We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North shore getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Surf Contest Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Corona, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“North shore getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is the place to stay on the North Side of the island. It is 30 minutes from North Shore and the view of the waters is amazing. We got some entertainment when the surfers came down rode some waves. The staff is friendly. There is no kitchen so plan to go to North Shore to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Mahalo for taking time out of your day to share your thoughts about us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and had fun watching the surfers! Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,472
    911
    380
    170
    100
See reviews for
810
1,455
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Reading reviews of this hotel lends me to believe we are all different in terms of our expectations and interpretations of "nice and luxurious" hotels. The actual land that this hotel is on is gorgeous. Everything else leaves a lot to be desired.

My wife and I traveled around Hawaii for 2 weeks and wanted to finish up in Oahu to see Pearl Harbor. With a great deal (3 nights) at Turtle Bay brought to our attention by our travel agent we decided to cut out a night in Kauai, and spend 3 nights at Turtle Bay. (Forgetting Sarah Marshall is our favorite movie) We are grateful we booked through a travel agent, when recourse was eventually needed.

We popped into 2 rooms, as the air in the 1st was unbreathable. Upon stepping in the 2nd room we realized they were all probably the same. I immediately asked maintenance to change the Air Filter in the A/C unit. He did, and the amount of dust, mold, and moisture that fell out was nauseating. The employee responded, "this hasn’t been cleaned in a very long time." It was obvious to us that we did not want to end our honeymoon like this.
We emailed our travel agent (to get out of Turtle Bay), got saved by a hotel group which we are members of with a great deal for our remaining 2 nights in Honolulu. (Its not the North Shore, but being from NYC and spending 13 nights in Kauai, and Maui...it was nice to be in a city again. It was even nicer to be in a great mold free hotel again)

Early that morning as our travel agent contacted Turtle Bay's rep, we received a call from a hotel manager. He offered to refund our remaining nights, (travel agent recourse) as well refund the 1 night we spent there. This was very gracious, and we appreciated his recognition that his hotel is a health hazard. It seriously is. If you have allergies, asthma, or just like fresh air this hotel will not suffice. It really is a shame.

There is a discernable difference in clientele here (which we observed as well as gathered from speaking to locals and other guests), which is why there are positive reviews. You have those who have splurged for stays with chains like The Four Seasons, or even a Westin. (even though Turtle Bay charges similar rates, parking fees, and resort fees like these other chains but lacks any of the service you get elsewhere) Then you have people who have come here for the past 20 years, never experiencing the glories or real resort luxuries elsewhere.

The end to our stay essentially summarizes the entire staff at Turtle Bay. Since it is a self parking lot, Turtle Bay decides they should still provide a valet service. Nice right? Well these "valets/bellman" are nice, but they just stand there chatting with each other. Five employees watched us schlep all our stuff right by them on our way to the car. They smiled, and said things like "hope you enjoyed your stay." Literally they watched us. No offer to help with the bags? No offer to leave the bags with them while we pull the car around? This "service" was laughable.

The only thing that made our 1 night go by semi fast was SurferTHEBAR. We met some nice locals, and heard some great music.

Final thoughts: Renovate, and until you do, get the air quality of your rooms check by the Health Dept. I really do not believe it is ok for people to breathe that air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful location and entertainment at Surfer, The Bar. We are sad to hear that you we not pleased with the rest of your experience. We would like to let you know that our rooms will undergo extensive renovations beginning January 2013. We would like you come back and see the improvements when they are done. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKLA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Turtle Bay resort advertises to be "true Hawai'i". I agree, for if you do not care for the hustle and bustle and seek the slower paced dream vacation, this is the place. While it has appeared as a movie location for some major movies it has not changed the atmosphere and remains a secluded get-away. Close enough to the action if you want to return to reality, yet far enough for that quiet sunset experience. If you have never been on a surfboard and want to try, the teachers and help at Hans surf school are great. I recommend the beach cottages for a more private stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for the perfect rating on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to hear that you agree when we say that Turtle Bay Resort is True Hawaii. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our slower paced/relaxed atmosphere. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Turtle Bay Resort is located in what must be the most beautiful part of Oahu, certainly a much better option than overcrowded Waikiki. We found a last minute special offer on Expedia to stay at this resort for 4 days, with air and breakfast. The price was definitely right so off we went.

