We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A.K.'s Cafe

A.K.'s Cafe
1237 Lower Main St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2012
808-244-8774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Wailuku
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
GOODRICH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We went to this cafe after tasting their food which they had catered at two of the concerts at the McCoy Theater. A little hard to find if you are not familiar with the area, but worth the trip. We went there for a late lunch. The owners were not busy and we had time to chat. Very friendly service. I had their daily lunch special and it was great! My wife said the the crab cakes were the best ever. Prices are very reasonable, and the place is clean and neat. We found out later that some of the long time owners of the condo we are staying at knew of the place and visit regularly. Make sure that you take the time to find it while in Maui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great fried chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The texture on the fried chicken is excellent and the waffle fries have a similar quality. Not in a touristy part of Wailuku but worth the drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great, affordable food and wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and two children and I went for dinner. I was a bit skeptical and made my hubby go in to make sure it was "family oriented". He checked it out & gave it the thumbs up and am glad he did. We had a great meal with wine and appetizer for under $50. Our children loved the kid's menu and there were quite a number of healthy options which is sometimes difficult to find when traveling. The staff was very helpful and tolerant of our toddlers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AK's Cafe is a Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

AKs has a wide variety of fresh foods cooked to order. Pupus and main course items included local, Asian, Italian and Filipino dishes as well as burgers, sandwiches, soups and salads (you can even get a half order of salad for half price!) My husband and I went to A.K.'s on the recommendation of a friend who has eaten there many times. Despite being tempted by all the yummy options on the menu, we both ordered from the healthy eating lineup at the bottom of the menu: mahi mahi, ono, chicken or turkey with Hawaiian sweet potato or brown rice and your choice of steamed veggies or green salad all for $7.25! The meat and fish we ordered was perfectly prepared and seasoned. The sides were beautiful and tasty (unlike the healthy options at most restaurants). We have been trying to eat more healthfully, and this is a huge challenge on vacation. We were thrilled to find AK's Cafe and plan to eat there often. The owners (who were also the chef and waiter) were amazingly warm and helpful. This place is a gem! Open only for lunch and dinner Monday thru Friday (11 am to 1:30 / 5 to 8:30 pm) the cafe is in a small plain building with the only sign as a small bright yellow "street sign" by the curb that reads "A.K.'s Cafe." Make sure to bring the address with you or you might drive by a few times. Don't let that prevent you from trying it. This place is wonderful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This place used to be delicious when Elaine owned it. Now it is absolutely terrible. Seriously, the sauteed mushrooms used to have us licking the bowl but this time were completely lacking in flavor. My husbands pot roast (which was wayyy overpriced) was still cold in the center, as if it had just been heated in a microwave or something. My crab cakes were still good but the portions of sides left me hungry. All I know is we spent a good amount of money on a mediocre meal at best. The second we walked out the door we both looked at eachother and agreed that would be the last time we go there! Bummer because it used to be so good! :-(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.K.'s Cafe also viewed

 

Been to A.K.'s Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A.K.'s Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.