We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food, quick service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Miller's Restaurant

Anna Miller's Restaurant
98-115 Kaonohi St, Aiea, Oahu, HI 96701-4798
(808) 487-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 149 restaurants in Aiea
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tokai, Japan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Comfort food, quick service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The other reviews pretty much say it all. Quick efficient service, Friendly waitstaff, Tatty surroundings in need of a facelift, Average food in large portions, a fairly broad selection of pies which are good but not great, Long lines which they get through so quickly you can't believe it. This chain once had multiple locations including at least five restaurants in Tokyo. Now it seems to be reduced to this one worn-out location.

And yet I keep going back for the Nostalgia of the joint, like so many other people. Especially popular with the over 62 and the military crowd, since they get a discount. For others it's a bit more expensive than the average diner, for no particular reason.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    22
    39
    25
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Popular local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Anna Miller's has been around for at least the 35 years I have lived in Hawaii. The staff are amazing, well trained, fast, helpful, and friendly, the menu has something for everyone, the portions are large, they are famous for their pies, free parking, and I've always had great tasting comfort food there. This is a family restaurant with very reasonable prices, and is nearby to all the action at Pearl Harbor and the Pearlridge Shopping Center.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A good place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After an early morning at the Ko Olina Beach we stop here for late breakfast. Be prepared for a wait but it is lovely as you sit on an old fashioned porch and the weather is usually super. We enjoyed one of the breakfast specials and the 4 adults in our group thought they were excellent. The two men in our party couldn't stand leaving the place without one of the yummy pies in the case as you walk by. The two woman in our party thought it was a great idea and thought the price of the cherry pie we took home was tasty and well worth the low price of the pies. They also have a deal where you bring back the tin for a credit toward another pie.....smart!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Where the locals go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very good food at a great price. This is where the locals have gone for years. Great old school coffee shop vibe. I had a regular waffle with coconut syrup that changed my life, well it was very good. Try it I'm sure you'll like it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cringer1124
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre Diner Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Seems like a staple diner for locals and tourists, but it was just mediocre. Typically diner options. The pie was pretty good, but that should be standard for any diner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Miller's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anna Miller's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Miller's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.