We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Shrimp Truck

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
66-472 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
8082931839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 64 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: THE ORIGINAL SHRIMP TRUCK SINCE 1993
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The shrimps here were huge, fresh and tasty. We tried the lemon butter and the garlic one and we were not disappointed. There was a lot of garlic on the shrimps just the way we like it. Great shrimp! Dig in!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Happy you enjoyed the 2 kinds of shrimp we offer and hope you had some of the hot sauce on the side... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again.

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    212
    77
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Go find this food truck NOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This shrimp was SO flavorful and delicious. Shrimp are cooked perfectly- and the portion is quite generous.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review and recommendation to our future customers... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

"This was the best shrimp I've ever ate" - my husband.

A friend of ours was our tour guide when we went to Oahu in 2010 and he took us to Giovanni's. Oh gosh, we had to come to eat here twice on our 1 week vacation.

The garlic shrimp with rice is so flavorful! No utensils required - just use your hands and dig in! Might sound a tad barbaric, but you have to suck on the shrimp before you peel them. It's where all the flavor is!

Depending on the time of day, there may be some flies buzzing around and even some chickens walking around, but it all adds to the experience LOL.
Just eat fast and bring some wet naps. My husband and I came to Oahu again in 2012 and had to come to Giovanni's again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Best shrimp ever... Thank you so much for that comment... Twice in one trip, love you even more...LOL We are happy that you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Disappointed …”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

While on Oahu’s north shore, my Lady and I stopped by Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck and bought a shrimp plate to take back to our hotel in Waikiki. Giovanni's offers 3 shrimp plate choices: Shrimp scampi, lemon butter, and hot & spicy (which they claim is very hot). I chose the shrimp scampi.

Giovanni's provides 12 shrimp per plate, but the shrimp were small, somewhat dry and lacked in flavor. Two small scoops of sticky rice come with the plate. The cost was $13. Frankly, we were disappointed with this shrimp truck experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the shrimp. Maybe next time you can sit at the location and have it fresh from the window... See you again

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the best, not even close.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Its okay but I wouldnt go again not with so many better spots. Nice staff, but the shrimp arent that flavorful nor are they that big. Macky's was the best, then Tita's, Romy's and then the rest. Had 6 different Garlic Shrimp dishes and Macky's was the only one I had to have twice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the experience, but want to thank you for giving us a chance. It makes me happy that the staff was good to you and we haope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.