We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed on Mondays!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opal Thai

Opal Thai
66-460 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closed on Mondays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went after a friend recommended it and was sad to find out we visited on a Monday- they are closed Mondays!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    39
    9
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Mystery Dinner Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Loved it! As all reviews will tell you, the owner asks you a series of questions of preferences, allergies, dietary restrictions etc and then brings food he has chosen for you to the table. It was awesome and very tasty and he was on point with everything he chose. Hours seem hit and miss as it wasnt open the first time we went there although it should have been. Tiny austere restaurant that lacks charm in decor and ambience but delivers with the delicious and personalized food. A must try experience when visiting the north shore.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“You gotta try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went based on other reviews we saw and were not disappointed. We weren't sure what to order so they took the menu from us and said they would take care of us... Boy did they. From the pork lettuce wraps to the drunken shrimp, one word OUTSTANDING.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A W E S O M E”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Don't waste your time reading this review but GO THERE AND ENJOY!!! You will not regret it! Let the boss (not your wife) decide what you eat. He will positively surprise you!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best. Meal. EVER.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were recently on vacation in Oahu and we were not leaving the island without stopping at Opal Thai. We saw it featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and read the reviews and knew we'd have to stop by for dinner. I've never seen better reviews for a place to eat. Opal Thai did not disappoint and it was seriously the best meal we've ever had. My oldest daughter has eaten Thai food many times, I've had it once and my husband and other daughter had never had it. As many of you already know, the owner will come out, take your menus and ask where you're from, what kinds of proteins you like, your preference of spiciness in foods, etc. Everything he brought to us was so amazing. He was so nice and humble and explained how we should eat the dishes. My oldest daughter said it was the best Thai food ever and for her and the rest of us it was the best meal we've ever had. Period. The prices were very reasonable. Wish we'd brought some of our own wine in but next time we will and there will be a next time! We went back to our hotel and told the others traveling with us about Opal Thai so they had to go to. They all agreed it was the best meal they'd ever had also. We are already planning our next visit to Oahu and you know we will be stopping by to eat here several times on our trip...don't care that it's 40 minutes from our hotel! It's worth the trip. By the way, stop at Matsumoto's down the street for a sweet treat of shaved ice after dinner...another yummy place on the North Shore. Look for Opal Thai in the Longs store parking lot...very easy to find. So, if you're in Oahu, no matter which part, you have to plan a trip here. You won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal Thai also viewed

 

Been to Opal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opal Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.