We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“molokai adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Hotel Molokai

Save Saved
You added Aqua Hotel Molokai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Molokai
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1300 Kamehameha V Highway, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Paragould, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“molokai adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

stayed 4 nights & enjoyed hotel, hotel staff & location, close to small town for supplies & shopping & pier for ferry to other islands. good food @ restaurant & good entertainment at b.ar. pool was excellent. only fault i can find is i didn't get a room with a/c & i had room close to highway which was noisy in a.m. as well as rooster crowing @5am? however, they supply earplugs in room.-they really do. location not to far from airport, & i would suggest a rental car to explore the island. front desk good with travel advice & friendly. free internet was good. restaurant right on beachside ocean. they have coin washer/dryer to use which was convenient. they also furnish coolers & chairs for the beach included in price of room. i plan to return in 2013

Room Tip: away from the highway & away from rooster that crows @5am. close to ocean for sea breeze as no a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Aqua Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit in 2013. Until then ...Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    97
    42
    24
    32
See reviews for
40
125
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
F/ville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Only one night in Molokai wish we had more. Hotel was very quaint and clean. Even though no a/c Trade Winds were sufficient.Food selection and pricing were reasonable.Hammock was great!
FYI hedge at pool looking over ocean should be shorter in height to view the ocean (for whale season). Entertainment at night was a bonus. Mule ride into Leopard Colony was awesome if you have the opportunity. Molokai is NOT commercialized no chain restaurants or hotels and not even a traffic light! Real Hawaii.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Aqua Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. Feedback such as yours can only help us improve at the property. I am happy to report that your suggestion of the hedges on the ocean side was greatly appreciated from a guest point of view. We have trimmed the hedges and the oceanview is even more spectaular. Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Unfortunately, my husband and I could only stay on Molokai for the weekend, but we had a fantastic time. Our room was right on the ocean and updated. There was A/C in the room, which came in handy one hot night. Our bed was extremely comfortable.
You can't expect a luxury resort in Molokai. This is an authentic feeling hotel with friendly people. You really get the feeling of the aloha spirit while you're here. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant and bar, very nice views and relaxing right on the water. Overall, I would definitely recommend Hotel Molokai!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Aqua Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are delighted taht you truly enjoyed your stay. I am certain we will see you in the very near future. Until then.....Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a great hotel and what makes it fantastic is the staff. Sumu in particular. We stayed in Molokai last year in October but did not get a chance to review it until now. A great Bar/Restaurant virtually on the water! Thanks Hotel Molokai, thanks Sumu!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Aqua Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the past stay. We are delightly that you truly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the very near future on your next visit to this beautiful island of Molokai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Molokai is the most authentic of the islands, and perhaps even more so now that the only other hotel and big resort are now closed. The only nightlife is at this hotel with different local entertainers every evening in the delightful open air dining room. Activities include visiting Kalaupapa, the former leper colony, still inhabited, and good hiking on the scenic east side. It's fun to browse the short main street of the quaint old town of Kaunakakai. If you want fancy resorts, lots of stores, great swimming beaches, and many dining choices, stay away. The hotel is somewhat expensive considering the rather old rooms, but you can't beat the laid-back atmosphere. There is no beach to speak of, but the hotel does have a nice pool and the ocean is just a few feet away. We would definitely return for a longer stay than only three days. One can totally unwind here.

Room Tip: The hotel is old and is currently being renovated and expanded. The rooms are very small but adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Aqua Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Aloha Ann, Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are thrilled that you truly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you on your next trip to the island of Molokai.

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My stay at Hotel Molokai was just fabulous. The rooms have an authentic Hawaiian appeal. The beds were so comfortable that I slept better than I've ever slept on vacation. The staff were friendly and attentive. The views from the hotel were just breathtaking, particularly while eating dinner at sunset. Every meal I ordered was prepared to perfection. Each night the hotel bar offers live Hawaiian entertainment....not the touristy kind that you might find on other islands, but authentic music and dance from the locals on the island. The general manager, Michael Drew, went above and beyond to make my stay both memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Aqua Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Aloha Jenni,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review. It is evident that you had an amazing stay on your recent vist to the island. We hope to see you next year on your next visit.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had such a wonderful experience staying at the Hotel Molokai. The hotel and restaurant staff are excellent, friendly, responsive and always smiling! Andre' at reception was a stand-out! The restaurant's new menu is superb and the shoreline location is breathtaking. The nightly concerts provide a true taste of the Moloka'i Aloha spirit. My room was decorated in the Hawaiian Plantation style with beautiful open beam ceilings and a conveneinet kitchenette. I highly recomment the Hotel Moloka'i to all lucky folks going to the Friendly Island!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Aqua Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Aloha Deb,

We are truly happy to learn that you had a great visit. We hope to see you real soon on your next visit. Until next time ...be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Molokai

Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Highway, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Hotel Molokai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Hotel Molokai features open-air, oceanfront bungalows located on Kamiloloa Beach, adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. This hotel is the ideal setting for an authentic Hawaiian island experience and the perfect location to explore Molokai. Newly renovated rooms feature down comforters, Internet, mini-refrigerator, coffeemaker and cable television. Styled after a Polynesian village from a time when outrigger canoes were the only transportation, Aqua Hotel Molokai is your secret hideaway from the frantic pace of modern life. Enjoy nightly entertainment while dining poolside at our popular oceanfront restaurant or get a relaxing massage at our on-site spa facilities. An Internet kiosk is also provided in the lobby for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai
Aqua Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Hotel Molokai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.