We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - Great Food, Great Prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Big Wave Cafe

Kono's Big Wave Cafe
66-250 Kamehameha Hwy, Ste G110, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-1493
+1 808-637-9211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Kono's is a family owned restaurant on the North Shore of Oahu serving breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Kono's is a gathering place for locals, surfers, and tourists, a genuine North Shore experience. Our Kalua Pork is cooked daily for over 12 hours and is served in a variety of breakfast and lunch dishes.
Lodi, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“WOW - Great Food, Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

During our first visit to Hawaii, we rented a car and drove up towards the North Shore. We happened to come across Kono's in a small strip mall and went in for a bite to eat. Was hoping for some good local food, and I must say I was not disappointed! We both had the pork and it was outstanding! Loved the salad that came as a side. Also, they make great shakes! P.S. you have to try to Pineapple Jalapeno sauce...wonderful! It's a cash only business, but a visit here will not break you. Very reasonably priced food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    50
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The banana milkshake was awesome Enjoyed the friendly service and reasonably priced food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pulled Pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We didn't choose Kono's for lunch - my cousin did - and boy, what a marvelous idea! I had the pulled pork burrito, my husband had the pull pork plate - excellent, well seasoned and delicious! The pineapple ice tea was a real treat - and they offer free refills, as many as you can handle. The group of us sat outside on the shady front verandah, and unknowingly occupied a table for the restaurant next door; they came out and told us we were sitting in the wrong section but kindly said it wasn't a problem unless they started getting busy. Well, they never even had a single customer that we could see. However, by noontime, Kono's was packed to overflowing with people - I'm assuming many were locals, since the prices can't be beat for the quality and quantity of food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Ate here at breakfast on our trip around Oahu. It was definitely a good choice! We both had breakfast burritos and they were some of the best I have ever had. They are pretty large, not like the skinny ones here in Texas. The service and people working here were extremely nice and helpful. We will deinitely be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Start Your Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family and I had breakfast at Kono's several times during our recent multi-week vacation on Oahu. We all loved the vibe, and the food and service were quite good as well. Three of us would order various breakfast burritos, biscuits and gravy w/eggs and bacon, and/or granola with fruit, while one of us would always get a lunch sandwich. It seemed that Kono's and Ted's Bakery became regular daily destinations-rotating every other day. Bring cash to Kono's as they don't take credit cards. If you sleep in, don't worry as they serve breakfast until 1pm. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Big Wave Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Big Wave Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kono's Big Wave Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.