We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, but isolated and pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fantastic Fall Rates!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, but isolated and pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have enjoyed staying here in the past, but just recently we went for lunch. It cost $18 to valet park our car which is at least three times the norm, and it can't be validated. Lunch poolside was also very expensive - $95 for three people, including only one drink. As far as I could see there were approx. 75 people to be served and only two waitresses. The main dining room was closed - too bad. The other outdoor restaurant was one and a half hour wait.

Room Tip: All rooms have a spectacular ocean view. This hotel is on the north shore of Oahu near all the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha! Mahalo for rating us on TripAdvisor! We are sorry that you were not pleased with the prices of our dining options. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,924 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,405
    884
    370
    167
    98
See reviews for
779
1397
55
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at Turtle bay resort. It has great pools, and a nice beach for the kids. Great snorkling. Great location near the north shore. Giant waves five minutes drive. Love the place, just watch out for reefs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha and a big Mahalo for the perfect rating on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to know that you had fun snorkeling and hanging out at the beach! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our holiday to Hawaii in December was to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We booked 3, 5 star hotels and we were most excited about Turtle Bay. We splurged on a ocean front beach cottage but sadly, we were very disappointed. The hotel was in chaos when we arrived (about 4.30pm). The lobby was full and staff overwhelmed. Not sure if this was due to the surf competition nearby? We were told to move the car & left to find a parking bay (my husband returned about 20 mins later). There was no lei, drink or greeting on check in or any offer of directions to our room. After asking, a cart was organized (the cottage was about 5 mins walk away) & our luggage located. The cottages look like a trailer park and unfortunately this is the way in & out. The view from the beach side is nicer but this door cant be locked from the outside. We loved the position of the cottage, but it was in desperate need of an upgrade and we found out during our stay this will be happening in the next few months. Not sure how the hotel can with good conscious charge full rates (over $450 per night) for this room knowing its condition. There were inspections and testing going on everyday in preparation for this which was disruptive. The timber floor in the room was lifting to the point of being a tripping hazard, one bed side lamp worked intermittently, the furniture was frayed & worn, the bathroom exhaust fan sounded like an aircraft & the floor in the bathroom stained. The amenities are not 5 star - there is only complimentary water on arrival, paper cups for tea and coffee, very basic fixtures. We looked at another cottage but was much the same. The saving grace was the concierge staff appointed to the cottages. Couldnt help but feel the response from the front desk staff to our complaint about the facilities was "heard it all before." The concierge staff went out of their way to help as much as possible. We ate at the Italian restaurant the first night which is also where breakfast is served made apparent but the staff setting up for breakfast while we were eating. After waiting 40 mins for a table (the restaurant is huge and only a hand full of tables occupied???), the food and service were very average & so didnt eat at the hotel again except for the beach bar, Ola which was great. The fitness centre is small & the equipment old. It was too windy for us to use the pool & the jacuzzi very small. On check out we had several overcharges and a dispute over the resort fee which had already been prepaid by our travel agent. It took about 20 minutes to sort this out & the attitude of the front desk staff could not have been less helpful. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and could be so much better! Not the relaxing, romantic, indulgent holiday we were hoping for.
Travel tips:
There is a beautiful, protected bay about 10 minutes walk from the hotel - perfect for swimming.
There is a self serve laundry on the 3rd floor
A hire car is a must for staying at Turtle Bay.
Really limited eating options nearby
Horse ride at sunset was beautiful.

Room Tip: Cottages further away from the hotel give more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Mahalo for rating us on TripAvisor. We are sorry that you did not have a positive stay and experience with Turtle Bay. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed Turtle Bay Resort it was great. The staff was super friendly and the morning buffet was fantastic. There was plenty of things to do from snorkeling to surfing horseback riding yoga and just walking around. We stayed a week and would recommend this place to anyone wanting a great vacation. The only negative was the privately owned restaurant on the beach. Our waiter was very bad so we walked out and didn't go back. Outside of that the whole experience was Awesome

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha! We are horned that you have chosen to give us a 5.0 rating on TripAdvisor! We are happy that you felt our staff to be friendly! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I spent the first few days of our honeymoon at Turtle Bay. The resort is very nice, the ammenities are convenient, and all the northshore hotspots are within 20 minutes. That said, we paid almost twice as much for a room at Turtle Bay than we did anywhere else in Hawaii.

