We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ke Nani Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ke Nani Kai to your Saves list
Ke Nani Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50 Kepuhi Place, Kaluakoi Resort, Maunaloa, Molokai, HI 96770   |  
Hotel amenities
Troutdale, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent a very quiet week on a beautiful Island. Beaches that were miles long, with no foot prints. When we did find locals, we were pleasantly surprised at how friendly and helpful they were. Ke Nani Kai was very nice, condo was good size, very comfortable, staff were very helpful, can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Only 7 timeshare rooms, we had a ground floor room with no real view, but was still very nice. Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in unit 216 in January and had a lovely time. Although it there was a rough and windy sea - the area provided us with enough to do while also being a very relaxing experience. The unit provided at the cooking and serving items we needed. And the lanai had sunrise and sunset views. There was also a radio tv and some books. We didn't really need these for entertainment though. The long walks to the longest beach was lovely. The pool and hot tub also filled the gap of not being able to get into the rough ocean. In all it was great. I wished we had access to bikes and tennis rackets. Maybe the hoa could provide these at the office?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We traded into this resort through Gold Crown Resorts. Unit 133 is a two bedroom, two bath. Very spacious at over 1000 sq. ft. For the age of the unit , thirty plus years, it is well kept. The unit was equipped with beach chairs, cooler, shopping bags for groceries. No air conditioning, but had ceiling fans which were adequate. We also had a large, lovely covered lanai. Overall, the unit was more than we expected, and were pleasantly surprised.
Being on the bottom floor, we heard every footstep and sound from upstairs. This would be our only negative comment about the unit.
The pool, hot tub and grounds were well maintained.
We did the 8 pm run to the Kanemitsu's bakery. Fresh baked loaf of bread with cream cheese and strawberry filling. Great dessert. Was well worth the trip. We will be going back to try the cream cheese and blueberry loaf before our trip is over.
As for Molokaii, we would probably not return. This time of year, when we usually like to travel, the waters were treacherous for snorkeling and swimming. Because its a small island there is not many things to do or see. A great place to end your vacation if you just want to relax.

Room Tip: Try get top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are Alaskans who went to Molokai looking for absolutely nothing – we found it!

If you’re looking for shopping, fine dining and highfalutin activities you won’t find them on Molokai! Molokai is very rural with few people and very little development. The people however are very friendly, in fact you can’t drive anywhere without oncoming drivers waving at you as you pass. The main town is very small with only two grocery stores. Again don’t look for that gourmet section because you won’t find it, only the basic necessities.

There are about a dozen restaurants, mostly family style or fast food. Someone told us of a new restaurant called Roast Pork House. We stopped in and found it to be very clean with an eclectic menu of Filipino and Asian selections. My wife chose chicken pancit, a dish neither of us had ever heard of. As it turned out it was Filipino in origin, enough for two and very delicious. But the best meals were at Ke Nani Kai 115.

Ke Nani Kai 115 is a wonderful condo. When you book on line you never know what you’re getting but this one is a gem. The condo is very comfortable, well maintained and with every appointment you could think of. I hate going to a condo and find it is stripped clean with no condiments such as salt and pepper, spices, a coffee pot without coffee or coffee filters. 115 had it all, in fact had we arrived late in the evening there was enough goods in the cupboards and refrigerator that we could have whipped up a decent meal. I love to cook and we ended up eating at the condo every night.

Rose’s recommendations in “the big book” were appreciated and one such recommendation was Kume Gardens. There was a coupon for a free mango in the arrival packet and what the heck do Alaskans know about mangos? We had to pay them a visit. Kume Gardens is an organic garden and store about 20 miles from the condo. Over the next two weeks, in addition to the free mango, we bought more mangos, bananas, fresh vegetables, and grass fed beef that was wonderful. If you go there be sure to get a packet of their pesto sauce made from fresh basil, garlic and macadamia nuts.

The best thing about Ke Nani Kai was - there is just nobody around which made it nice and quiet. Only once was there someone at the pool and the 3 mile beach where I took my morning coffee was deserted. We loved Molokai because it was so quiet and relaxing.

Every evening around 5:30 I would put several CD’s of Hawaiian music into the player that Rose supplied. I would pour myself an adult beverage, set out on the Lanai to enjoy the sunset. While out there occasionally I would hear a prop plane flying in the distance, I’d turn to my wife and say, “Da Plane – Da Plane”.

For a quiet and peaceful respite, Ke Nani Kai 115 comes highly recommended by these Alaskans.

Room Tip: Just talk to Rose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Ke Nani Kai is an older property, beautifully maintained. It is on the western end of Molokai, so restaurants, grocery stores, and most shops are a long drive away. The resort itself has a beautiful pool, and we were frequently the only people using it. Our unit, 130, had hardwood floors, a nice, shaded lanai, dishwasher, and washer and dryer included with the full kitchen. Any request was immediately met, and service staff are friendly and helpful. The island itself is mainly designed for relaxing as visiting the old leper colony and hiking are the primary activities.

Room Tip: The second story of some units have sea views. The surrounding golf course has been abandoned so doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We traded for this timeshare and were not disappointed. The unit was nicely kept up, but a little older. The whole complex was very quiet during out visit, as many of the units seem to be occupied by their owners during the winter months. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit with a nice lanai on the ground floor. The landscaping in the complex was very nice and well kept up. It came well equiped with beach chairs, cooler and beach towels. The complex is on the western (dry) side of the island, so the beaches are excellent and the weather good. However, it is very dry, so the surrounding land is covered in brown, scrubby vegatation - no lush green on this side of the island. The complex is part of a larger development that is partially closed down with many closed buildings and an overgrown golf course, so it is rather depressing in those areas. It still has a great ocean path and beach with beautiful sunsets over the island of Oahu. The grocery stores and restaurants (the few there are) are about a 20 minute car ride away. This didn't bother us any, but a car is essential.

The people we met on the island were nice enough to us, but it is obvious that they are not really interested in the tourist industry and would be just as happy if no tourists came to Molokai. They seem to be very afraid that Molokai could turn into another Maui, and are doing everything they can to keep that from happening. They were able to shut down the Molokai Ranch operation and have many signs posted on their properties indicating that they want Molokai to stay as it is. So there are very few tourist related activities and restaurants.

So while we thoroughly enjoyed our week on Molokai and at Ke Nani Kai - be prepared for a low-key, beach centered vacation. There are many beaches we visited where we had the beach to ourselves!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Molokai was awesome...this Condo was great...super location close to the best beaches...the Condo had everything we needed, beach towels, chairs, snorkeling equipment...as well as very nice kithchen, bathroom and bedroom...super clean and nice pool and hottub as well...would definitely recommend THIS condo!

Room Tip: On bottom of 2 story cond...very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ke Nani Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ke Nani Kai

Address: 50 Kepuhi Place, Kaluakoi Resort, Maunaloa, Molokai, HI 96770
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Maunaloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Maunaloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ke Nani Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ke Nani Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ke Nani Kai Hotel Maunaloa
Ke Nani Kai Molokai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ke Nani Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.