We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grilled ahi salad - to die for!! YUMMMM!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B's Bar & Grinds

B's Bar & Grinds
66-197 Kamehameha Highway, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
(808) 744-4125
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 61 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Bus stop is right on Kamehameha Hwy. Just a few short steps from B's.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“grilled ahi salad - to die for!! YUMMMM!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

B's - NEW in Haleiwa - the ahi tuna salad is SO GOOD - my 12 yr old daughter ate half!!
SERIOUSLY - you guys should SELL this dressing by the bottle!!!
WOW!!!!
(the wings were avaerage - good but average)
service was good - glad we didnt meet the chef (other reviews are scary

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waialua, Hawaii, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To B's or Not to B's, that is the question. Sadly the answer is NOT to B's!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

To B's or Not to B's, that is the question. Sadly the answer is NOT to B's!

Like other reviewers, we too were rooting for this place but ultimately we don't get all the hype. After years of avoiding the dump Kainoa's that this place used to be called, we were hopeful when new ownership took over and while things have improved, overall the vibe from this place is still more bad than good.

We kept trying to give this place a chance even after several disappointing experiences because we felt so sorry for these new owners every time we walked by and saw B's Bar and Grinds nearly empty while one of our favorite restaurants Opal's next door was booming with business, packed full with a line outside waiting.

Now to be completely honest we did luck out with a couple of dishes (one of which they immediately took off the menu), but EVERYTHING has been very OVERPRICED and that is the biggest problem with this place. When you order something you're taking a big gamble that it will be ok and at the prices they're charging, after a few bad experiences, we're just not willing to gamble any more.

The first pretty AWFUL thing we had there was their Chicken Basilica Pasta for $15. Now I would have thought this would be impossible to ruin, but B's rude and arrogant chef found a way. The pesto cream sauce was completely flavorless. The tomatoes he used are what we Star Trek fans call "replicator" tomatoes! They don't taste anything like the real thing. And the plain boring black olives out of a can and cheap waxy tasting Parmesan cheese didn't add a thing to a dish that was so dead with flavor it needed to be put out of its misery.

The next time we had the Fish and Chips and it was just ok. For $17 we expected something special. The truffle fries we upgraded to for $2 more were bland enough that we had to put more salt on them which shouldn't have been necessary considering they were coated with Parmesan cheese. Unfortunately the Parmesan cheese tasted like the powdery cheap kind out of a carton.

And the ghastly sewage smell as we ate the Fish and Chips on their outdoor patio was disgusting!

Another night we went just to get some appetizers and even though there were only two other tables with two people at each table, we waited more than half an hour just to get an order of expensive truffle fries and some edadame. You know something is wrong when it's peak dinner time on a weekend and even though there's only a handful of diners you have to wait that long just for appetizers.

The last straw was when the chef/owner promised us two days in a row that he would make a chocolate cake that we were interested in trying and then both days blew us off and didn't follow through even though we rearranged our schedules to be there for it and reserved a piece. When we called and left a message, our phone call was not returned and when we emailed to voice our disappointment, we were again blown off with rudeness and arrogance by Chef Rob even after we'd been extra nice and continued to try to support his business.

What's the B's in B's Bar and Grinds stand for ?

The food could B better.
The service could B better.
The prices could B better.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gather 'Round Foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

One of the pleasures of being a "foodie" and a person who spent his life's work in food and beverage, is to come across a place where you have no expectations at all, walk in,sit down,order, and have your socks blown off!!! For those of you who find yourselves on the north shore of Oahu in Haleiwa, B's Bar and Grinds is the place. This is the "REAL DEAL" if you like food that has over the top taste,great textures, and a food explosion with every bite. The fries rank as one of the top two ever, on my list. It's located in the same plaza as Long's Drug with plenty of hassle free parking. Can't wait till they unveil their dinner menu. Aloha

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cnada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Finally a good meal in hale'iwa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Have tried a number of the top rated places to eat here. This is the only one that actually lived up to the reviews. The shrimp corn cakes are delicious. Huge order of wings, our teenage son could barely finish them. the ahi salad was so tasty. Everything we had was wonderful! They seem very new, go check it out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodsprings, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Excellent lunch! My friend had a Hawaiian style sandwhich with the Garlic Truffle Fries. I will take her word that the sandwhich was great (I did not get to try that). I did get to try the fries. I normally do not eat flavored fries, but these fries are exceptional. I will have my own order of fries next time! I had the Loco Moco Special. Rice, huge ground beef patty, with eggs over easy, topped off with homemade gravy with mushrooms and onions, accompanied by a big scoop of macaroni salad. Plenty food on the plate! You will not go away hungry here! For desert a flourless Chocolate Delight that was perfectly decadent, garnished with rasberry's, blueberry's, and sauces. We were already stuffed, but after hearing about the dessert, we had to try it. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B's Bar & Grinds also viewed

 

Been to B's Bar & Grinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B's Bar & Grinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.