We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shrimp in ALL of Hawaii! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Shrimp Truck

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
66-472 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
8082931839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 64 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: THE ORIGINAL SHRIMP TRUCK SINCE 1993
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best shrimp in ALL of Hawaii! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stopped at this awesome food truck on a trip up to the north shore and were extremely pleased! We had the garlic and lemon butter shrimp. Even after our two weeks spent on each of the Hawaiian islands the garlic shrimp remainder the BEST! Keep up the excellent work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
That is a great compliment that I will share with the entire staff... We are happy you enjoyed the food at the shrimp truck and for visiting us while on the island... Hope to see you again in the future and thanks for the great review...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    213
    77
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We came back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Visited Hawaii 5 years ago and ate at Giovanni's. This year we rented a car to see some sights we missed last time, one of which was the Dole Plantation. When we finished there, and needed a place for lunch, we realized we weren't far from Giovanni's. Our memory and GPS served us well - the drive was short. The truck hadn't moved (I'm not sure it can anymore), and the shrimp plates that came out of it were perfect for lunch. We shared a lemon and a garlic shrimp plate, which filled us up. Delicious shrimp, friendly people, Hawaii outdoor dining, we're happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Your right, the shrimp truck is stuck.. LOL Thank you for visiting us again and happy you enjoyed the experience... Enjoy the island and hope to see you sooner then 5 years this time...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to North Shore alone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went driving to the North Shore with stopping by Giovanni Shrimp Truck. It is located in a open area with other food truck - have to look to find Giovanni. We order 1 Shrimp scampi and 1 Lemon and butter dish. We love the Shrimp scampi dish by far. The dining area is not a four star restaurant but a bench and table style to match the environment (rustic/simple).

Did not try the hot and spicy - saw it on Man vs Food and was not eager to try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Don't you love 4 star Hawaii.... LOL Thank you for stopping by to give us a chance and happy you enjoyed the experience... That's good advice about the spicy sauce unless you are very brave.... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great shrimp, a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We thought the garlic shrimp was excellent!! We split one plate and thought it was a little pricey. We were also a little suprised that we had to peel it (city folks i guess!) so it was very messy...but worth the work!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Happy you enjoyed the scampi shrimp and I guess you have to get used to peeling the shrimp... Thank you for giving us a chance and happy you enjoyed the experience... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Garlic Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have to admit when I saw the shrimp truck on the side of the road I was a little leery..even with the great reviews....The reviewers were right...the best garlic shrimp I've ever had!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance and we are happy you enjoyed the experience.... I agree that garlic is so goooooodddd... LOL Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.