We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stillwell's Bakery & Cafe

Stillwell's Bakery & Cafe
1740 Kaahumanu Ave, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2407
808-243-2243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 78 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sooooo delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a trek at the Iao Needle we were looking for a lunch spot. Stopped in at the park booth and the attendant recommended Stillwells. About 4 stop lights straight out from the park and the first left after you go under the cement bridge. Doesn't look like much but the constant flow of locals in and out is usually a good sign. Amazing huge sandwiches on a wide assortment of bread choices. All sandwiches come with choice of chips or Caesar salad. They have take out boxes as you might not be able to finish. I had their spinach quiche and a roll. Delish! Soups, salads, sandwiches, Noodles, Something for everyone. And save room for dessert. Our group each ordered something different so there was lots of sharing going on. The coconut pie was so fresh. No artificial taste here. Fresh shaved coconut. I'm still thinking about it.... Chocolate mousse, mango mousse, banana cream pie, and chocolate brownie were all terrific too. The only small downside would be the wait for your food. it wasn't especially busy but we waited close to 20 mins. Was okay as they have outdoor seating under umbrellas. Maybe we should have grabbed the dessert while waiting for the sandwiches! This is of course a bakery and their bread, rolls and focaccia bread looked amazing. And a fair price. They also offer breakfast until 11. Lunch available between 11 and 3. Then bakery open until 5. Thinking not much would be there at the end of day as they discount in their last hours. Will definitely stop through here when we next arrive, and pick up our bread needs.. It's only about 10 mins from the airport.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place! Friendly workers! Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this gem while searching for a breakfast place. It doesn't look like much but the breakfast is out of this world! Make sure to get hot cakes and Portuguese sausage!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food is delicious!, but service is RUDE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Best bakery, pastries lunch stop on maui is right. but only due to the food. if you're looking for the kind of place you can get a box of exquisitely created and fresh pastries, tartelettes, eclairs, napoleons etc that you can take home.. ( granted you dont devour the box before you get home with them) This is the place for that. but make sure you're not in a hurry. give yourself at least a half hour to get in and out. This place cranks so much business they always have a line out the door. It would seem they have more business than is nicely tenable. how they manage to keep their customers is rather a curious matter. not only does the boss speak condescendingly to the staff in front of the customers and you can feel the tension from the staff whenever he approaches the front counter, he also has no show of gratitude for his patrons, rather treating them just as he does his staff.. ex: he says " have they been helped?; yes? -you need to tell these people to move away from my counter, I need to take this next person's order.." as he POINTS to the clients... and impatiently " you!, can you MOVE to the side." addresses the patrons himself. .. not nice. not nice at all. and if he happens to be the one taking your order, you might be led to believe by his demeanor that he appears -20 hours sleep deprived and isn't quite happy to have yet another customer standing before him. the rest of the staff is decent enough to get by, i'm sure they would do even better sans his presence..only because they seem too terrified of him to speak kindly or have a split second long enough to make their customers feel welcome. between the unfriendly boss service and the great food at Stillwell's, my feelings are a mixed bag. Having great food does not excuse rudeness and ingratitude for your customers. Half of this could be fixed easily with a kind word "Thank you for your order/ please come again/ Thank you for your business". but as far as if seen, don't expect to hear it if you go there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sweet delights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stillwell's is the place to go for wonderful pasteries and other baked delights. The chocolate crossiants are delicious and I just bought a chocolate eclair as a birthday present. If we are not making a homemade birthday cake, it can come from nowhere else but Stilwells. The lilikoi is an excellent choice.
It is a popular spot for lunch so go early or a little later. The curried chicken salad is so good as well as the crab cake sandwich. Stillwell's is also known for their rolls. I have family members that pick up a bag almost eveytime they go to town and definetly order ahead for special occassions.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Very cute little bakery/cafe. Quiet calm atmosphere. I had shrimp and crab salad. It was really good. Very fresh crisp romaine lettuce and ingredients. Husband has BLT and he loved it. He is a BLT man and pretty picky. He said everything was fresh and it tasted like a real BLT. For desert I had creme brûlée. Lady said it was best in Maui and she was right!! I loved it!! Husband had a passion fruit cheesecake. He loved it as well. This is a must go on way to airport, passing by, whatever. It's worth visiting!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillwell's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stillwell's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stillwell's Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.