On arrival in Honolulu we chose to rent a car in lieu of a hotel pick up. This was a very good decision, as we found ourselves daily driving around to explore, which would not have been an option otherwise. The drive to Turtle Bay from the airport was just under an hour. We stayed in a basic (cheapest) hotel room, but it did have a nice view out over the lagoon. There was nothing special about the room except the view. It looked and felt like a basic business hotel room anywhere. No complaints.

Staff on check in were not friendly or helpful, did not make eye contact. When we finally were checked in, and walked to our room, the keys did not work. Very frustrating but not the end of the world by any means.

The highlight of this hotel would have to be the golf. 36 holes of world class championship golf, with views out to the ocean. Probably the best greens I have experienced to date. For this reason alone I would return.

There were two restaurants that are worth mentioning. First was Lei Leis, on the greens. We enjoyed two perfect seafood lunches here. The second and my favorite was Ola Restaurant. Located on the beach, has a casual elegance, a wide selection of tropical drinks, and excellent food. The views are second to none. We dined daily in this restaurant.

If you are on Oahu, this is the place to spend a romantic weekend. We would return, but just don't set your expectations too high and you will be happy.

Room Tip: We only saw the standard room, and we were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Mahalo for rating us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you appreciate the beauty of the North Shore and Turtle Bay Resort. However, we are sad to hear that your experience with our staff was not the best. We apologize for any incontinence it caused you. Thank you for sharing with us about you golfing and dining experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having stayed in Waikiki before, we opted to take the kids away from the hustle and bustle to the North Shore and Turtle Bay. The location is very private and away from everyday noise which is very common at Waikiki. Our Beachfront Cottage was very spacious and opened onto a lawn area right at the beach, complete with hammocks that were always available. This was great as we could let the kids run around, knowing that they were safe and visible requiring minimal supervision. Starting with the room, it was very large, comfortable, private and allowed you to relax and unwind. The resort had great pools with plenty of room and easy access to food and drinks. The kids highly rated the waterslide and waterfall on the top pool, it was the best, even for adults! Horse riding on the beach was fantastic and loved by the whole family, closely followed by swimming with the turtles, whilst snorkelling at the Hotel's beach. The atmosphere was very casual and relaxed, sipping cocktails and beers at the Hang 10 bar whilst watching the afternoon surfers off the point and grabbing a light meal as nightfall descended. For an easy meal we were able to get take away Pizza from the restaurant which we ate on our balcony overlooking the surf, easy with kids. There is a general store on site which sells ice creams, snacks and drinks making for do it yourself options. Getting around is very easy as "The Bus" has a stop in the hotel carpark that takes you up or down the island with ease. We used this to visit Haliewa & Waimea Bay with no problems at all, a great way to view the island and meet the locals.

Room Tip: You must stay in the Beach Cottages!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Mahalo for the perfect rating on Trip Advisor! We are happy to hear that you had an excellent stay at your beachfront cottage! We are pleased that you found our activities and facilities fun and entertaining. We will always be ready for you when you decide to make a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The views are to die for and the service 5 stars. The best part of the day was getting an evening Maitai (one of the best on the island) and gathering with the other guests at the rocks behind the pool to watch the sunset. Cue up early for a spectacular show!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking time to share your thoughts and rate us on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our 5 star service! Turtle Bay Resort truly is a great place to kick back, relax and watch the sunset! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Remarried my husband on the North Shore. Turtle Bay was so beautiful, the grounds are breathtakingly beautiful. Everything you want or need is right at the resort. The waves were amazing and the staff were so helpful and pleasant. I will definately go back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give us a perfect rating on Trip Advisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and especially enjoyed the hotel grounds, amenities and awesome waves. We are glad that you would like to return and we would love to have you back! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;