We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supurb Instructors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School

Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School
North Shore, Sunset Beach, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
808-783-8657
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncle Bryan Suratt presents, Sunset Suratt Surf Academy. Located on the North Shore of Oahu, home of Hawaii's most famous surf spots, Uncle Bryan prides himself on having the best trained surf instructors in Hawaii. All of our instructors are pro-level surfers themselves. Our surf school develops skills for longboard, short board, and stand-up paddle surfing. We take 6-month-old babies and adults in their 70s out for their very first time! Our surf lessons are for all ages and all levels, we teach surfers from beginners to pros. Sunset Suratt Surf Academy's classrooms are in the ocean from Sunset beach to Pipeline to Haleiwa, for a safe, guided hands on experience in the world of surfing. "It will be the most rewarding and thrilling gift that you can give to yourself or a loved one. A cherished experience of a lifetime. GO FOR IT!"Looking for a surfboard to rent while on the North Shore? Look no further. We got 'em—from shortboards to longboards to stand-up paddle boards! Sunset Suratt offers quality surfboard rentals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Supurb Instructors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The instructors couldn't have taken better care of our group of 16 novices ranging, from 10 to 67 years old. Their teaching skills were excellent. Their organizational skills and efficiency allowed everyone in our group to ride a lot of waves. And they were very, very conscious about everyone's safety at all times. These instructors made their Waikiki counterparts look like amateurs!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    19
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome Learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Top notch guys. The guys are awesome and they work there butts off to make sure you catch a wave and get back to the instructors savely. I think all the guys helped out a lot but it was surf instructor Kaloni that made my first surfing experience rock. He is so up beat and exstatic to help and see people ride waves. He truly has a passion for surfing. Thanks Guys and Expecially Kaloni for the experience. Aloha!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great instructors, great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I were traveling up to check out the North Shore from Waikiki and stopped at Haleiwa along the side of the road to sit on the beach for a bit. My husband happened to see the truck and beach set up for the Sunset Suratt Surf School and walked over to see what they offered. I was leary at first, but he had wanted to go paddle boarding and doing that for $40/hour in the small lagoon at our Waikiki hotel seemed a little lame. Uncle Bryan's outfit offered a two hour guided river tour/lesson and it was just right! It was $80 each, but I'd say it was worth it. Our guide, Christian, was an excellent instructor, very encouraging and helpful, and the trip through the cove and into the river was just right for a beginner. We saw a few turtles on our way, though they say they see more at times. All the instructors were very professional and friendly. Maybe on our next trip we'll take surf lessons! I'd trust these guys for a great first time experience.
They were kind enough to hold our backpacks for us, rather than have us leave our stuff in the car since theft is an issue for many public tourist spots.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I arrived an hour early just to scope out the place and we were greeted by Uncle Bryan. He and his staff are very friendly. Since we were early, they offered to start our 2 hour lesson immediately as opposed to waiting for the group lesson that we signed up for. The instructor was awesome. After a very brief instruction on land, we got right into the water and started surfing. Although there were two us, somehow the instructor managed to be right near both of us the entire time. It really felt like a 1 on 1 private lesson. This will likely be the highlight of our trip. Btw, prices are very reasonable after checking around with the competition. They even have a photographer in the water taking pictures of you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome for first-time surfers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are a first time surfer and are looking to experience a great surf, you must go to Uncle Bryan's Sunset Surrat Surf School. Go for the 8:30am since it is a bit cooler during that time of day, not to mention it's less crowded. The instructors are awesome and provided easy-to-learn surfing instructions. I crashed on my first wave but then caught 4 or 5 waves. The initial feeling of your surf board catching the wave and having the wave push you forward is an absolutely thrill. Remember to take your time standing up, you have plenty of time! Thanks again Uncle Bryan for being so courteous and accomodating. No questions asked and just had an awesome experience. One of the two best activities I did while in Hawaii. Have fun!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Bryan's Sunset Suratt Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.