We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sharks Cove Rentals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sharks Cove Rentals to your Saves list
Sharks Cove Rentals
59-672 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712   |  
Hotel amenities
Renton, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to write a bad review. I am still waiting on being refunded for a day and a half by the owner. I also feel I was duped into staying here by the wonderful review I got of North Shore, bicycling, hiking, snorkeling. Nope. The waves were so high at this point of the season and yes I should probably have done my homework but still, don't lie to me to get me to stay here. The place itself was ok, mostly full of surfers, the bus is right outside the door and is pretty reliable. Apart from that there's nothing to do. Not the same North Shore I was told about (Understand it's my FIRST time to Hawaii coming from Europe). A day trip here is all you need, unless you surf, which I do not. Still upset at the owner and the owners son reaction to me when I asked for a refund. I won't recommend nor will I be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
18
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reading the reviews of this and other places in the north shore we decided to go there and see for ourselves before booking a room. We’ve been backpacking for 7 months and we are used to check the places where we stay before booking a night.

There are not many places to stay (budget places) around Sharks cove, waymea bay, sunset beach, pipeline beach, three tables beach.

We checked several and Sarks cove rentals was by far the cleanest, most comfortable, best located and quieter.

We end up staying there 7 nights and it was like staying at home. The staff and John the manager are very friendly and they are always around if you need anything. They are very helpful and friendly.

The room and the house was clean, spotless and nicely decorated, these guys have a good taste!

We cooked everyday and saw amazing sunsets from kitchen and the porch!

Our room was in the main house at the front but we saw all the rooms and they are all clean and have the same standard.

I don't have anything negative to say about the place or our stay. Yes, we saw a cockroach one day but even palaces have them.

I forgot the location, the house is right opposite the best snorkelling place in the north shore. Swim with colourful fishes and turtles.

I hope to one day go back and stay there again, I give them a 10/10

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Sharks Cove Rentals for 3 nights in mid-May. After driving around trying to find accommodation for over an hour, we called into Sharks Cove and immediately felt we had found a great place to stay. The location is amazing, right across the road from a great snorkeling beach, and a few minutes walk to Foodland. Sharks Cove Grill is nearby, which has great food at a very good price. Free snorkeling gear was great as we didn't have our own.

We first looked at the Backpackers which was horrible, really limited amenities, full of odd characters and seemed very dodgy and unsafe. Turtle Bay is lovely but not in our budget. Sharks Cove fitted nicely in the middle and we were really happy with the facilities. There were no bugs in our room or anywhere for that matter (like other people have said in their reviews).

The owner wasn't there but gave us full instructions over the phone and directed us as to where to find our room key. Our room was huge and very comfortable. The free washer/dryer came in handy and the BBQs were an added bonus too. The prices are quite high, considering you're not in Waikiki, but due to the limited range of accommodation on the North Shore, we were happy to pay. The kitchen is fully stocked with crockery, pots and pans etc. We had everything we needed to cook a meal.

I would definitely recommend this property, more so for couples. We had no problems with payment and simply used our credit card. We will definitely go back on our next visit to the North Shore.

Room Tip: Room 101 is huge, has a lounge/TV area as well as a dining table, bar fridge, toaster, coffee maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Let face it . If you don't mind the fear of local drug users/losers then stay here. Don't mined you car been gone through.
Bugs, bugs, bugs.
There are better condos down the road you can stay if you plan ahead.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days we stayed in 2 different rooms first was the private suite room it was clean comfortable nice breezes older amenties but you find thats the way hawaii is in most places unless you fork out the big bucks but it was fine none the less the kitchen area was spacious good facilities there was a few bbq's around the place so that was handy if you wanted to use them its right across the road from shark cove great views of the sunset close to haleiwa town and pipeline and waimea bay

The second room we got was just a single room and very pricey for something that size and standard didnt feel there was any value in it but hey Hawaii is an expensive place so be prepared to dish it out but it did have a nice communal verandah there were however allot of ants and bug in our room but its only as bigger deal as you want it to be just keep smelly soaps etc in your bag think the scent was attracting them

Pros
Close to supermarket
biking distance to pipeline
free snorkel gear big plus
free spear fishing poles
very close to the seaside

Cons
Quite limited parking there sometimes isnt enought for all the people staying there which can be very annoying when you want to relax and not search for parking

The hotel is not always attended which can be annoying when you need things the groundsman has special needs which is fantastic they give someone employment oppurtunity but he can be snappy and rude and not easy to ask questions to there generally arent any straight answers

All in all if your looking for the hotel experience this is not it if your lookin to be a bit self reliant figure things out as you go do it hawaii is an expensive place so generally the value for the price can be hard to see but in comparison to waikiki and other locations the north shore trumps it all in price and its not an overcrowded touristy ses pool a much better way to see the island

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalapaki Beach, Lihue
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had another hotel booked for our stay but needed 1 more night, so booked the deluxe room here. Clean room, comfortable bed, great view of the ocean. Wish they had supplied soap for the shower, remote for the TV, coffee for the coffee maker in the room, water for the room water cooler! No one in the office but did get live person on the phone, meet a very nice male housekeeper in the AM, gave us advise on leaving keys & departing. If you are looking to share a house with common kitchen BYO food and supplies clean & nice.

Room Tip: stayed in room 100, ocean view...also on the road, but fans & air conditioner buffered the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I did not choose to stay in this "rental," but it was a booking as part of a group where we were told we were staying elsewhere. We stayed in the back house and it was awful. Small bugs and sugar ants could be found on every wall of the house. The bunk beds were missing pieces and had the most uncomfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. If you want fresh towels, forget it. If you want new toilet paper, walk up to the Foodland, buy your own, and hide it in your room. And good luck trying to get a hold of a housekeeper or owner because you are lucky if they are there anywhere between their hours of 10 and 2. Finally (and the worst part), is that there is a general area where people would congregate between the main house and the back house where our group stayed. Every night guys were outside smoking it up and getting high. As we were leaving, we were told that a family was going to stay in the back house. I hope they didn't have kids - what a way to introduce them to drug use.

I get the idea of a hostel, as I have spent a lot of time in Europe staying in them. However, I cannot think of a place I have stayed that has been worse than this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharks Cove Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharks Cove Rentals

Address: 59-672 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Haleiwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Haleiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a vacation inn with 4 separate homes situated closely together, ohana style. Located just 75 steps to Pupukea Marine Preserve, directly across from preserve a.k.a. Sharks Cove, excellent for diving and snorkeling in summer months and whale and wave watching in winter months as well as swimming. Haleiwa town is just a 10 minute drive and has beautiful Harbor, restaurants, water activities, surf and dive shops. Within walking distance of rental are surf/snorkel shop, two lunch wagons, large grocery store with Starbucks and deli, bike shop as well as several white sand beaches; Waimea Bay, Three Tables Beach, Keiki Beach, Pipeline and Sunset Beach. We rent private rooms in these homes with shared common areas of living room and kitchen. Two rooms are deluxe suites with queen beds and private bath, one is basic queen bedroom with private bath. The other ten rooms have bunk beds to accommodate couples or singles and share kitchen, living area and bath. No cleaning deposit. Free Washer/Dryers. Free use of snorkeling gear. Free daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sharks Cove Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharks Cove Rentals Hotel Haleiwa
Sharks Cove Rentals Hawaii/Oahu - Haleiwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharks Cove Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.