We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodents!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Home Maid Bakery

Home Maid Bakery
1005 Lower Main St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2008
808-244-4150
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 79 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Moscow, ID
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rodents!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We pride ourselves on finding out of the way places where locals go. We went here to get fresh malasadas and while we were waiting for our order a large rat ran in by the counter and then back into the kitchen area. I know the lady at the counter saw it and didn't say a thing. They have two other locations that are newer that might be rodent-free and the baked goods looked yummy but we lost our appetite when Ratatouille waltzed through.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Delicious Manju pastries filled with coconut for takeaway lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We ate delicious Manju pastries filled with coconut and adzuki beans.

We heard that the sandwiches were fresh and yummy too but we didn't sample them.

Good place to stop on route to the Ioa Needle. Try to go early for the best selection.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here twice for lunch--what a find! HUGE wraps or sandwiches--choose your own meats, veggies, bread, cheeses, condiments--all for an incredibly reasonable price!
They also have a nice selection of malasadas (Portuguese filled doughnuts) and Pacific-rim pastries.
This is definitely a restaurant that has a lot of local and tourist business and seems to be run by very sweet ladies who work really hard to accommodate all. You can either dine in or take out.
We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Malasadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Love the fresh out of the fryer Malasadas. Crisp on the outside and warm, fluffy on the inside. A great cheap breakfast!! They only bake it up fresh during certain hours of the day so be sure to check their website for times.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Taro rolls, mochi and malasadas... OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Looked for Home Maid Bakery because of a TripAdvisor forum recommendation for taro bread. They only had taro rolls at the time, so we snagged a dozen, as well as hot malasadas and some tropical flavors of mochi.

All items were pretty good, but not the best we've had. The taro rolls were lacking in sweetness, as were the mochi (!), and the malasadas were not as fluffy and soft as I'd had (even at our Maui hotel).

Overall, I liked the experience -- the staff were all friendly and helpful -- and the prices were good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Maid Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Home Maid Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Maid Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.