We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already ready to return to the Old Wailuku Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono

Save Saved
You added Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
2199 Kahookele Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Already ready to return to the Old Wailuku Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed at the Old Wailuku Inn for 7 nights in late December 2006. We would return in a heartbeat.

The inn is a gracious, well maintained historic building that is both comfortable and elegant.

The grounds are small but nicely landscaped, with lush vegetation. As you emerge from the inn in the evening, you are greeted by the fragrance of tropical flowers.

Janice was a wonderful hostess. She was welcoming and warm. She has excellent advice about what to do -- and what to avoid and/or be cautious about -- on Maui. We found her advice to be right on the mark.

We stayed at the inn for Christmas, so the living room was beautifully decorated with a Christmas tree and a collection of Santa Clauses. Each room had a Christmas quilt, instead of the usual Hawaiian quilt. The innkeepers even left us a gift on Christmas morning, a nice surprise.

Both my husband and I read the book in our room about Hawaiian quilts, and we even read a portion of the Don Blanding poetry book in our room. I never thought I'd catch my husband reading poetry, but we felt amazingly relaxed after a few days at the inn... it actually seemed normal to be lounging on the bed and reading poems about Hawaii.

We spent a number of evenings on the deep front porch, relaxing.

We enjoyed the view of the gorgeous west Maui mountains from the front gate of the inn.

We loved soaking in our in-room whirlpool tub in the Ilima room. We also loved the large, bright Bird of Paradise room.

We sampled every single breakfast (the menu changes each day of the week), and would recommend them all. The breakfast room refrigerator is stocked with drinks and snacks in case you're hungry in the evening, or to pack for excursions. The inn also supplies you with a cooler, beach towels, and straw beach mats each day.

Wailuku is centrally located and a perfect starting point for trips to any of Maui's destinations - Haleakala, the Road to Hana, Ho'okipa Point, south Maui beaches, the northwest Maui coast, etc. Iao Valley, one of Maui's main attractions, is a very short drive from Wailuku. Swimming beaches are a 15-minute drive away.

Wailuku itself is, as all the guidebooks say, a real town. It is both charming and gritty (not perfect, but also not scary... one of the more "urban" towns on Maui). We found it refreshing and authentic compared to the more touristy west Maui coast (where we stayed later in our trip). We explored different parts of Wailuku on foot on a few occasions, enjoying seeing a number of historic landmarks and homes. We had dinner almost every evening at one of a number of inexpensive but excellent restaurants in Wailuku. We especially recommend A Saigon Cafe and Cafe Marc Aurel; and Maui Bake Shop and Deli was a great place to pick up sandwiches for lunch.

We would absolutely recommend staying at the Old Wailuku Inn. Back on the mainland, we've been drinking coffee out of an Old Wailuku Inn mug every morning... and feeling very nostalgic!

  • Liked — Loved the entire experience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    45
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
161
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

My wife and I stayed here and it was fantastic! Breakfast was a great experience - very unique entrees with great conversations with fellow guests. Our room was very nice - AC worked wonderfully and it was very clean. The shower was a real treat. I found the location to be very good, centered on the island so that you could get to any of Maui's featured attractions without problem.

Bottom line - next time we come to Maui, we're returning to this hotel.

  • Liked — The atmosphere - very relaxed - and the breakfasts were a treat
  • Disliked — Great place - no improvements needed
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early - don't miss this place!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

We had a very enjoyable two day stay on Maui, with the Old Wailuku Inn as our home base. When we arrived, it wasn't obvious how to get checked in, but the housekeeper found us wandering around. We got into our room, the Hibiscus room, and found everything to be in good order. The only complaint was about the bathroom door, which was not a solid door and did not provide much privacy. We only got to meet the owner Janice briefly at breakfast, and she apologized for her absence on family business. In the short time we did talk to her, she gave us a lot of great advice about what to see and do. The breakfasts were great. The food was tasty and freshly prepared and we got to talk to a variety of people over breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Great hospitality.
  • Disliked — Bathroom door.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

Room was very nice, and kept up well by the staff. Food at breakfast was excellent, and the B&B style really encourages discussion amongst the guests, which usually have read different travel guides/books than you have, giving you a much more well-rounded picture of Maui, which I know we would not had gotten had we stayed anywhere else. The location really is central to just about anywhere you'd want to go on the island, though it surprised us that it was in essentially a residential area. Check-in and out was the easiest I've ever experienced (along the lines of Ring bell, "You're so-and-so? OK, here's your room, here's the breakfast area, and here are your keys," though of course in an unrushed fashion.) Much credit does need to go to the owners, Janice and Tom, as they were very proactive in offering recommendations and assistance to their guests. Perhaps the only concern we had should perhaps be directed at Maui County's Public Works/Transporation Department, as turning out onto Hwy. 30 involves closely examining a round mirror as the intersection is blind (and it turns out there are a lot of dull-colored non-reflective cars on Maui!) Overall, a wonderful experience. When we return to Maui, we'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Roadway visibility
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't worry about having to pack beach towels (or Road To Hana audio CD guides)
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

The Old Wailuku is a great place and we highly recommend it. Beautiful property, clean and lovely rooms, and great location, just outside of Kahului. We especially loved the showers - jets on the walls of the shower and from above - wonderful!

The gourmet, full breakfast was also delicious. One day we had waffles with some sort of caramel sauce and whipped cream, the other day we had delicious (and huge) breakfast burritos. Breakfast was served by a separate staff and the hostess came in to chat about half way through the meal. You can tell she has been doing this for a long time, but is full of knowledge about the islands. She also has audio guides for the Road to Hana that you can borrow for the day.

Wonderful experience - definetly a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

Great centrally located B&B with well maintained buildings and landscaping. We stayed in the Mokihana Room on the Veranda level. The room was nicely done and stocked with books and decorations. The bathroom was very large with a Jacuzzi tub.

If there are any drawbacks, which are very small in comparison to the overall quality of this property is that the parking lot can get very tight for a full size car or larger. Secondly, if you like to sleep in, I would recommend the Vagabond House rooms, because the Breakfast room is located on the Veranda level, in the main house and the noise level can get a bit loud around 7:00 am and beyond. The Vagabond House is a separate building from the main house.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend this property to anyone. SGS07.17.06

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

The Old Wailuku Inn is a homey & quaint place to stay situated in a great part of Maui. The inn has firm and comfortable beds, and a nice breezy common room that's stocked with drinks, teas, and snacks. Janice (the owner) is super helpful and nice.
The inn is located in a great historic town, way better than the touristy and depressing Lahaina. If you love local food, you'll find amazing restaurants nearby and make sure you pick up a bento box to eat on your flight home at Ichiban Okazuya, which is a block away.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono

Address: 2199 Kahookele Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's historic Inn. Down to the smallest detail, it represents 1920s Hawaii at its best, intertwined with the conveniences and luxuries the modern travelers expect. Located in the heart of Maui - short drive to beautiful beaches, lush golf courses, great restaurants, shopping centers, and most major visitor attractions. Ten minutes from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Hotel Wailuku
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.