We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful for a day trip to Molokai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molokai Outdoors - Downwind Kayak Adventure

Molokai Outdoors - Downwind Kayak Adventure
9 Hio Place, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748
877.553.4477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Activities in Kaunakakai
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Very helpful for a day trip to Molokai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We aren't the usual outdoor activity cutomers. We were limited in physical activity and had just one day on Molokai. Clare at Molokai Outdoors Tours set up a full day air / driving tour where we were able to see much of the island's sights. Our guides took us to many different venues, a whirlwind of sightseeing. If we had had more time and experience we would have been better able to plan. As it was they accomodated us well.
Included were two great air trips from Maui to/from Molokai. This enabled us to get better views of the Kalaupapa peninsula and the seaside cliffs.
Molokai Outdoors did enable us to see Molokai in a short time. They were very helpful and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
“Nissan Xterra Rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my second time renting an Xterra from Molokai Outdoors. The rental included free pick-up and drop-off from the airport, and the processing at their office was quick, easy and friendly. Clare, Uncle Hans, and Elisa were all really friendly and helpful in making sure we had an outstanding trip on Moloka'i.

It was really nice to have this option over the car rental companies at the airport and hotel--I felt really good about my money going to a local business. Even better, renting a local vehicle helped us fit in to the local scene much more than the standard rentals you'll find with the other national companies.

Thanks you Molokai Outdoors!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great day with Clare and Alex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband did stand up paddle boarding and I did Kayaking. I am so glad we got to spend our last day on Molokai with Clare and Alex. She has a true passion for what she does and her love of being on the water has been passed on to her son. She does everything to make sure everyone has a safe and fun time on the water. I can't wait to see the pictures she took along the reef.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kayak Excursion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Clare of Molokai Outdoors and her intrepid 9-year old son guided us on a wonderful paddle across the reefs. She took us 5 miles east of where we parked our car, so we could paddle with the wind and not have to paddle back. The wind was blowing so hard our paddles were more like sails. It was a lot of fun and Clare took lots of pictures for us and posted them on her FB page. Thanks so much for a great outing!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Molokai Outdoors is the way to do Molokai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Upon deciding to visit the island of Molokai, my first step was to contact Clare, the owner of Molokai Outdoors to set up tours and assist in planning the trip. We wanted to visit the leper colony of Kaulapapa Settlement where Father Damien (now Saint Damien) worked tirelessly to make life in the Settlement a little more humane.

There are 3 ways to arrive, by plane, by mule or walking - we chose the plane. Clare set up a fantastic trip with an excellent pilot and local guide to explain the history, heart ache and triumph of the human spirit. It is a trip back in time I will treasure forever.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molokai Outdoors - Downwind Kayak Adventure also viewed

Kaunakakai, Molokai
 

Been to Molokai Outdoors - Downwind Kayak Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molokai Outdoors - Downwind Kayak Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.