We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions and unfriendly service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L & L Drive-Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
L & L Drive-Inn
66-197 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-1400
808-637-4700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 64 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Restaurant details
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small portions and unfriendly service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had the mahimahi plate with rice and tossed salad. The salad was a couple pieces of iceberg lettuce and a tomato slice. No dressing. The fish was just ok. Some of my family ordered the bbq chicken plate and only got 2-3 pieces of chicken each when the picture showed a whole chicken breast. We saw a lot of these restaurants on the island. Not sure why. Save your $ and go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food for a chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had just arrived after being on planes for 12 hours and on the way to the condo picked up dinner. It was typical Asian/Hawaiian mix with a lot of fried food. Filling but not some place I would probably seek out for a special meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Probably about what you would expect. Fast food with a bit of Hawaiian flair - Your typical plate lunch. I preferred the shrimp from the roadside trucks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Mini plates are plenty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The garlic Mahi and chicken Katsu are amazing, don't forget shave ice for dessert! You can substitute fries for rice, and they are the thick and crinkly kind, order side of gravy for dipping!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“I would give it a negative rating if I could”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Totally disgusting, unedible, dirty etc. I get that this is fast food and made with low quality meats but we had combo plates and the food was completely fried, the rice over cooked and the sauces were bland. Plus a woman came in and was talking on her phone and started screaming at someone on the phone and then she handed the phone to one of the workers who then also screamed at this person in another language. All the prepared food looked disgusting too. I can't believe this place is a chain with locations in the US including Denver. We will never come back. The only saving grace was the pile of food we each got along with big drinks was only $20. Didn't feel so bad about throwing it away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L & L Drive-Inn also viewed

 

Been to L & L Drive-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & L Drive-Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.