We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Shrimp Truck

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
66-472 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
8082931839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 61 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: THE ORIGINAL SHRIMP TRUCK SINCE 1993
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My family (husband and teenager) and I decided to taste 5 shrimp trucks on the North Shore of Oahu in one day. At each truck we got the same thing - garlic & butter shrimp and shared one plate. Giovanni's came in 3rd place out of 5. The shrimp was not as plump and fresh tasting as the I would like. In fact, they tasted previously frozen because they really didn't have any flavor at all. The sauce was good, nice and garlicky, but a little too greasy. Because of the extra grease factor and the lackluster shrimp, this was good, but not the best. In addition, I don't really like the location in Haliewa. Haliewa town is nice, but the truck is not sitting in the nice part of Haliewa - it is at the far end with a 7-11 on one side and a McDonald's across the street. This truck is located in a parking lot with a lot of other food trucks making it even more crowded than the other locations. There were no bathrooms at all (which was a negative). There were plenty of port-a-lets, but they were all locked (and couldn't be unlocked - we asked and were told to use the McDonalds bathroom across the street). These things made this my least favorite venue of all 5 of the trucks. In 2012, we ate at the OTHER Giovannis truck (in Kahuku) which I feel is in a nicer location. Thought the shrimp was better last time, so maybe they were having an off day, but I have to write the review based on my most recent experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Sorry to hear we where only number three on your list.. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the location of the shrimp truck, but there isn't that many places to pace a truck in Haleiwa... I will forward your review to the owner and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    174
    58
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the ORIGINAL shrimp truck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband used to live in Hawaii and couldn't remember the name of the truck and we drove for an hour. Finally we stopped and asked a local where was the shrimp truck with the writing all over it. In a minute we were at Giovanni's and he was in heaven.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
You haven't been here in a while.... You forgot all about us over time.. LOL We are happy you finally found us and that you enjoyed the experience... Make sure to visit us again real soon... Take care..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Shrimp and Rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

For shrimp and rice being served from a truck it is really great,,,casual outdoor eating, very reasonably priced,,,first time i went there in 2008 i had shrimp and rice sauteed in butter and herbs,,,very good! This time when i went i had shrimp and rice sauteed in garlic and it was very tasty too!! If you have never drove through Northshore i would suggest it for food served from trucks,,,shaved ice drinks and some great chocolates sold at roadside stores!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for coming back to visit us again... We have made chances over the years and will continue to do so to make the customer experience better... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My husband still talks about this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a must do for us when we visited the North Shore. When we pulled up, I think we were nervous and didn't know what to expect. We had the shrimp scampi shrimp due to reviewers saying the hot & spicy was TOO hot. It was AMAZING, and I can't even say anything else about it. You won't regret going here... and you'll definitely want to go back! There are no frills or fancy service, just some fresh shrimp made the right way!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Happy you enjoyed the scampi shrimp at the truck... The spicy shrimp is CRAZY, but next time try it on the side... Thank you for the great review and you guys are going to have to come back to the island again so your husband can get his fix... Take care....

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“a must-do on the north shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Loved the shrimp, loved the picnic table atmosphere. It was particularly crowded when we visited, with a long line even to order, but worth the wait. The scene was really fun and we enjoyed checking out the other food trucks/stalls. Only downside was that our entire family reeked of garlic for the rest of the day!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and thank you for the recommendation... Sorry about the garlic smell... LOL Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.