We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kaluakoi Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Kaluakoi Villas to your Saves list
Castle Kaluakoi Villas
1.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1121 Kaluakoi Rd, Maunaloa, Molokai, HI 96770   |  
Hotel amenities
BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

i really enjoyed my stay at the villas. The place was a little run down and the rooms were not all that clean but if I had a problem it was dealt with promptly. I loved the open concept to the rooms so the breeze could blow right through to keep things cool. The people at the front desk were always helpful and the security guard was very nice and seemed to always be around. The grounds were amazing to walk on and the beaches were beautiful. Amazing sunsets too. The ginger cat "papaya" that lives there was so sweet and very friendly. We stayed in a studio room, for the amount of time we were actually in our room that was more than sufficient. It is quite a trek to drive there but for the views and the beaches it is well worth it. It was very good value for the money we payed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
3
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Molokai is one of the smaller islands in the Hawaii chain. It is 50 miles long, has one road no traffic lights, no traffic.You must be self sufficient here, the villas are 20 miles from the one town on the Island and there are no restaurants. If you like long walks on empty beaches, sitting on the patio overlooking the ocean this may be for you. I had an ocean cottage overlooking the ocean/ golf course, quite idealic for me. You will need to buy your own food from the town and the villa has good kitchen, dinning area, bedroom and lounge with tv mainly open plan. Large patio with table and chairs. Note that the golf couse is closed and has been for some time. You are 50 yards from the beach although rocky. There is a 3 mile sandy beach one mile down the road usually deserted. The pool was out of action and had been for several months, but they were working on it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

The villas were clean and neat (we had NO problems with bugs, mice, etc). Grounds were well kept. Indoor/outdoor carpet was pretty new. People were friendly and helpful. Not a lot of special service, but this is not the Ritz. If you want that, go to Oahu. If you must check in after 4, be sure to call. They will leave a key and map (not hard to follow and all walkways are lighted and there is security), Just so you know, their office is at the 3rd parking area on the left. It isn't well marked. You can get extra towels from the office or leave a note for the maid. The one review was correct, you only get coffee the first night (unless you ask the maid) but try the locally grown coffie from Molokai, we thought it is better than Kona!
Beautiful view of the ocean. This area of Molokai is dry and the investors that bought the golf course surrounding the villa chose to let them go back to nature, and the golf hotel with them. Those were the buildings that were run down. The swimming pool was closed, but we were told that the Castle Kaluakoi does not own that, either. The rooms allowed the ocean breezes to flow through. We left our lanai doors open, no problems with bugs or flies. Beaches were rocky and rough when we were there, but perfect for walking. And yes, you were usually the only ones on the beach. The pictures on the internet site are pretty close to what you will get. Not a party place.....but peaceful. Not a place for small children or teens that need a lot of activities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Romantic right on the ocean with no people on the beaches and no cars on the road.
Sunsets and moonlight dancing. The best.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

*Hotel Website-mis-leading! Does not reflect the true conditions of this hotel

*Upon reviewing the reviews on trip advisor regarding this hotel, most of the comments are right on. However, there is NO GREEN grass on the golf course. There is dead grass and over 1OO closed hotel rooms. We arrived late and could not find our unit, because the lights were off and all other buildings located near our unit was closed or abandoned. It is scary especially if this is your first time in Hawaii to be walking around in the dark trying to find your unit. However, when we did wake up we did find a nice beach.

*The front desk service was horrible. She made us wait for 5 minutes without acknowledging us. There was no one at the
front desk most of the time, she would close the office two hours before closing time. I am embarrassed to say as
a previous local person, the front desk personnel does not project a true aloha spirit. Although, if the front desk staff was more friendly and on top of it I think it would not of been so bad for most of the guests.

*The maintenance staff member was excellent. There are only 3 employees. The front desk person, one maintenance and
a security guard. The maintenance person was great. I could always see him working hard, however he cannot maintain
the entire complex himself. He needs more help. I think the hotel owners needs to trim the trees nearest to the golf course because they are still utilizing the cottages and the whole area
is pitch black at night. If you are checking in late, you will
not find your unit even with a map.

*Lots of ants in the unit.

*No cleaning service

*No place to buy food. After the long drive to the hotel and
spending 1 hour trying to find our unit...who wants to drive out
...We starved the first night. At least, get a vending machine with snacks and chips.

*The sign is too small. There is no lights and if checking in late you will have problems locating the box where your keys are left in. Also, this is still dangerous because someone can open your unit and return the key and rob you. They can leave someone else in your unit. This is not a good system at all.
The late check in is for guests checking in after 2 pm. The entire time I stayed the office did not stay open until 4 pm.

The property is not fit to accommodate guests anymore. There are fallen trees and lack of security personnel. I did not see the
security staff member at all. If would of been helpful if he could of assisted us in locating our unit. I was told that very few guests registered, which is 6 or 7 guests per night.

