We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cinnamon Rolls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanemitsu Bakery

Kanemitsu Bakery
79 Ala Malama Street, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Kaunakakai
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Well known bakery on Moloka'i island, Hawaii
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Cinnamon Rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stopped here to get some pastries for our breakfast and we got cinnamon rolls. We got there kind of late so we think they offered more but had been picked over pretty good during the morning.
The rolls were delicious.
We never did make it in to do the hot bread a night. Just such a long drive home in the dark for that.
We looked during the day to see if we could figure out where the entrance was for the hot bread, but couldn't figure it out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Molokai bakery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We checked out the local bakery after reading about it in traveler reviews. The breads look and smell delicious but made with white flour and sugar we didn't sample any.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here and there
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Closed down and fined by State Health Dept.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This isn't the first time Kanemitsu's has been cited for health violations. Maybe this time they will get the place cleaned up for good, so we have a safe source for fresh baked goods.

http://themolokainews.com/2012/05/07/kanemitsu-bakery-hit-with-large-fine-for-unsanitary-conditions/

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Yummy bread”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We never did try the hot bread at night, though I wanted to.

We went in during the day and got some cinnamon rolls, and some pineapple bread. Both were delicious.

The counter staff was not exactly "Miss Personality" but she was okay.

One of our fellow B & B guests had an encounter another day with a very rude counter staff member.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooper, Utah, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I expected more.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I went in our first morning on Molokai because we had not had breakfast. The breakfast was adequate but the server was down right rude. The young lady at the bread counter wasn't much better. Bread was good. I especially liked the coconut twists. In 8 days I returned once to get more coconut twists, but spent my meal money elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanemitsu Bakery also viewed

 
Kaunakakai, Molokai
 

Been to Kanemitsu Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanemitsu Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.