We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lanscape of legends hotel of disapointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sizzling Summer Rates!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The lanscape of legends hotel of disapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As described in all the adds this place is built in one of the most magnificent spots a man could find .The surf sun and sand the tranquil bays ,all wonderful and worth a visit .However the hotel fell way short of my exceptions it is run down and many of the staff appeared to be in need of a break .
I have stayed at many hotel's this is not the worst by a long shot however value for money and high expectations considered I have to say its not one I would recommend.I have been told it is shutting for renovations this i feel is well over due .Do yourself a favor hire a car visit the north shore and enjoy it.
If like me you expect to get a tidy room without faulty lights fans and air-cons ,if you want furniture that inst due for the curbside collection,and you don't want to have your morning beverage from a paper cup look around a bit more there are many other places to stay and in a car north shore is a pleasant drive from anywhere else on the island .
If eating there Lei Lei is the golf club restaurant basic decor but great food and service a stark contrast to the other places we ate at the hotel,I was so disappointed by the hotel food I took my wife to a shrimp van for tea one night .

Room Tip: The cottage was in a great spot after renovations check it out .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Mahalo for rating us on TripAdvisor! We are Happy to hear that you enjoyed Turtle Bays Awesome location. We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with your room. You are correct that we will be undergoing major renovations. However, we will remain open during the process. We will be closing one wing at a time until all rooms have been renovated. The first wing is scheduled to be completed by April 5th. We would love for you to return and experience the amazing changes once they are completed. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,322
    844
    359
    164
    97
See reviews for
724
1344
52
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having been lucky enough to visit Waikiki 3 times in the past two years on this family holiday we decided to try another area and were tossing up between Turtle Bay Resort and Maui. As we had been on and off planes for the last few weeks and unable to face the thought of another airport before the return home Turtle Bay won. Though we have yet to see Maui I can't imagine that we could have enjoyed a holiday there more than our time at Turtle Bay.
We booked a Beach Cottage (Rm 134) and from the moment we walked in were won over. The view was nothing short of amazing - from our patio there was just a few steps to the ocean across a grass lawn (with strategically placed hammock). The room itself was extremely spacious with high ceilings, comfortable queen size beds and a small lounge area. The bathroom was huge and beautifully appointed - sure if you looked closely there were signs of wear and tear - but everything was immaculately clean and presentation made us feel like we were on a true Hawaiian holiday. As we were sharing with our two teenagers we had previously considered staying in two rooms in the main hotel for the same cost - but were so pleased we made the decision to take the Beach Cottage.
As soon as we walked into our room we had a call from our personal concierge who came to greet us with fruit and bottled water (which was refreshed daily). On our booking I had noted that we were celebrating our Anniversary whilst there and our second night returned to our room to find a bottle of Champagne on ice. Sharing this on our patio watching an unforgettable sunset (trying to ignore the teenagers behind) was a true highlight of our holiday and one we will treasure for years to come. Only thing to remember to bring is the insect repellant as the mozzies were very consistent in their endeavours to feed from us.
On our first morning there we awoke early and after croissants and coffee went for a walk along the beachfront towards Sunset Beach. The peace and serenity was wonderful after sharing the beach with the crowds at Waikiki and we were thrilled as we walked along to stumble across the set of the sequel to The Hunger Games the new "Catching Fire" movie. Though filming had ended this added an extra bit of excitement to the holiday - reinforced when two days later at Waimea Bay we came across the next set and got to see Jennifer Lawrence. The grounds of Turtle Bay Resort seem to go on for ever and there is something new to see around every corner. We were there during the World Cup of Surfing and due to this Turtle Bay Resort was very busy with surfers and events. This just added to the holiday with grand stands set up at Turtle Bay to watch the surfers in the waves off the hotel.
The beauty of the beach cottages was their distance from the main hotel, giving the feel of isolation whilst only being a short walk to the hotel facilities. When our children were younger and we didn't want to fly to far with them we had holidayed at a number of wonderful resorts in the Pacific including Fiji, Cook Islands and Tahiti. Turtle Bay Resort reminded us more of these resorts than the hotels we have encountered on Oahu.
My daughter and I treated ourselves to a massage in the oceanside hut - well worth the money- the sound of the waves as we were being pampered just added to the experience.
The only negative we would mention was the food in the various restaurants was not the "best" we've had - though perfectly adequate it was forgettable. Though the location dining on the beach at Ola's almost made up for what was otherwise a forgettable meal. As previous reviewers have mentioned a short (5 minute) drive away Ted's Bakery offers excellent meals and snacks.
Overall this is definitely a resort I would love to revisit in the future - perhaps next time without offspring.

