We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch, Great stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill

Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill
66-011 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-1408
808-637-8005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 61 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Pearl River, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch, Great stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here while we were exploring the island. We sat outside with a view of the marina, and the waitress come over after a short time (they were busy) and took our drink order and appetizers. She returned shortly with our drinks and took our order. We had calamari as a appy and it was nice and lightly fried. My wife had the Ahi tuna sandwich she said was very good. My son had the fish Tacos he said were excellent. My daughter had the chicken over greens which she said was very tasty. I had their pulled pork sliders and chips. I guess I am use to the sliders here with BBQ sauce. I found it bland and the taro bread was ok. But,the others raved about their food. We all got dessert, the Mud pie. I do not really care for this dessert but I found it quite tasty. The waitress was very good and attentive. At the end we asked her what in the area was great to see. She told us about "Turtle Beach" about 1 mile north. What a great recommendation !!! The only reason this did not get a excellant was because of my meal. This debate still continues hereon my rating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    163
    74
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST in Haleiwa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The BEST of everything except service from the maitre de. NO dinner menus before 4:30pm (kinda late??) so we went into the lounge for Happy Hour delights and we were not disappointed!! GREAT starters from the bar menu and the drinks are generous. Possibly the BEST Mai Tai's anywhere. You must order the Ahi Spring Roll and the Coconut Shrimp...simply outstanding. Servers (tipped generously) were exemplary despite the packed crowd and tight quarters. We moved from bar to dining (again, an obnoxious encounter with an under aged girl at reception) went smoothly less the table previously requested. The quality of our dinners made up for any other short comings here. The catch-of-the-day is still reeling off the hook (soooo fresh) and the whole shrimp is incredible. ALOHA, you'll love this spot!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My son and I met up with a local friend for dinner. She recommended the restaurant and I am thankful that she did. We had the spicy shrimp appetizer, which was very good. We then had the Salmon which was also tasty. I was glad to see the portion size as some times they can be so tiny.

The service was very good, the atmosphere was nice. We sat on the patio and were able to watch the sunset which was very nice.

I would definitely return if I return to the island.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice lunch - twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We liked our meal at Joe's so much we went back! Had the Black and Blue Ahi, Island Ceviche, Ahi Spring Rolls, Grilled Fish Sandwich and Emma's Poke during our two lunch dates. Everything was really tasty and very fresh. The aoli and wasabi sauces were so good - spicy, but not blow your socks off spicy. The setting is rather nice, if you eat on the deck overlooking the marina. Not sure why others have complained about service. Our wait staff was friendly and attentive. Sometimes you get what you give, especially if you are in a very large group and expect too much attention. The prices were no worse than the other real restaurants in the area. Everything was way better than fighting the flies and sand at the shrimp trucks down the road. Worth the drive to the north shore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Coconut Shrimp!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went on a Friday night and it was really busy, so we ate in the bar. The service in the bar was quick and friendly. The coconut shrimp was great. It was light and flakey-Not to coconutty!

As a tip, they over-dress the salads. I suggest getting the dressing on the side. The salad was tasty but too much dressing for my taste.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.