We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaunakakai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio
Save
You added Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio to your Saves list
9415 kanehameha, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at both locations. With beautiful views and well stocked kitchens, we had everything we needed to head out the door, explore all day, and come home to experiment with local produce for dinner. Molokai was just our speed, and these properties were more than we could have hoped for. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This cottage was a fantastic place to stay. The view of the ocean was beyond belief, coupled with the cleanliness and the nice amenities. The kitchen and all rooms were immaculate, and the bathroom had a great tub and a shower. The bed was super comfortable as was the lovely lanai (porch). The owner left alot of nice towels to use, and there was also a washer and dryer. We were extremely pleased with everything and the price was very reasonable for what we we received.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed at both properties recently. They both have their charms. The view from the cottage is stunning, and it is quite well equipped and was very nicely prepared/cleaned. It is easy for the hours to just slip by on that lanai. The sun- and moonrises are also incredible. The west end studio is kind of an odd place to stay. As you may be aware, there used to be a hotel at this location, and some of the property is now used as condos, while many buildings are derelict. Once I got used to the end-of-the-world feeling, I quite enjoyed it. The sunsets are worth watching every evening. It seems it's often windy on this part of the island. The beach in front of the studio is beautiful, but sometimes rough. The huge beach next door (Papohaku) is totally spectacular. The pool is very pleasant. Both properties (the studio in particular) could use some maintenance. The cottage had some small issues (no doubt things deteriorate quickly in this climate), but was overall very clean and neat and well provisioned. Combined with the location and view, I would definitely recommend it. You will spend your first hour just shaking your head at the view. However, I don't feel I can recommend the studio at this time. I'm a bit perplexed by the other recent reviews - maybe something has changed recently. It seemed that some work was in progress - there was a big hole in the bathroom wall, and the washer had been removed. The walls are a bit banged up, most of the dishes required washing before use and overall it was not terribly well equipped - I don't think there was even any extra toilet paper. A couple of the drawers were filled with random junk (I was looking for a phone book). It also would have been nice to provide some information to guests (particularly at the studio), to let them know about grocery stores, nearby services, internet options, etc. (there were some print-outs with info from local businesses at the cottage). It also would be a nice touch to provide guests with a few DVDs and books (there were a few DVDs at the studio but none at the cottage, while there were books at the cottage but none at the studio). Overall, a mixed experience. It is great to stay on both sides of the island, and I would certainly recommend the cottage.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

After many trips to the Hawaiian Islands, we decided to spend a few days on Molokai. An internet search led us to the Hilltop Cottage and West End Studio site. When I sent an inquiry, I received a very quick, professional reply. Once all questions were answered, the confirmation was fast and easy.

Our flight to Molokai arrived early. We went and explored the markets in Kaunakakai before heading west. When we arrived at the studio, it was still early for check-in so we had a picnic on the beautiful grounds and walked the amazing beaches surrounding the community. The nearby beaches are secluded and pristine!

We were very impressed with the studio amenities. The decor is tasteful and soothing. The view from the lanai is stunning. The breezes provide comfortable, natural air conditioning. Though we only had breakfast at the studio, the kitchen is perfectly equipped with the lastest appliances. It was have been easy to cook any meal. In addition, there are grills around the complex.

The customer service with the confirmation process and during the stay was excellent. We were very impressed with the complex grounds and the daily care that was given to the landscape. We highly recommend the West End Studio. On our next visit to Molokai, we look forward to another stay at the Studio or the Hilltop Cottage.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed in the West End Studio and we couldn't be happier. The view was great and it was steps away from (100 yards) away from a nice secluded beach. It was clean, tidy and had everything we were looking for - and at a great price to boot. It was a nice simple get away. It was located next to an old golf course and not far down the was a closed hotel - but with a store that still sells basic provisions.

More importantly, it was a quarter mile away from one of the best beaches I've ever been to - Papohaku Beach Park. It's the longest stretch of white sand beach in HI and it is completely empty! Not a soul in sight. Quite a difference from the overcrowed beaches of Oahu.

Also, during a rare tropical storm, the owner called us to make sure we were OK (during her Christmas break) which we thought was very sweet.

Molokai is a very different experience than the standard HI islands and if you're ready for that, than this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Just sign up for as many days as you can - if you want to be immersed in Hawaii, this is the place. Drive up the road and it looks simple - but that is the secret to paradise. Prepare to be surprised by the glory of Hawaii as it should be. The "cottage" has everything you could need, but the point is, what is it that we need ???- to be surrounded by the sweet, soft Hawaiian air, to see almost every star in the universe, to swim in the sea that withstands millennia?? We thought so. I started crying the day before we had to leave. Murphy's Beach is just down the road about 3 miles. Molokai Sweet Bread with some Muleskinner coffee makes a perfect breakfast (with guava jam) The bed and sheets are better than any you'd find at a 5 star hotel. Sundays and holidays, the whole island albeit shuts down, and isn't THAT paradise? The owner/host is all Aloha and so are the neighbors. I hesitate to tell you all how amazing this is because then all possible dates for our return will be booked -- but ALOHA is telling the truth with great love -- this "cottage" is no ka oi. We were greatly blessed to have our five short days breeze past us while we lived paradise. Got Hawaii? ........you do here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Our stay last year was so relaxing that we are going back next year. don't expect the Hilton or luxury....that's not the island style on Molokai. The place is kind of isolated and not really fancy, but the view is fantastic! We know folks on the island and find our joy in music, the beaches and just looking across the channel at Maui. Cook your own food at home and eat on the deck. Owners are receptive to you if you have problems. A place to go to be quiet, read, walk on the beach or just sit and rejuvinate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio

Address: 9415 kanehameha, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molokai Hilltop Cottage & West End Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.