Room: Great view, clean, large bathroom, standard hotel bedroom.
Food: We found the food dissappointing for the price, but conviently located
Service: Phenomenal. The concierge was convenient, and a free bottle of champagne showed up at our door!
Ammenities: The property is huge. Our sunset horseback ride was very fun (and pricey), and the e snorkel beach, pool, bars, and trails are easilly accessible.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have ocean view, so don't spend extra for a Deluxe Ocean View unless a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Mahalo for rating us on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean, large and have a great view! We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy some of our activities. Sounds like you had an amazing time on the sunset horseback ride! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. This was our third time to Oahu. The first two times we stayed on Waikiki. This time we were here to watch the Pipeline Masters surf competition, so the location of this resort was really convenient. We had a rental car which I feel is a must, however parking can be kind of a pain at the hotel. They need to make more reserved parking for hotel guest. We had a great room with awesome views, I think every room at this resort will have a great view. The rooms are very spacious and clean. I agree with other reviews that say to leave your sliding glass door open and listen to the sound of the waves and expierience the ocean breeze. We would definitely stay here again. We also did a helicopter tour the last day, which takes off from the grounds of Turtle Bay, we highly recommend this!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for taking time to rate us on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you had a good time at Turtle Bay Resort enjoying the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves from your room. We are also glad that you got to experience the helicopter tour! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is part of a continuing series of my impressions and experiences staying at various hotels and resorts while traveling to attend concerts worldwide. This review is for the Turtle Bay Resort in Kahuku in Oahu, Hawaii, my second stay at the resort in 2012, which I recommend for visitors to the island.

Property: Turtle Bay Resort
Location: Kahuku, Oahu (Hawaii)
Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone: (800) 203-3650
Website: www.turtlebayresort.com
Room Type/Class: Standard (Room 619)
Date: December 13-15, 2012
TripAdvisor Page/Reviews: LINK
Booking Source: Hotwire
Overall Rating: 4.5/5 [Note: Score is totally subjective based on price, location, and comparison to "like" properties within same area and price range]

This was my second visit to Oahu, the first being in May 2012 (see prior review), in which I stayed one night at the Turtle Bay Resort. I enjoyed the property location and setting immensely, and knew that if I returned to the island, I would like to have a longer stay than the one night I had earlier this year.

As explained in my original review, and having experienced a stay in Honolulu and Waikiki last time as well, I knew I wanted to spend my time at an area on the island that was, by contrast, more "authentic" Hawaiian.

With my last short stay, I was able to take advantage of staying at the northern part of the island to visit Historic Haleiwa Town, which I returned to during my stay this time, and would very much recommend (especially a trip to M. Matsumoto's for one of their shaved ice treats).

Last time I booked the stay through Perfect Escapes, which also included a resort credit, which could be used at the many restaurants and shops on site at the property. This time I was able to determine that nights at the resort were offered through Hotwire; though you don't know until you've committed what hotel is booked, you can use tools like BetterBidding.com to figure out which hotel is the "secret" hotel offered at a discounted rate.

Last time I used valet parking, which was smooth and quick, though this time I decided to save the extra money and self-park, which was a short walk from the lobby.

As explained in the prior review, the resort features a beautiful and spacious lobby with incredible views of the ocean. There are also many places to sit and relax to enjoy the atmosphere and views.

Again, the room itself appeared a bit more dated than the lobby and in comparison to some other Hawaiian resorts, but it was clean and nice. My particular room featured great ocean views - nearly 180 degrees - with a balcony and chairs to sit and enjoy the beach and ocean.

The furniture in the room was pretty basic but functional. It was fairly large with a big, two room bathroom with sink in each. Also included was an empty refrigerator for your use. The speed of the Wi-Fi network was much improved since my last visit.

Leaving the room, there is a lot to do and explore. There are multiple restaurant options, shops, a nice pool area, and an excellent beach.

As with the last stay, after checking in and getting settled, I had lunch at the outdoor restaurant, the Hang Ten Surf Bar, and watched surfers while I ate, which was a lot of fun.

Last time I had dinner on site at their Palm Terrace Restaurant in the resort, which features Italian food, and found that it was pretty mediocre. With this stay, I tried their 21 Degrees North, which was awesome. There was an acoustic guitar player/singer for entertainment, awesome couch-style seating in addition to traditional tables and chairs, excellent service, and great food. I would definitely recommend this restaurant whether staying as a guest or not.

The property charges a $25 resort fee and valet parking is an additional $15 per night.

This is definitely my favorite resort on the island of Oahu and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for rating us on TripAdvisor! We are honored that you have so many good things to say about us. It pleases us to know that we are our favorite resort on Oahu! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.