We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market

Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market
66-165 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-1420
(808) 637-7717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 61 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Amara Rd.
Transit: For Northbound travelers you will need to get off the bus at Kamehameha HWY + Opp Emerson RD (Stop ID # 2241). If you are traveling Southbound you will need to get off at Kamehameha HWY + Haleiwa RD. (Stop ID # 2240). For additional information on holidays or possible detours please refer to www.thebus.org
upstate NY
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We're vacationing here and this restaurant was highly recommended by Toby our kayaking guide and it was a winner! I had the moonfish(?) and it was prepared superbly, the vegetables and rice were so tasty, the waitstaff engaging and had great recommendations. Don't feel you have to like Mexican to eat there! The menu is varied enough for all, but focused enough that they are exceptional with what the offer. Good wine list. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    66
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

When you get good fresh salsa and chips, you know it's a good Mexican place. Nice fresh fish and we liked the chicken quesadilla.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We loved our experience at Luibuenos! A cozy comfortable booth and fresh flavorful food!! We were a party of six and we all had forks flying into each others dishes! Everything on our plates was great!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ate at Luibueno's based on the recommendation from a waiter at a restaurant we ate at in Waikiki. Although the restaurant is relatively small, the service was great. I ordered the Baja Style Carne Asada burrito, as did my cousin. My wife ordered the Beer Battered Mahi burrito and my other cousin ordered the Beer Battered Mahi tacos. We all agreed that the food was very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh fish burritos? Move over Chipotle...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

...not that they actually have Chipotle in Oahu. We tried the mahi tacos and burrito. The burrito was bigger than chipotle and super tasty. They serve oyster shots that my wife loved.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luibueno's Mexican Seafood & Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.