected completion in 2014). The views are great from this suite! You can see both sunrise/lagoon/beach and sunset/pools/surfing. The bed was comfortable and this suite had a nice kitchen.

The staff had the "aloha spirit"...we loved Ricky (valet) and Tommy (bell captain.)
I also took the ukulele and shell hula dance classes with Tutu (she's a trip!!)
The cardio kickboxing was fun too!

We had breakfast buffet each morning and it was very good! Mai tais by the pool were a yummy treat for watching the surfers and the sunset

We also took a stand up paddleboarding class with Maggie. It was a fun experience--we saw turtles and it was exciting to be on the beach were they filmed episodes of Lost and upcoming scenes for the 2nd Hunger Games!

This is a terrific resort for families--but it was equally nice for our group of 40+ adults who wanted to experience the quiet island "aloha vibe"!

Room Tip: Corner suite had views of two sides of the hotel. I think the view from this Suite is probably the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We’re glad you experienced and felt the “Aloha Vibe” while staying with us at Turtle Bay Resort. We’re thrilled our friendly staff shared their aloha spirit with you! We will let Ricky, Tommy, Maggie and Tutu know they had such a positive impact on your stay. We hope you can visit us again soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a short staycation from April 12-14, 2013. We were really looking forward to it. I looked online and studied the room, the policy and what is included with the resort fee, and amenities.

According to the website the resort fee includes some of the following: snorkeling gear for an hour, wireless internet, one free drink per person upon arrival, facilities use, and overnight parking.

When we arrived the valet greeted us by name and asked if we wanted valet, we said no, he directed me to the parking lot that was reserved specifically for us - guests. This parking lot is open to the public and I routinely had to park several hundred yards from the hotel due to it being packed, this was both day and night. Not really a huge issue for me but if I am paying for this why is there not a section just for guests instead of being open to everybody. With the valet, once they saw there was only one bag they did not even help my wife get it out of the car, pretty disappointing and this was within the first 5 minutes. Oh well, no big deal check-in will be great.

Living on Oahu I have been to many other resorts/hotels both on this island and others. First, we waited about 5 minutes for someone to check us in with no one else in line, the receptionist was typing away and didn't even acknowledge us until I said hello. She gave us our keys, explained the towel policy to us, and sent us on our way to the 4th floor, our room was on the 5th, I just figured it must have a wierd floor layout, got to the 4th floor - nope gotta go to the 5th. Additionally, I was kind of suprised that we did not get a lei or anything like that as many resorts I have been to give those out upon check-in.

As I said I looked all online at the rooms, the room was no where near the picture that was on the site. The floor was filthy, the bathroom light could not even light the shower area, there was chipped paint, old chairs, the balcony door was rusted so had to really push to get it open. Just was kind of expecting more, I know the resort is under rennovation but for the price, just a little rough. No real amentities in the room other than wi-fi, had to pay for bottled water.

Then went to the pool, very nice pool. Pool bar was nice as well, little pricey but it is a resort so no worries. We then searched for the gym, when we checked in nothing was told to us that the gym was being rennovated as well, we found the gym and there was a sign saying it was temporarily moved to the main floor in a coference/banquet area (is what it looked like). The equipment was broken and old - very disappointed as we use that at most hotels. Once again realize it is under rennovation but what is up with old and broken equipment.

We did find a little interesting walk way with old hawaiin history and artifacts. This was not marked or anything, but it was a neat find.

The restaunts in the building are pretty pricey but we did eat at Ola one day for lunch. It was really good and the wait staff were very attentive. So props to Ola.

The beach was very nice as well and is probably why I gave 2 ranking vice a one. The staff on the beach were very good as well. We saw a whale or two. One tip is to get to the beach when it opens at 9 if you want an umbrella - which is free, there are only about 6 or 7 of them. You can pay for shade chairs as well, but we got an umbrella so good to go.

The drink in the resort fee was not given to us, we received a drink coupon for an apology for the rennovations but not for the resort fee. Not that big of a deal, just figured if I am paying for it I should get it.

Overall, not sure we would go back even when it is rennovated. At a resort like this and for the price I would expect a little more from the staff and hospitality.

Room Tip: Get to the beach by 9 to get a good spot under tiki umbrellas and chairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha, Thanks for visiting us at Turtle Bay Resort. We are always excited and honored to have our kama’aina friends stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, pool area and cultural walk way. Amenities in our rooms include wi-fi, a plasma tv, an ihome stereo, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, refrigerator and safe. Just to clarify, the drink coupon you received during check-in is the free drinks listed on our resort fee. As you know parking is expensive in Waikiki and can be more than $25 a day for some places so we find our resort fee to be a great deal since it includes unlimited free parking among other items. We hope you do choose to visit us once our renovations are complete because then you can experience our new rooms and state of the art fitness center and spa. Mahalo and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.