We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Molokai Museum and Cultural Center

Molokai Museum and Cultural Center
Highway 470, Mile Marker 4, P.O. Box 269, Kualapuu, Molokai, HI 96757
(808) 567-6436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Kualapuu
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

There were a few interesting pictures, but the videos were too boring to watch and the sugar mill was boring as well. And that was it, that is the whole museum. I wish I would have kept that money in my pocket.
Parking is free and plentiful.
They do not sell food or drink.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited here on our first day on Molokai. It is nice to learn the history of the island and of Kalaupapa. I'm glad that we went there to learn more about Kalaupapa before going down there for the tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, Ca
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Visiting both”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Cost to see $5.00/person. Worth the cost to visit 2 good history shows on the sugar mill and Father Damien. Both sites were interesting to understand a little about this period of time. Again attempt to see

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sugar mill sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Friendly patron and inspired exhibits provide insight into molokai culture. We enjoyed the artifacts and history. It's worth your time to catch a glimpse of this mellow island.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Small Interesting Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Two interesting films, one about the Sugar Mill and one about Kalaupapa. The restored Sugar Mill is fun. You can just imagine what it was like when it was in operation (very hot). Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molokai Museum and Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Molokai Museum and Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molokai Museum and Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.