We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hale Alii Beachfront 2bd/2ba House

Oceanfront deck with sweeping views.
Oceanfront deck with sweeping views.
Oceanfront deck with sweeping views.
Hale Ali'i floorplan
Hale Koolau site map.
View from livingroom.
Adjacent oceanfront hot tub.
Hauula
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jmaurer01
Washington, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice with one exception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beds were more comfortable, larger kitchen to work in, for $50 more a night the upgrade from the 1 bed-1bath was worth it. Mechanicals need work though--leaking faucets-torn couch cushions and stains not cleaned, but the biggest problem was the cockroaches in the shower (master bath) and in the kitchen cabinets-dead one on top of the fridge. Relayed problems to management who seemed very concerned to fix the problems.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Right on the water.
Liked least: Cockroaches
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. The beds in the Hale Alii are the same as the Kamai and are new Sealy Pillow-top beds. They were all bought at the same time and are the exact same, so not sure why they would be more or less comfortable. We are indeed very concerned about issues such as leaky faucets and I've already emailed Jeff Kirk, our full-time maintenance man, to fix this. As for the roaches, this is part of being in the tropics and there is almost no escaping it. We do pay a substantial amount each year in pest control with Terminix, however constantly poisoning the ground around and inside the homes really isn't a permanent answer. This is why we provide rubber drain covers/stoppers which, when placed over/in the drains between use, will prevent them from climbing through and into the rentals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FamFunSpo...
Spokane, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We actually rented this unit, and the adjoining unit. This unit has two bedrooms, one with it's own bathroom and the other bathroom just a few steps down the hall. The futon was great for our teenage son, but doen't offer any privacy. He loved it because he could leave the slider open and take advantage of the ocean waves and breese at night. (With the adjoining unit we got another bedroom, sitting room, bathroom, and a small kitchen.) The kitchen in this unit was large and had enough dishes/silverware/glasses to serve dinner for the 6 of us, and three friends we had over for dinner. Plenty of pots for cooking. Each room had it's own air-conditioner, but we rarely used them. Coin operated washmachine and dryer in the unit (hall closet). Beach chairs, snorkeling equipment, paddle boards, kayaks, surf boards and coolers all available for rental on the grounds - all reasonably priced. Some guests complain about the ants, but when we followed all the clearly explained instructions about putting food away and keeping crumbs off counter tops and floors, we didn't have any problems. Absolutely no road noise, even with windows open at night - waves was all we heard.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Close to beach, quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your kind review.

We are so happy you enjoyed the Hale Lanikeha (Legendary Part of Heaven House). Being a second generation business we have hosted tens of thousands of guests over the years and receive great joy in fulfilling our mission of providing affordable beachfront accommodations on the North Shore of O'ahu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Andrea167
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great gardens and managers; small shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was a good place to stay. The location was good. We highly recommend the North Shore if you want more of a laid back vacation without the glitz. Hauula is a bit south of the North Shore, but this enables you to make it to area attractions on the south of the island more easily. The managers were good and friendly to work with. The weather was really windy while we were there, so we didn't get to take full advantage of the rentals. We would have loved to use the kayaks and paddle boards, but it was too windy and rainy along the Hauula beach. We had to drive to other beaches to find the sunshine. The grounds were lovely and we had a nice view off the lanai of all the lush plants. The hot tubs were great and well-maintained. It was nice to have a kitchen to cook in; that saved us a bit on food expenses. There is a market close by with reasonable prices for Hawaii. The furnishings were nice. We felt safe here, too--a real plus. The kitchen could have been stocked a bit better. We didn't have enough spoons or glasses, but we got along okay. We recommend Giovanni's Shrimp Truck just up the road. Also, don't miss the chance to eat at Haleiwa Joe's. The coconut shrimp is excellent. Snorkel at Shark's Cove and Hanauma Bay; it was great! Also, horseback riding at Turtle Bay's beautiful trail along the beach is really fun. Also, the Polynesian Cultural Center is wonderful and just up the road. I wish we'd had more time there. Pounder's Beach was great with the bogie boards; it's wonderful that they have these available at the units.The only drawbacks to this unit are the bathroom and the sofa sleeper. Other units may have a better situation, but this bathroom's shower is very small. It doesn't shut tight, so there is a shower curtain across it that makes it an even tighter fit. The shower was also not as clean as I like it. The sofa sleeper can be made to be comfy if you stack the sofa cushions on top of it and tuck the sheets in carefully around them. Our teen boy was a good sport and slept on it all week. It's quite rusty and stiff; however, it IS a humid, tropical area so it's hard to keep it up, I'm sure.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The managers are good to work with. We enjoyed the hot tubs and the lanai of this unit.
Liked least: The bathroom's shower was very small and not as clean as we would lik,e. Also, the sofa sleeper was rusty and not too comfortable. We put the sofa cushions on top of it to make it usable.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$215
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by manager
Make Inquiry
Manager
Hale Koolau
(888) 236-0799
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2009
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Note: Response rate information for this manager is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing