We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property is being renovated (Feb 2013)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wanderlust Oahu Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Property is being renovated (Feb 2013)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Lots of good things to say here - spacious rooms, outstanding views, overall good restaurants. Unfortunately, during my stay the property was being renovated so a couple of the restaurants were closed and a wing of the hotel was closed as well. The hotel staff did a great job of making sure you still had a full resort experience. Lots to do - hiking, horseback riding, spa, tours, fitness activities. Good balance between outdoorsy and luxurious (not overtly so, but very nice). If you stay here, I recommend having a car as you are as far from Honolulu as you can get and even the nearest town is too far to walk. Plenty of dining opportunities on site and in nearby towns. Surfer's paradise. Food quality was uniformly excellent, and generally the service was as well. Get used to a bit more relaxed pace and you'll find it quite enjoyable here. Business center on site and a tiny laundromat as well (a HUGE plus in my book!)
The minuses - restaurants all close at 10, so forget about that nightcap. The one bar that is open late, "Surfer, the bar", seemed very clubby and unwelcoming to me, and there were often special events there that seemed to be invitation only. I did not like the vibe at the door, felt like I needed to be part of the "in" crowd to walk in. The other restaurants were much more welcoming. Parking is pretty atrocious, I often spent several minutes combing the lot looking for a space. There was one night where a domestic disturbance next door to my room threatened to become serious, but overall the stay was peaceful. Food is very expensive in Hawaii, and add a resort upcharge to the bill and a modest meal becomes quite expensive, so you might want to look for ways to economize your food bill. You can charge just about everything to your room, so be prepared for sticker shock if you do!
If you are staying on Oahu, and want to get out of the urban sprawl of Honolulu, I can't imagine a better place to stay. Will be great to see what the renovations bring.

Room Tip: If you face sunset (west) expect a very hot room in the afternoon. Most views are pretty wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, Thanks for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We’re pleased you found a great balance of things to do at the resort as well as our business center and Laundromat. We look forward to your next visit once our renovations are complete. We are sure you will enjoy the positive changes throughout the hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    962
    394
    175
    104
See reviews for
856
1,555
59
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Turtle Bay Resort is on the north shore of Oahu. Great location if you want to visit the north shore and not drive back and forth to Waikiki each day. The golf was really good; the course was in great shape. There are plenty of tennis courts if you like to play. The pool area was lovely; very peaceful during the day before people headed down to the little pool/beach bar to enjoy the sunset. Great place to watch the sunset or the surfers! The surf was pretty high when we were there (November '12), but not as high as it can be during the winter. We had dinner at 21 Degrees North (great food but bring a sweater), lunch at Ola (feet in the sand), and a quick breakfast at the Lobby Lounge. I am happy to hear they are planning on undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation, because although the resorts location is fabulous, the room size generous, it was getting a little dated and worn out. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, Our resort is currently going under renovations and being done in a way to affect our guests as little as possible. Thank you for sharing you enjoyed watching the surf as well as our restaurants. We hope to have the honor of a return visit once our renovations are complete in the near future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent four nights here on our honeymoon. The weather was terrible which tarnished our stay. Room was pretty ordinary, bathroom outdated. Pools were lovely and turtle bay nice and sheltered. Went to all restaurants and were all of good quality. Resort secluded so definately recommend a car. I would go back if I was garanteed the same weather as Waikiki!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony (lanai) otherwise you will get a rail across your door on the not so go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Congratulations on your new life together! If we could control the weather to ensure you would have a wonderful honeymoon you know we would! We are glad you loved our swimming pool and bay near the hotel. We hope to have the honor of a return visit in the near future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is away from Waikiki and worth the drive. What a fun place for a family. We came to visit our son and his family with two small grand kids. This place is geared for family. Beautiful beach for swimming, walking, exploring. Wonderful service, great food, great bar. We olan on returning in June. The rooms are so tropical and open. Its just the ideal place to stay and take it all in.

Room Tip: Get a romm overlooking the Swim Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, We are thrilled Turtle Bay Resort was the perfect fit for your family! We’re glad you enjoyed the beautiful beaches, trails and great food! We look forward to seeing you again in June! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Absolutely beautify property! I was excited to stay where the stars stay when they come to Hawaii! We saw about 7 major celebrities when we were there.

That being said, the rooms were a little dated, but who cares when you look out your bedroom window to the most beautiful place on earth!

The staff were all very polite, and very professional. They knew what they were doing there, that is for sure.

The only thing I didn't like, as a smoker, they didn't really make it easy for us to enjoy an afternoon on the beach. There were all of 3 places you were allowed to smoke, but all of those places were far away from anything interesting. I am not asking to smoke inside, but to be able to sit on the beach with a drink and a smoke could have been nice. Or on your balcony too.. It wasn't a deal breaker though, I should quit anyways!

Loved it, will come back again... When I can afford it.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view, so whatever you get, you will love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, beautiful location and spotting several celebrities at the resort. We look forward to your next visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What others write about the rooms are true. Mine (325) was tired around the edges, and felt like it was missing furniture (a sofa and coffee table and/or two end tables would have made the room seem correct, and still would have allowed for plenty of movement and space for two adults and their belongings, including surfboards ;-) ). But the Resort proper I found great, and the $25 fee/day fair. Services you pay for include free in-room wi-fi, free local calls, coffee/tea/under-the counter fridge (no micro, tho'), daily paper, FREE parking, fitness center, free 1 hour snorkel rental each day, free 1 hour tennis court use each day (they have many; I play), and hotel is non-smoking. Also for fee is horseback riding (full stable off polo grounds on the property), 50cc scooters (no helmet law in Hawaii!! I prefer my own Vespa with, thank you . . . ) and so on. So no I don't work for Turtle Bay and I've never been to the North Shore before and I chose to write about an aspect of the resort I wasn't seeing in all the other write-ups here and I'm just adding to the mix of all the impressions shared (I hope). In short: if I were on my honeymoon I'd be disappointed with the room. If I were with my wife of 25+ years, we'd be fine (you roll with it; that's why you travel, no?!), because the Resort AS A WHOLE was terrific, and truly the base to explore the North Shore from. All the pools, the 2 beaches, walking trails, live music every night, the great staff, housekeeping, etc. can add up to a great stay. Search for a good package price, tho'. A good deal makes it all the more fun.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Aloha, We take pride in being the base to explore the fabled North Shore and we’re glad you loved our legendary location and beautiful grounds. Thank you for sharing you enjoyed all the adventures we offer like horseback riding, surfing, segwaying and snorkeling. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed there January 16 - 20. The hotel is undergoing some construction, but that really didn't bother us. The views are totally awesome - and this time of year the big waves coming in on the north shore are a show of their own. I would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha, We are thrilled you enjoyed watching the monstrous surf from your room as well as the awesome views. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate the perfect rating on Trip Advisor. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.