We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of macky's kahuku sweet shrimp truck

macky's kahuku sweet shrimp truck
66-632 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
1-808-780-1071
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

They don't have a huge selection but that makes choosing easy. Great food, felt like a true Hawaiian experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    117
    21
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A good first experience at a shrimp truck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We didnt know whether to go to Giovanni's or Macky's but after looking at the reviews of both, it seemed Macky's had slightly better reviews(or just more diehard fans).

You are obviously going to Macky's for the shrimp and not the decor or ambiance but I think that's self explanatory.

We ordered the coconut shrimp choice and the butter/garlic. I think there were 6 different options to chosoe from. We loved the coconut shrimp including our kids. The crispiness was just right and the taste too. It came with a nice dipping sauce too. They weren't the biggest coconut shrimp I've had (look at my Puerto Vallarta reviews to find those) but were definitely tasty. The salad, and rice were good compliments. $12/box I guess is what the going rate is for shrimp trucks.

Warm day and they do have some overhangs/coverings to sit under. Even at 1115, it was already crowded but the line wasnt too long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good, minus the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Rice and shrimp are pretty good. The rice might be the freshest of the trucks around. So crowded and chaotic it made me want to go elsewhere as there are many similar trucks nearby. A bit of a wait for food but not too bad. Don't really understand the hype surrounding this place though.....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Mackys in the place to go for shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I had the spicy and garlic shrimp and we loved it. We really liked the spicy shrimp but it may be too spicy for some people. It you like spicy, go for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lived up to the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Macky's is the first shrimp truck you will come across past the circle turn once you are in the North Shore. It has its own parking lot and eating large eating area right next to a 7-11. I actually wanted to try 2 different shrimp trucks to see how the garlic shrimp dishes compared to each other. Was going to try Giovanni's but a friend who recently ate there said it was overrated and overpriced compared to the other trucks so I tried Macky's and Hono's (just right down the street across from McDonalds) instead. Macky's charged $12 for the garlic shrimp plate that came with 9 shrimps, rice, salad and a pineapple slice. The garlic sauce was amazing, slightly sweet with large bits of tender garlic that just melts in our mouth. Hono's was really good too, $13 for the garlic shrimp plate that came with 12 LARGE shrimps, rice and cabbage salad. I liked both dishes but I liked Macky's garlic sauce a little more due to the melt in your mouth garlic sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed macky's kahuku sweet shrimp truck also viewed

 

Been to macky's kahuku sweet shrimp truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage macky's kahuku sweet shrimp truck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.