We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill

Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill
66-011 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-1408
808-637-8005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 61 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were directed to Joe’s by a Haleiwa local. Unfortunately, Joe’s is very touristy although locals go there. We found the drinks mediocre and the fish average. All in all, not terrible, but we felt like we could have had the fish dishes served up at Joe’s at any restaurant in any coastal city in the US.

OK if you must go, but a shrimp truck is more exciting.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    163
    74
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, WV
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pretty good fish & great view on patio.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was our first outing in Hawaii for dinner. Mysalmon was perfectly cooked & my husband's fish was amazing as well. The waitress was really slow but the food made up for it. Try to sit out on the patio if you can for the view of the water. The dessert was amazing too! I'm a very picky eater so my hubby was shocked how I loved it.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fun place on the north shore for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stopped here for dinner on a Friday night, and they had some local live music which was nice. We were seated right away at a nice table with an ocean view! I ordered the spicy shrimp satay, which was very good. My wife had the baked fish which was also great with a coconut crust on top. I also tried the "outside double up" drink which our waitress said was a local favorite. This drink was huge and very tropical, but make sure you have a designated driver if you try this one! This little restaurant is a good stop on the old historic north shore hawaii.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best meals we had in Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our food so much that we brought our 3 daughters the next evening. My husband had the chipotle pork chop both times because it was so delicious. I had a teriyaki steak the first night which was wonderful. The second night I had an amazing simple crab salad with avocados . It is served on two whole hearts of romaine with a peppercorn ranch dressing and I really can't rave enough about it. The sizzling mushroom app was a huge hit as was the coconut shrimp. We also had the hot fudge sundaes and let's just say I may have eaten mine and most of my daughter's leftovers.

Prices are fair for the quality. Service was very efficient. I love how organized the restaurant is- a table leaves and is immediately bussed and set. I hate looking at dirty tables.

Ask to sit on the patio. It is cool and breezy and the view is charming.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Food was bland...the only reason the ribs are called sticky is the meat sticks to the bones...very tough...service was so so...overall it is not what is advertised...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.