We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly

Dragonfly
1063 lower main street, Wailuku, Maui, HI
18084196901
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 76 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After finding Dragonfly, (which was a little difficult), we were a little apprehensive because of the lack of customers and the location. However, we had no reason to doubt the previous reviews on Tripadvisor. The food was very good and the owner was very enthusiastic and helpful. She has only been open for four months after a significant renovation of the restaurant. It isn't the most upscale place, but very comfortable. We had the honey walnut prawns and beef with snow peas. The eight prawns were ginormous and cooked perfectly. The beef with snow peas was delicious and a very generous portion. We selected this restaurant because we were on our way to the MACC and it's very close to it. The trip to Wailuku to eat at Dragonfly is worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese Food on Maui!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a real treat going to Dragonfly for dinner! The Chow Fun noodles, the baby bock choy with mushrooms and one other treat - everything was delicious and NOTHING was left over! Steve, the Manager and Annie, the owner were both very attentive as well as the professional guy working as the busser.

We are so happy we can walk down the street to enjoy this wonderful restaurant! DON'T MISS THIS WONDERFUL TREAT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Maui
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Dragonfly is a great new addition to the Chinese food scene on Maui. A lot of the Chinese restaurants aren't that great with only a couple standing out and Dragonfly is one of them. The other being Fu Lin. The food is a little pricey but well worth it. The pork fried rice was good as well as the sesame chicken. The won tons had a sweet cream cheese filling so you really didn't need the sweet and sour sauce, but they were good. This has become my restaurant of choice in Wailuku and the central part of the island when I am craving Chinese food. The staff is friendly as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GOOD CHINESE FOOD IN WAILUKU!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We love Chinese food which is my husband's favorite. Of recent we travel to Lahaina to Fu Lin (Cantonese) which we really enjoy and eat lots of it when we get to Oahu especially dim sum.
What a great surprise to experience Dragonfly (Szechuan) in Wailuku.
We tried the Chicken Cake Noodle (yummy), Kau Yuk (great flavor but needed more steaming for our taste), and Mongolian Beef (our favorite). We also sampled the Baby bok choy with eggs & garlic sauce. My husband was just going to sample it but couldn't stop eating it and he's not into vegetarian.
Annie who is quite friendly explained their style of cooking (some spicy but can make it mild) and was very interested in what we'd like to see on the menu and what we thought of the dishes.
We so look forward to going back!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New find for Beiing, Shanghai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We like this new and upcoming place for Chinese food. They are still developing their menu and we like how they are expanding and experimenting based on customers suggestions. Very friendly. We enjoy trying something new every time and haven't been disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly also viewed

 

Been to Dragonfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.