We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, seafood-centric Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market

Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market
66-165 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-1420
(808) 637-7717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 61 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Amara Rd.
Transit: For Northbound travelers you will need to get off the bus at Kamehameha HWY + Opp Emerson RD (Stop ID # 2241). If you are traveling Southbound you will need to get off at Kamehameha HWY + Haleiwa RD. (Stop ID # 2240). For additional information on holidays or possible detours please refer to www.thebus.org
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, seafood-centric Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really enjoyed the Mexican flavors without all of the cheese and beans I am accustomed to. We started with ceviche and lime-cured scallops (really yummy) and then had fish tacos and a huge bowl of fisherman's stew (broth with scallops, clams, fish, alaskan king crab, mussels, and shrimp). Great meal!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    66
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh. Fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The food is good and fresh. They have a good selection. A little bit pricey but worth it.The only draw back was our entrees' came out before we finished our appetizers. Gelt a little rushed for a Wednesday night. Save room for dessert!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food with a Hawaiian seafood twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

While visiting relatives who just moved to Oahu and miss California Mexican food, we stoped in for dinner in February. The authentic Mexican food is delicious, but the mix with Ahi tuna, local seafood, pineapple, etc. made the Hawaii version really fantastic. The atmosphere is local and not too touristy, and the historic town of Haleiwa is cool. The restaurant is a little dark and noisy though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican after a day of surfing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved the big portions and the free chips and salsa! The staff was great and the wifi works well, a real plus for travellers passing through after a day at the beach. Would totally go again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pretty Good - Would Go Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

While staying on Oahu we took a drive to check out the North Shore. Luibueno's was recommended by the innkeeper of the home we were staying at. The location, atmosphere and service was great. We had a late breakfast, so didn't order alot. The margarita that was a variation of the Pineapple Mexican Infusion was great. They bring out complimentary chips and salsa. Very good. We order the Guacamole de la Casa. Very fresh and good. Then the Polo Deshebrado Quesadillas. Very good also. All in all we felt the recommendation was spot on. We would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.