We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local "secret" spot in the shadow of it's popular next door neighbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aoki's Shave Ice - CLOSED

Aoki's Shave Ice
66-117 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712
(808) 637-7017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Local "secret" spot in the shadow of it's popular next door neighbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was referred here by a few locals after I told them I was going to the famous Matsumoto's Shave Ice store. After seeing the absolutely ridiculous line at Matsumoto's, I decided to give Aoki's a try. It was well worth it. They provide some recommended flavor blends but also give you a chance to choose your own flavors as well. I got the blend that included Li Hing Mui, Pineapple, and Lilikoi. The sweet taste of the pineapple and lilikoi complimented the salty, slightly sour Li Hing Mui (salty dry plum) flavor. Li Hing Mui is actually quite the delicacy in Hawaii and frequently comes in a powdery mix that is sprinkled on many snacks such as gummy bears and dried fruits. I also added vanilla ice cream and condensed milk for an additional creamy flavor.

Service was friendly, the price was relatively inexpensive, and the shaved ice was refreshing and full of flavor. Not to mention that I almost guarantee that I got my shave ice in less than half the amount of time I would've had to wait at Matsumoto's (probably less). I am grateful for the suggestion made by the locals and hope I can share this tip to anyone else who is looking for some great shave ice on Oahu's North Shore.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    38
    20
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome shave ice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I love Aoki's!! The line is always shorter than Matsumoto's and moves very fast. They have the best local flavors on the island. When I lived on Oahu, I use to go all the time. I visit the island once a year and make it a priority to get a taste. I love adding Kona Coffee Ice cream or Peanut Butter Cup ice cream. Try it out, the ice melts in your mouth!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok, for a basic sno cone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Ok, well maybe I'm biased but shave ice is little more than a sno cone. Most of us got ours plain or with ice cream at the bottom, my husband got the ice cream and the beans. The beans were rather disgusting to be honest. Must be one of those things you have to grow up on to like. Overall they were fine, with lots of flavors to choose from, but it just wasn't anything that special IMO.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The shave ice had a few clumps in it, so overall, it felt more like a snowcone. Also, some of the syrups are rather weak (though the local mix was definitely worth it). We came on a Saturday, and the line was about 15 minutes long, which wasn't too bad. Overall, it was worth going too, though it wasn't really good enough to be considered five-star.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Refreshing Tropical Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We heard from more than one local: "Go to Aokis! It's the best!" One even went as far to say that other shave ice places were "retardo" compared to Aokis. Of course, we loved Aokis! It was delicious and we ate every last drop, but maybe our expectations were too high because we expected a little more. Overall you really should go! (P.S the ice cream on the bottom really is what makes it worth it!)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aoki's Shave Ice also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aoki's Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.