Room Tip: Splurge and book a beach cottage - rooms 132 upwards are at the furtherest end away from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for the perfect rating on TripAdvisor! We are flattered that you have so many good things to say about us. We would love for you to visit us once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Quite expensive ... but they deliver every dollar. Almost the only hotel choice in North Shore besides home rentals, but comfortable, renewed and services are efficient ranging from casual to fancy. Wide range of activities for the family and pretty close to the best surfing spots.

Room Tip: It's "V" shaped allows all room to nice views, but the ones on higher floors and facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha and thank you for the perfect rating on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you feel that Turtle Bay provides good value! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 separate 3 day stays at Turtle Bay in November 2012, at each end of a monthlong South Pacific vacation. The views from our rooms were spectacular, watching surfers from our balcony. The rooms, although somewhat dated, were roomy, nicely furnished, and above all very clean. The staff are friendly, helpful, and treated us extremely well, obviously well managed. The choice of restaurants and bars is very good, and the food delicious. It was a great place to shake the jet lag from New York, and after a month of traveling the South Pacific, a comforting place to relax on the way home. We would highly recommend Turtle Bay to anyone wishing to stay on Oahu, but not deal with the congestion of Honolulu. The North Shore is quiet and beautiful, a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Higher floor with ocean view balcony is the best, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking time out of your day to rate us on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that you were able to relax here at Turtle Bay twice in one month! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Turtle Bay is lovely for a somewhat isolated resort experience. The rooms all face the water but some of the lower rooms come with an unobstructed view of the roof of the banquet/convention areas on the lower floors, yeah you can see the ocean, but seeing more roof than horizon can be a real bummer especially for the price! The rooms are also showing wear and hopefully will be updated soon. The pools are great, the beach is great, there is great golf, walking trails, and beach combing, but if you stay for more than a couple nights you will need a car as the resort doesn't have much food or shopping variety. It's a very peaceful place to take in the expansive views, enjoy swimming in the semi-protected bay, sometimes good surf and snorkeling and always Turtles! We will return again and again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor! We are glad to know that you feel that Turtle Bay is located in a beautiful location. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the many activities we offer. We are happy to inform you that renovations have already begun at the Hotel! We are excited for the amazing changes to come! We know that you will be pleased with the changes when you visit us on your next trip! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent value for money. Huge room, Hawaiian decor, great views and smiling service. Breakfast was OK as was the Italian restaurant. The Lei Lei restaurant however was diabolical....rubbish food and absent minded service. Do not be sucked in by Lei Lei's beachfront location as were...the food here is to be avoided. I had to send my cold Lamb Shank back for a microwave reheat. Other reviewers complaints about hotel in "dire need of redecoration" are exaggerated. Sure the decor is dated but it is well maintained and adds to the authenticity. The setting is beautiful and is a must stay if you want to get access to the major surf breaks without renting a house or taking a traffic dependent 1-3 hour drive from Honolulu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Mahalo for the review on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed the huge room, Hawaiian decor and smiling service. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Lei Lei's. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have enjoyed staying here in the past, but just recently we went for lunch. It cost $18 to valet park our car which is at least three times the norm, and it can't be validated. Lunch poolside was also very expensive - $95 for three people, including only one drink. As far as I could see there were approx. 75 people to be served and only two waitresses. The main dining room was closed - too bad. The other outdoor restaurant was one and a half hour wait.

Room Tip: All rooms have a spectacular ocean view. This hotel is on the north shore of Oahu near all the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha! Mahalo for rating us on TripAdvisor! We are sorry that you were not pleased with the prices of our dining options. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.