We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahuku Grill

Kahuku Grill
56-565 Kamehameha, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
(808) 852-0040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Kahuku
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: The Kahuku Grill is located at the historical Kahuku Sugar Mill. From the street you can see a large wheel that was part of the old mill. When entering the parking lot to the right there is a gas station. Parking can be found on the at the curb in front of the large wheel and to the left of the entrance. The Grill is right behind the big sugar mill "wheel". Hope to see you soon.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Their coconut / macadamia nut shrimp is wonderful. They also have good burgers and their prices are reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    99
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah, United States
1 review
“Best food on the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Kahuku Grill is not to missed! The food is incredible and the service is even better! Everything on the menu is delicious. Don't miss this perfect stop for a down home Hawaiian meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We dined here twice during the eight days we were on Oahu and have no complaints. It's certainly not fine dining, but it has no pretensions that it is and if you're agter some relaxed quasi-fast food style dining then this is a great place.

The restaurant itself is pretty basic, you order at the window and grab a seat if one is available. There can be a bit of a queue to order, but once ordered our food turned up fairly quickly. On one occasion one item was wrong, but despite us saying that was fine the staff insisted they correct the order. We did spot a roach scurrying across the floor at one point, but you're in an area that gets them, there's not a whole lot you can do about it

The staff are young, friendly and enthusiastic. They all seemed keen to have a chat about where we were from and what our plans were. This gave the place an energetic vibe that adds to the relaxed atmosphere.

The food itself is great - we loved the crazy fries, although it's an open invitation to heart attack. My wife was very impressed with the fish, and my 8yo daughter described the grill as one of her vacation highlights. There is a great selection of burgers, but of you are looking for anything more than basic burgers, shrimp or fish then again this is not the place for you. The desserts are also great - the choc chip banana bread is highly recommended

I know a couple of people have described the cost as high, but it didn't strike me as particularly expensive - around $45 for four of us to eat burgers, fries, salads, drinks and additional crazy fries.

If we are ever in the area I would have no problems going back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you can't do the Hula, you can do KAHUKU GRILL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having recently (two weeks) relocated to Oahu, we have been driving ALL over "discovering" new eateries! This is at the top of our list! They claim 'world famous' on the Macadamia nut crusted coconut shrimp! Delicious? Oh my, YES! However, garlic shrimp is my personal favorite! And honestly, it's not just a side of sticky white rice and your done! No sir! It's the flavorful aroma that is poured into the rice (and a side salad) that's as yummy oh so fiiine as the garlic shrimp that has taken US back a few...ahem...times! And just FYI... The fish plate we got and a double cheeseburger we got (not all at once!) we're EQUALLY delicious if we had gone there JUST for each alone! It's totally "BEACHY" feel! Menu is outside on surfboard and several places. Not fine dining by any means when it comes to seating...but why would you want that anyway in Hawaii?! When in Rome...and let me tell ya, you WON'T be sorry! Usually a line and you'll see why after the first bite! Aloha!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“This is the best food yet!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hawaii has been a great experience so far... Lots of learning if you are trying to eat more local and stay away from the "resort" food.... Most places close up early.... This place was ,found by accident and hunger! It has been the best food to date! The shrimp, both garlic(not drowned in garlic like you might think) and coconut are fantastic! The food is made fresh. It is beyond reasonably priced for what you get. The fresh fries are pretty tasty too. I'd eat there everyday if I could getaway with it! It's not air conditioned and mostly outside seating but so are most places. You don't have to dress up for this one.....nice girls who are running the place also...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahuku Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kahuku Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahuku Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.