We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Italian home cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltimbocca

Saltimbocca
300 Ma'alaea Road, Suite 300, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
+1 808-243-3463
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltimbocca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Wailuku
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Experience the taste of Italy in the middle of the Pacific. Located in picturesque Ma'alaea Harbor, Saltimbocca fuses affordable authentic Italian cuisine with outstanding hospitality and service that transcends both plate and palate. Featuring authentic dishes artfully crafted with the finest local and organic ingredients, and fresh breads and pasta noodles made in-house daily. We proudly offer vegan and gluten-free menus for our guests. Take in the restaurant's casual upscale ambiance while enjoying cool ocean breezes and gorgeous views of mountain, ocean and harbor from our patio, dining room and bar and lounge. Saltimbocca is nestled in the lively and centrally located Ma'alaea Harbor, just 15 minutes away from the airport and 15-25 minutes away from South Maui and West Maui.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“True Italian home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great atmosphere and beautiful view of the harbor. Service was warm and comfortable as if you were eating at someone's house. Caesar salad was made the old fashioned way, by hand with just the right blend of seasoning and anchovies. The special was ravioli with lamb sausage stuffing. Wonderful! We think this is the best Italian food on Maui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    28
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stop before the show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

On our way to the MACC we decided to try a new restaurant to our island, Saltimbocca. It was perfect for a nice dinner; great setting, friendly service and good food. Each one in our party tried something different, no appetizers, or desserts, just a cocktail and our entree. On our table we had Bolognese, Marsha's Pasta, Pumpkin Ravioli, and Clams all of which had great flavor. However, our only disappointment were the noodles in every plate except the Ravioli were 'al dente', too much for any of our tables liking. The flavor, service and atmosphere will bring us back for another try, it's worth another try and convenient when you're traveling to and from the westside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Maui Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

True Italian Food in Maui, fresh-local-innovative entrees. The service and restuarant were spectacular. Definatley will be back for more!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
“Beautiful restaurant - incredible food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful dinner at Saltimbocca. What a beautiful location - and the food to match. The owner Jim personally came over to our table to say hello and make sure we were enjoying our experience - of which there wass never any doubt! Service was excellent, food is delicious, must try!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We ventured out to the Maui Ocean Center on a cloudy day and went to the Aquarium and shops. We decided to grab some lunch and came across Saltimbocca. It's a really pretty restaurant with outdoor seating and a large bar and lounge area (which looked cool). Our waitress (Kaitlin) explained that it was a family-owned restaurant that opened two months ago and that the chef trained in Italy for many years. She explained some of the chef's specialties and raved about that day's special. She was friendly, animated, professional and efficient and both she and her table runner took care of us quite well.

Though it was a cloudy day, we sat outside and had a view of the ocean and the dock and watched as boats went in and out of the small harbor with groups of whale watching guests.

The food was excellent. My mom and I split the Caesar salad which was great - not dripping with dressing which was light and flavorful. I had the Salitmbocca sandwich - grilled chicken breast with prociutto, fontina cheese and tomato with a light sage aioli on wonderful bread. My mom had the mini eggplant parmesan which was excellent and my dad had the mini cioppino which was delicious.

We had a lovely experience and would definitely like to return for dinner in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltimbocca also viewed

 

Been to Saltimbocca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltimbocca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.