We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like mama use to make” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Shrimp Truck

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
66-472 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
8082931839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 64 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: THE ORIGINAL SHRIMP TRUCK SINCE 1993
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“just like mama use to make”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Every once in awhile we all come across a place where we swear by the food. Well this place has been around for awhile and its famous around the world. It all has to do with one simple menu item SHRIMP and believe me they dont skip out the shrimp. For thirteen bucks they have heaps of garlic shrimp and rice or hot and spicy and I mean (SPICY) so have your doctor check you out first before trying this one. Then they have one in a nice lemon butter. They sell this out of a beat up old ice cream truck that has signitures from people all over the world who have come to samle this gold. Its worth the drive from honolulu as not only do you see great places to stop along the way but the end result is mouth watering gold.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review for our future customers and for giving us a chance... Happy you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    212
    77
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great shrimp truck - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The car rental agent suggested we go around the north shore and stop for lunch here. Very good thing to do. This was a traditional food truck with a short list of meals, prices, and they recommend the garlic shrimp. It was especially good because I like lots of garlic. Basic sheltered picnic tables with outside sinks to wash up after. Also a shaved ice truck at the same place which was also very good. A few shops to buy t-shirts and stuff too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Say thank you for the agent for us as well.. We thank you for the kind words about the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The Best Shrimp Truck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You've simply got to try the local truck for the best shrimp in town. The shrimp scampi are wonderful. Sit at the picnic tables and enjoy a fresh shrimp meal. Parking is limited and the food is great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Best Customer Ever... LOL Short and sweet review... We thank you very much and hope to see you again...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Shrimp Scampi - WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Saw the Giovanni Shrimp Truck review late last year on the Travel, Diner or Food Channel. Made a note for us to see it. I am not a shrimp scampi fan; but I could eat theirs all day. Thorughly enjoyed and highly recomended for a food stop when at the beach (North Coast) or tourling the Island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank god for good press... Happy to hear you enjoyed the experience at the shrimp truck and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ended up sampling two shrimp trucks on our North Shore stay. Giovanni's was delicious with very generous portions. The only reason I gave them a 4 instead of 5 is that they got our order wrong. My food was still delicious but not what I ordered.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Im sorry about the order mix up, but happy for the great review... Hope to see you back in the future and I promise we will get the order correct...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.