I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Liked — The Beach is nice but dangerous ...have to watch the current if surfing or swimming
  • Disliked — Vacant buildings...Ghost Resort!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellynjd, Condominium owner and Board of Directors at Castle Kaluakoi Villas, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
As the Board of Directors of the Kaluakoi Villas, also known as Kepuhi Beach Resort, we want to clarify information on some recent negative postings. The resort area is comprised of a hotel and privately owned condominiums. They were separated from each other in the 1980s, enjoying an era of abundance and beauty until 2001 when the hotel closed and began a long slide into decay. The hotel remains closed at this time but the beauty continues on the resort condominium side decorated with lavish lawns and many tropical plants and among the most beautiful ocean views of all the islands.

Recently, the pool, shared by the hotel and condominium association, has fallen into dispute which is being resolved through the court system. It remains surrounded by temporary fencing and hopefully, for only a little while longer. Several picturesque beaches are within short walking distances from the condominium side. If there are 3 people on the beach, it is considered crowded!

The golf course was also closed recently, as has been done in the past, leading to a different 'feeling' about that area closest to the beach. Now instead of crossing a golf course to get to the beach, visitors meander through meadow-like pathways to the sandy shore to enjoy breath-taking and incredible sunsets that are beyond description. Many visitors have made positive comments about the pathways and do not miss dodging golf balls. Restaurants and grocery stores require a drive but those who appreciate the unspoiled beauty of Molokai are willing to forego the inconvenience in exchange for secluded beaches, no stoplights, and buildings that are no taller than a palm tree. There are rental cars available through Alamo and Island Kine.

Mahalo and Regards,
Kepuhi Beach Resort Board of Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maunaloa hotels

Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We visited Molokai from January 9th to 16th 2008. This was our first time to Hawaii. People asked us why we chose Molokai for our first time here. The answer is simple. We didn't want traffic or crowded beaches. Not a single traffic light on the island! We don't care about a night life and drinking as we have grown up and out of that phase of our life. Molokai and Kaluakoi Villas was the PERFECT place for us!

Kaluakoi was by no means like a ghost town. There is a part of the property that had some abandoned buildings and is run down looking. If you don't want to see it, then don't go to that part of the property. We didn't even know that part of the property was there until we went out of our way to see it. It was not terribly crowded either but there were people there. Most were people that spend their winters on Molokai.

Most relaxing vacation we have had so far. Again...if your into the nightlife, drinking all night to the point you won't remember most of the vacation you just spent so much money on (rolling eyes), then Molokai may not be for you. But if you want an incredibly relaxing and peaceful vacation on Hawaii's most "Hawaiian Island" then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Quiet and relaxing. Great views.
  • Disliked — A few closed/abandoned building on property
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

Ghost Town. You will read this a few times in the past reviews. I will write a bit about the villas then Molokai. We had a clean and spacious villa, with nothing but a putting green between us and the ocean. If you enjoy Condo living and like to cook, you will have no problem here. There are no real restaurants over here and for the most part the entire island. It had a very apocalyptic feel to the place. In fact I couldn't get over it the couple of days we were there. Where is everyone? The actual location is amazing. Some of the best sunsets I have seen on any of the islands, and you have it all to yourself. Literally.
The frogs came out at night, you had to be careful not to run them over in the car. In the morning about 50 wild turkies would wander over from nextdoor and have breakfast on the golf course. And of course the feral cats, they all seemed happy and well feed.
As far a Molokai, it makes Kona look like a metropolis. We went after our wedding to get away from the people on Maui. We thought it would be nice to have a little R and R. We also wanted to take the Mule ride to the leper colony which is the main attraction on the island. It is a great ride and physically demanding. We had a hard time finding guide books for Molokai, after being there I know why. No one would buy them because hardly anyone goes there. It was beyond quiet. We went snorkeling on Sunday and decided to go to the store to get some groceries for the condo. The store closed at noon and there is Nothing else and I mean nothing. We thought we might have to go hunting for our own food. We ate crackers that night.
Having said that, this island can either be paradise or a nightmare depending on your expectations and needs. This is the perfect place to go to get away from society, read war and peace or write your memoirs. Plus, you have to be able to deal with a little discomfort from time to time. You need to be able to entertain yourself by walking the beaches, hiking, etc.. If your idea of a great vacation is having drinks served to you at the pool, getting a massage, or going out for a nice sit down dinner, you will absolutely hate Molokai and will want to get off as soon as possible. That is it in a nutshell. As far as the locals, many were nice and talked to us but there were an equal number who would ignore you if you asked them something.
It is beautiful, rustic, abandoned oasis. It will either be a huge disappointment or a glorious discovery, it all depends on how high maintenance you are. For us it was a little of both. I still cant decide if I hated it or loved it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No restaurants
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kaluakoi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kaluakoi Villas

Address: 1121 Kaluakoi Rd, Maunaloa, Molokai, HI 96770
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Maunaloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Castle Kaluakoi Villas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Kaluakoi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kaluakoi Villas Hotel Maunaloa
Castle Kaluakoi Villas Molokai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kaluakoi Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.