We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort Horse Riding

Turtle Bay Resort Horse Riding
57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
866.475.2569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While you could certainly hike along these trails, there’s something special about exploring this exquisite oceanfront setting high in the saddle. Experience the majestic natural beauty of Oahu’s North Shore while horseback riding at Turtle Bay Resort. A picturesque trek along trails tucked within this 880-acre resort is a great way to enjoy the area’s spectacular beaches, tropical forests and sandy coastline. Group trail rides, evening rides, sunset jaunts and private outings are available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Unforgettable experience! Booked 2 days before the ride (evening ride) and was shocked that it was just myself and my two children along on the ride as they tend to fill up and have large groups. It was perfect! A private ride without private prices! The guide was wonderful, although I can't recall her name, I know she was from Australia and couldn't have been a better guide! Loved every minute of our tour around the beach area and the history of the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    19
    5
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Beautiful & easy ride, great guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

You have a choice of places to ride and I'd recommend Turtle Bay.

Fantastic leisurely ride fit for novice and intermediate riders. The ride up the coastline of Turtle Bay's huge 800+ acre resort is amazing. The guides even point out a sweet place to snorkel. There aren't many fish close to shore but if you go out a little you'll see some fish along with turtles.

Guides were fantastic and provided lots of interesting along the way including telling us about all the famous celebrity horses you're riding. One's from "at close range". A few horses have been on TV shows.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Well worth it! We got to see some sights we wouldn't have seen otherwise and the sunset views were fabulous!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunset Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My group of five (ages 18-29, two who had never ridden before) had a wonderful time. Our guides, Kylie and Carlos, were super-friendly and helpful without being condescending--which we have found in some guides on other tours. They shared information about the sights (and told us every time we hit a movie-filming locale, which was neat!) and were happy to just chat with us. They also hopped off at different scenic views to take pictures of us. The tour itself offered spectacular scenery along the coast and into the forest areas. We covered a LOT of ground, which was nice since Turtle Bay is so huge and there is so much to see. This is a great way to see a lot of the resort's beautiful acreage in a relaxed way!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My group of 5 girls loved the whole experience from beginning to end!
Horses were very calm & guides were patient. Recommend!!
Guides were helpful in taking pics/video at stop points. Kylie and Carlos are super friendly!!
Love and miss my horse Miji <3

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay Resort Horse Riding also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Bay Resort Horse Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort Horse Riding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.