We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of rain, bummer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waimea Valley

Waimea Valley
59-864 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
(808) 638-7766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Attractions in Haleiwa
Type: Gardens, Parks, Valleys, Waterfalls, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A waterfall park offering native Hawaiian history and culture.
Seward, Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lack of rain, bummer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

no waterfall due to lack of rain....we enjoyed the peacocks, though as well as a surfboard display. The gift shop was ok.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    139
    47
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice Walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Waimea Valley is a beautiful walk to the falls at the end. If you plan on swimming, be sure to take a suit and maybe a change of clothes. There is a lifeguard to keep an eye on everyone. There is no diving off of the cliffs. Cost was 15 per adult and 7.50 for children. Really not for sure if it's worth the price. But if you're up there, give it a try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a great place to take a breather & to relax!
It's a beutiful walk with all sorts of plants & flowers.
At the end of the walk is a pretty waterfall & a good place to rest!
This place is shown on the new Hawaii 5-0 everyonce in a while!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
550 helpful votes 550 helpful votes
“Just a simple walk in the park…nothing spectacular but still nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

As part of our visit to the north shore of Oahu, we stopped in at the Waimea Valley. The research I had done on hiking on Oahu indicated that this was the easiest trail and really the only one that was accessible in rainy weather. While I would have preferred hiking to one of the other falls, the weather had been wet during out stay, so rather mess with muddy trails we opted for the paved path.

Access to the park is off of route 83 (Kamehameha Highway) just at the crux of a bend in the road around Waimea Bay and Beach. The drive up the valley is scenic along the river. Keep an eye out for critters along the road. We saw several birds (ducks and chickens…er, junglefowl) and a mongoose. The access road leads you to the Visitor Center and parking. If the parking at the VC is full, there are two other larger lots back down the access road.

In the Visitor Center area there is a gift store, snack bar, public restrooms and the ticket booth for the trail t the waterfall. There is also a nice lawn area with birds walking about, such as peafowl. I was a little hungry and wanted to get a snack before taking the hike, something like a granola bar or trail mix, but the snack bar only had lunch type items. So we opted to split an order of garlic shrimp and also got some fries. Actually quite tasty even if the shrimp were more than a little messy. But the restrooms were nearby so it was convenient to wash up before hitting the trail.

After lunch we walked down to the trail. The cost is $15 per person. I think this was a little high for what you get along the trail, but I understand that there are costs for upkeep and running the park. This little park is more than just a hike to the waterfall, although that seems to be the primary attraction. There is also a nice garden, some ruins and reconstructions of native village sites, and a bird sanctuary along the ¾-mile trail to the waterfall. All of these plus the interesting plant life along the trail make for an interesting walk. There are also a couple of spots were you can see and hear the large wind turbines from the wind farm adjacent to the trail. The wind turbines make for an interesting contrast to the sights in the park. Just before your get to the falls there is a rest area with a couple porta-johns, a snack bar and a couple craft stands.

The waterfall itself is a little underwhelming, but I knew going in that it was not a huge fall. Still it is a pretty setting with a nice pool below the falls. Swimming is allowed and there were lifeguards on duty, but with all the warning signs for various hazards, I was fine just enjoying the view from the trail.

We enjoyed our time in Waimea Valley. It is a nice little park and well maintained. Since the trail is paved and fairly level there is good access for most all folks (there is some undulation along the trail, so wheelchair access may not be that easy). We did walk along most of the short spur trails to see the historical sites and also took the nature trail below the main trail on our return walk. While this is certainly not a must do it does provide a glimpse into the island away from the beaches.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Farmer's Market and the Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a wonderful place. The hike to the falls is easy and enjoyable - for all ages. The gardens, including mock ups of huts and cooking houses, was educational and interesting. The falls were fun and you could swim at the base. The market was FANTASTIC with much local, fresh, organic food and many wonderful crafts. A must see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimea Valley also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimea Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.