We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Turtle Bay February 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fantastic Fall Rates!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Woodland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay at Turtle Bay February 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Arrival at hotel was great. We were on the 6th floor and had a magnificent view. Rooms are big but dated and sparsely furnished. It would be so much nicer to have had a couch or some easy chairs. Toiletries were very minimal and there were no frills. Certainly expected bath robes and slippers. All that aside the location of this hotel is extraordinary. Food is very pricey, but it's only a short drive to the shrimp trucks as an alternative. Giovanni's was good but don't order the hot n spicy shrimp. Way too hot. The scampi is excellent. We also really liked Fumi's. Their spicy shrimp was awesome. You can also go down the road to Ted's Bakery. Very good food. The Foodland grocery store is. Great place to get some libations and all sorts of goodies. Golfing was fantastic We played both courses. The Palmer course is pretty challenging with a lot of water and bunker hazards, but a lot of fun. Fazio was not as fancy and a bit easier. All is all I would rank this an 8. Had the weather been a little warmer I would have rated it a 9.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, it sounds like you had a great time playing our championship golf courses and enjoying the beautiful views from your room. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor and we hope you can visit us again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,344
    854
    361
    165
    98
See reviews for
739
1355
53
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The room was nice, it overlooked the pool and we could listed to music at the poolside bar and watch the beautiful sunsets. The staff was reasonably friendly. Our only complaint would be the lack of dining options and the weird hours kept by the different restaurants. Also service at the restaurants was a bit sketchy. For example, we waited for 20 minutes at the Surfer Bar (the waitress was busy flirting with the bartender) and we finally had to get her attention. She acted annoyed and told us that she wasn't serving food for another hour, even though we were mainly just waiting for drinks. We solved the lack of dining options by driving 20 minutes either way on the highway to the local towns where the food was better and the prices more reasonable. You will need a rental if you plan to stay here due to the remote location. Overall it was a nice place an would recommend if you want to relax and be isolated from the rest of the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, We are sorry to hear you were not impressed with our dining options when you visited us in March 2012. The service you say you received at Surfer, The Bar is not up to our standards and we apologize for the actions of your server. Management of Surfer, The Bar has been notified and all staff members will be reminded of the importance of customer service. We are glad you did find the resort to be a nice place to relax and we hope you do choose to visit us again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

****** UNDER CONSTRUCTION*****. The main two restaurants are closed leaving dire shortage of places to eat- have to either take a shuttle or walk a few min (out of the main hotel complex) to get decent lunch. Lot of construction noise too. Very windy location; feels 60 degrees even when 80 outside. Pools are frigid even tho they claim its heated. DO NOT go in winter months. Somewhere on the west or south of the island (like the ihilani or kahala) are much better options unless you want to spend entire time in room. It's about 60-90 min from Waikiki depending on the traffic. Beautiful setting on the tip of the north shore. Rooms are outdated but clean. But overall much to be desired!!!!

Room Tip: ONLY consider in summer months. Ocean and pools too cold in winter months. Lot of clouds and wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear our renovations underway hindered your stay with us. We put a lot of thought and planning into the execution of our construction to not affect our guests. We scheduled our restaurant renovations to make sure there is a good number of eateries open for our guests to choose from. We invite you to visit us in the near future once our renovations are complete so you can experience the wonderful changes first-hand. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Lots of good things to say here - spacious rooms, outstanding views, overall good restaurants. Unfortunately, during my stay the property was being renovated so a couple of the restaurants were closed and a wing of the hotel was closed as well. The hotel staff did a great job of making sure you still had a full resort experience. Lots to do - hiking, horseback riding, spa, tours, fitness activities. Good balance between outdoorsy and luxurious (not overtly so, but very nice). If you stay here, I recommend having a car as you are as far from Honolulu as you can get and even the nearest town is too far to walk. Plenty of dining opportunities on site and in nearby towns. Surfer's paradise. Food quality was uniformly excellent, and generally the service was as well. Get used to a bit more relaxed pace and you'll find it quite enjoyable here. Business center on site and a tiny laundromat as well (a HUGE plus in my book!)
The minuses - restaurants all close at 10, so forget about that nightcap. The one bar that is open late, "Surfer, the bar", seemed very clubby and unwelcoming to me, and there were often special events there that seemed to be invitation only. I did not like the vibe at the door, felt like I needed to be part of the "in" crowd to walk in. The other restaurants were much more welcoming. Parking is pretty atrocious, I often spent several minutes combing the lot looking for a space. There was one night where a domestic disturbance next door to my room threatened to become serious, but overall the stay was peaceful. Food is very expensive in Hawaii, and add a resort upcharge to the bill and a modest meal becomes quite expensive, so you might want to look for ways to economize your food bill. You can charge just about everything to your room, so be prepared for sticker shock if you do!
If you are staying on Oahu, and want to get out of the urban sprawl of Honolulu, I can't imagine a better place to stay. Will be great to see what the renovations bring.

Room Tip: If you face sunset (west) expect a very hot room in the afternoon. Most views are pretty wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, Thanks for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We’re pleased you found a great balance of things to do at the resort as well as our business center and Laundromat. We look forward to your next visit once our renovations are complete. We are sure you will enjoy the positive changes throughout the hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Turtle Bay Resort is on the north shore of Oahu. Great location if you want to visit the north shore and not drive back and forth to Waikiki each day. The golf was really good; the course was in great shape. There are plenty of tennis courts if you like to play. The pool area was lovely; very peaceful during the day before people headed down to the little pool/beach bar to enjoy the sunset. Great place to watch the sunset or the surfers! The surf was pretty high when we were there (November '12), but not as high as it can be during the winter. We had dinner at 21 Degrees North (great food but bring a sweater), lunch at Ola (feet in the sand), and a quick breakfast at the Lobby Lounge. I am happy to hear they are planning on undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation, because although the resorts location is fabulous, the room size generous, it was getting a little dated and worn out. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, Our resort is currently going under renovations and being done in a way to affect our guests as little as possible. Thank you for sharing you enjoyed watching the surf as well as our restaurants. We hope to have the honor of a return visit once our renovations are complete in the near future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent four nights here on our honeymoon. The weather was terrible which tarnished our stay. Room was pretty ordinary, bathroom outdated. Pools were lovely and turtle bay nice and sheltered. Went to all restaurants and were all of good quality. Resort secluded so definately recommend a car. I would go back if I was garanteed the same weather as Waikiki!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony (lanai) otherwise you will get a rail across your door on the not so go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Congratulations on your new life together! If we could control the weather to ensure you would have a wonderful honeymoon you know we would! We are glad you loved our swimming pool and bay near the hotel. We hope to have the honor of a return visit in the near future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is away from Waikiki and worth the drive. What a fun place for a family. We came to visit our son and his family with two small grand kids. This place is geared for family. Beautiful beach for swimming, walking, exploring. Wonderful service, great food, great bar. We olan on returning in June. The rooms are so tropical and open. Its just the ideal place to stay and take it all in.

Room Tip: Get a romm overlooking the Swim Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, We are thrilled Turtle Bay Resort was the perfect fit for your family! We’re glad you enjoyed the beautiful beaches, trails and great food! We look forward to seeing you again in June! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.