We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious bread” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julia's Banana Bread

Julia's Banana Bread
Kahekili Hwy, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“delicious bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We decided to look for this famous bread everyone is talking about. if you are planning to go,
make sure you leave early in the morning because the drive is very dangerous.

The ride coming from Kahana has really beautiful views and lots of places that you can stop to take a beautiful picture, take a walk, stop for a good coconut or pineapple, or even go and swim with the fishes lol, But once the road guys from 2 Lane to one, be very very careful because you will be driving on a one Lane 2 way street and there is nothing to keep you on the road from falling but you might and will of you getting this bread lol....

Go with a local if you know anybody or drive on a good day (no rain or traffic) and once you get there (if you do) buy more than one loaf because it is that good and you want to make sure you have more for the upcoming days. We bought 6 :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Totally worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Awesome banana bread!! What else is there to say? Totally worth the drive. Actually met Julia this time. Fantastic lady and very friendly!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect mid-point around West Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Friends said we must stop here on our way around West Maui for the banana bread and they were correct. Food is great, liliko'i lemonade is fabulous (strawberry mint a close second), and the conversation is even better.
This is not a trek for those coming in for a long weekend as it take a while to get around the narrow, tight turns but it should definitely be in the plan for any longer stay. If you like banana bread and looking for a great place to chill at a picnic table away from the Maui crowds, you should head here. This is the Maui most never get to experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bread + Drive to Wailuku = Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Ooooops! We did not notice the Stop sign. The road had been paved beyond it, and we were so busy checking out the views. Then the road narrowed, but still paved, and we realized where we were and decided to continue. After all it was now paved.

Julia has a small little stand. A young girl was working it. We bought a couple of loaves @ $7 each and some lilikoi butter and hubby bought a lot of other nuts and stuff. Then we sat at the table nearby and had a picnic. It was lovely.

I love that butter. The bread was deelish too! Wish we had bought a few more loaves. Met people who love it and then met others who like the bread on the other end of the island. Different tastes. We tried many and liked them all, either for the story behind (single dad selling macadamia nut bread near Hana), to most moist (Julia's).

We made a U turn and came back as we wanted to stop at the sights we had passed by before. Met some cars who were going both ways. Not many, but a few. Not for the faint-hearted, but then nothing as bad as it was 25 years ago and there was no Julia in those days, just mary-juane farms :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very yummy, but maybe not worth the drive (or dive?)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We heard this banana bread was awesome, so when we were up past Nakalele Point we decided to check it out. Be aware- the road is VERY narrow- narrower than the Road to Hana- and you have to go back the way you came (on the side of the cliff).

The banana bread WAS very good. We also bought coconut covered cashews, even better. Couldn't convince my husband to take home passionfruit butter- next time :)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's Banana Bread also viewed

 

Been to Julia's Banana Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julia's Banana Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.