We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waimea Valley

Waimea Valley
59-864 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
(808) 638-7766
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Waimea Valley like an insider
Private Tour
$234*
and up
Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with...
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Haleiwa
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A waterfall park offering native Hawaiian history and culture.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hike to the waterfall was nice, but just OK. You can swim at the waterfall so bring bathing suits and towels.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    165
    50
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not much to add”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Relaxing walk up to the falls. We didn’t swim, but it is definitely tempting. TA activities list birdwatching, but the botanical garden is well labelled and the selection of flora is remarkably diverse. The valley hillsides give a sense of what Hawaii must have been like before Western development. Nicely detailed boards add details about the life and practices of the indigenous people. Don’t miss the gift shop. We picked up Red Dirt T-shirts with the parks logo that look very nice (wash these garments twice before wearing). This was one of the nicer mementos we brought back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had no idea what to expect at Waimea Valley, but the walk up to the waterfall was beautiful and swimming out to the waterfall was something that the whole family really enjoyed. Very memorable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Scenic and easy hike up to the waterfall. I enjoyed the views!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, walk through lush gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was my favorite place in Oahu and it is right across from Waimea Beach Park, also worth a stop. The walk through towering ginger, hibiscus, and other plants from all over the Pacific was so wonderful. We're from Florida, but our tropical plants are much smaller and do not compare. Birds singing everywhere, and scenic views everywhere you walk. The waterfall at the end of the trail was lovely, but too cold for me to venture under it. Lots of people walked in and swam under the falls. There are guards there to advise you on the best way to do that. Take a towel. There is a changing place. Also a shuttle to and from the falls if you prefer not to walk through the gardens. But I recommend the walk if you can. It's not difficult at all.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimea Valley also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimea Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.