We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When they say OCEAN VIEW, they mean OCEAN VIEW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Ko'olau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ko'olau
Save
You added Hale Ko'olau to your Saves list
54-223 Kamehameha Highway, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Fresno, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“When they say OCEAN VIEW, they mean OCEAN VIEW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here the week of Thanksgiving 2013. It was my surprise 50th birthday gift from my husband. When he showed me the pictures (compared to the price), I was afraid it looked too good to be true. FORTUNATELY, this was the most beautiful place to stay, incredible food within walking distance, and very convenient to all island activities. We stayed in the Lanikeha and I will say the pictures were not accurate -- all of the furniture has been updated from the online pictures! The futon beds were comfy and seemed brand new. The kitchen had updated appliances and all of the kitchenware anyone would need. The staff was available for anything we needed and keep the grounds beautifully maintained. The best part of the day was sunrise. The views are overwhelmingly gorgeous first thing in the morning. Bring back some Macadamia nut pancakes and coffee from Papa Ole's and enjoy the sunrise as the waves splash your the deck. At night, the family with full stomachs of garlic shrimp and chicken (from Papa Ole's again!) played cards, sat in the hot tub and star gazed as we contemplated the best parts of the day. We highly recommend Hale Ko'olau for your stay on Oahu.

Room Tip: Bring shampoo and soap. There is a Long's Drug story very close, but the rooms do not have soap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We're so happy that you were happy with your accommodations and appreciated the new futons. Its important that anyone reading the past reviews about old sleeper sofas knows that we spent a lot of money updating them to the top quality futons and mattresses available on the market. Again, mahalo for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 days at the wonderful Hale Ko'olau - in the Lanikeha one bedroom unit! And we loved every moment! We were steps from the ocean and spent every early morning on the deck watching the sun rise - beautiful! The unit itself is exactly as pictured on the website (other than new futons in the living room). Kitchen was just fine for breakfasts and our take home dinners from nearby, Papa Ole (fantastic plate meals there - and we loved the peanut butter rolls). Love the North Shore and Windward side of Oahu - for the relaxed vibe. All in all, a wonderfully fantastic vacation - and definitely recommend Hale Ko'olau!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're happy you enjoyed our Lanikeha (Legendary Part of Heaven) 1 bedroom and found it to be as pictured online. I've personally taken all the photos online myself with a standard digital camera over the years and none of them are photo shopped...what you see is what you get. Thank you so much for pointing this out to anyone reading reviews and concerned about misleading photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We took our daughter to College on the island and stayed 8 days. We absolutely loved it here. The pictures don't do it justice. You are literally 20-30 feet from the ocean and the sunrise was beautiful. The location was so convenient and the home was spacious and clean. We were very pleased with the owners and felt like they worked with us to make it affordable. We will never forget our trip. We hope to return again when our daughter is done and this will be the place we call first. Thanks Cousin 1, 2, and whoever!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha & mahalo nui loa for your kind review. We're so happy we could help your family have a memorable and affordable beachfront vacation together, especially a momentous time in your life. Guests like you are the reason why we exist. Remember that when you return for Graduation Day you'll be entitled to a 10% repeat guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My second home and family! Truly paradise. Just like Hawaii should be. It's been our vacation for the last seven years. We have recommended Hale Ko'olau to family and friends over the years. Never once did we have any concerns. We can't wait for our next visit and in the future hopefully twice a year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your thoughtful review. We're honored that you consider Hale Koolau as a second home. One of our core business values is the Hawaiian concept of "Ohana". Ohana means family in Hawaiian but isn't limited only to blood relations. At Hale Koolau we make it a point to treat all our guests as Ohana so that they can enjoy a truly unique and special holiday in Hawaii and preserve our cultural tradition of showing aloha for all who visit our islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 8 stayed here in April. We Loved staying here and can't wait to go back! House was perfect and the price was perfect! The staff was great and very helpful. Looking forward to booking our next trip to Hale Ko'olau! Mahalo!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Mahalo for your kind review. We're thrilled that you appreciated our property and the price. We really do try to keep our direct beachfront property as affordable as possible and family-friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the most amazing time. Thank you all so much for all you did. The rooms were so clean and the staff were amazing. The property is on the beach and you over look the water. The management really take pride in all they do. Thanks again for an amazing time in Hawaii. We will be back to see you all again soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha & mahalo for your kind review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our property. On behalf of all our staff I thank you for recognizing the effort we put into caring for our guests. Everyone who works at Hale Koolau is from our part of the island and we truly do enjoy sharing our local knowledge and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Molokai Studio on our Honeymoon in August and are so happy that we chose this place! I spent a lot of time looking at hotels, condos and apartments online and went with Hale Ko'olau because of their location, their BBB rating and the great reviews that I read. I know that it doesn't take much for people to write a bad review, but takes a lot for people to really write a good review on something, so I was happy to see that most of the reviews were glowing. The photos and descriptions of the Studio Apartment were very accurate and realistic so we were happy when we showed up after many many hours of traveling and saw our new home for the next 10 days! It was very clean, there was Air Conditioning as well as a fan and there was even a security box (although I don't think it's necessary). The location was perfectly between The North Shore and Waikiki and just 100 feet from the water as promised! They offer the option to rent various things life snorkeling equipment, surf boards, etc. at a very reasonable price, which we did a couple times. They were friendly, honest and very pleasant to work with. I would highly recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale_koolau_llc, Owner at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha & Mahalo for your generous review. I have to admit it really touched my heart. Thank you for recognizing the value of what we provide on an island which is extremely expensive. We know we're not perfect, but we really do try hard to offer affordable beachfront accommodations and beach equipment rentals for our guests. Its easy to be distressed at times by negative reviews or unrealistic expectations, but guests like you make it all worth while. Again, mahalo nui loa from your Hale Koolau O'hana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Ko'olau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Highway, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hauula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Ko’olau Hawaii Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Oahu is a family owned & operated business rated "excellent" on TripAdvisor and ranked the #1 specialty lodging in our area. Our oceanfront & beachfront vacation rental homes are located next door to each other in Honolulu, Hawaii in the small fishing town of Hauula on Oahu's North Shore near the Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay, Sacred Falls, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, Kualoa Ranch and many other wonderful Oahu attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko'Olau Hauula, Hawaii - Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Ko'olau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.