We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shrimp good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Shrimp Truck

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
66-472 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
8082931839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 59 restaurants in Haleiwa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: THE ORIGINAL SHRIMP TRUCK SINCE 1993
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great shrimp good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If your heading to the north shore i highly recommend this shrimp truck my gf loves the shrimp scampi and i love the lemon butter, you get a dozen shrimp and 2 scoops of rice it will fill you up and taste is great. Just make sure to bring cash its $13.00

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review and recommendation to future customers... Happy you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you back in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    212
    144
    42
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good find, best shrimp we had on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We came across this place randomly one day and decided to come back for lunch the following day as well! The prices are very reasonable and you get a pretty good bang for your buck. The staff are very friendly and funny, and they work quickly to get your food out. Just make sure you choose the right truck as there are about 4 or 5 all in the same parking lot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are a hole in the wall and happy that you found us... Thank you for the great review and I'm happy you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were on a day trip when we met a couple on Sunset beach. They recommended Giovanni's as being a well known place to sample the best shrimp. Given the name we expected a pricey restaurant instead it was an old truck it's entrance propped up by a rock. Fine dining it was not but the shrimp was excellent. A great experience a must for any traveler.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Make sure to thank that couple for me... Over priced fine dining is over-rated and most of the time not filling... We are happy you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasca, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love those shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here as part of our island tour and was not disappointed. The shrimp were to die for. My wife had the garlic shrimp and I had the spicy shrimp. I highly recommend stopping off if you are in the area. Best shrimp truck we had ate at in a while.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Happy to hear you found us and thank you for giving us a chance... It makes us happy that you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future... Take care

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Real Shrimp Treat in Haleiwa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

OK, so here is the deal, Giovani' shrimp truck in Haleiwa is not to be missed. It has a long tradition on Oahu and offers very consistent quality. We like the garlic scampi the best but the lemon butter shrimp is also good. We don't eat hot food so we cannot comment on the hot & spicy. You get 12 shrimp and 2 scoops of rice for $13 - a good deal. This is an easy 30 min drive from Ko'Olina and a nice break from the sun, beach and pool. Also, it is located 2 mins from Matsumoto shave ice so do both.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review and the recommendation to future customers... We are happy you enjoyed the experience and hope that others will as well.. See you soon.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.