We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owner BEWARE!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Archie's

Archie's
1440 Lower Main St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
808-244-9401
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 79 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: American, Japanese
Restaurant details
Wailuku, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Owner BEWARE!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Not like before. Terrible service, tasteless food. Fly in miso soup on 6/14/2012. I will not dine there ever again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We gathered there with lots of other people. The ambience is very local and just great. The staff were working really hard and could still smile. The Tonkatsu was good ... ono. The people who had the Chicken Tofu made comments about "plenny onions". I looked ... wow, looked like a whole onion was cooked in there. The person who had the Salmon said it was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Won Ton Min on the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

In 1973, when I cut out of high school to drink coffee with the "art students," I sat in booth 2, against the east wall. Nothing has changed, except for the wait staff: they will always be kids. The breaded teriyaki steak that George (Sheik's Restaurant) invented and took to Honolulu remains a faithful lunch and dinner item here. But the spectacular giant bowls of saimin, won ton min and such, with all the garnishes, are the best on Maui. The tempura batter is always fresh, which makes all the difference in taste. The Hiyashi somen is perfectly cold (you WANT it that way!) and the fried fish dishes seem to melt in your mouth. It took a cold, rainy day to get me back to Archie's. I think I'll have a 50-year party there in 2023. I'm sure the teishoku grilled salmon will be fresh!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good value/price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We were in Archie's tonight. Our timing was good and a little before 7pm there was no problem of parking. The inside is a little run down and the athmosphere is hard to describe, but the service was extremly friendly. Every question was answered and the menu explained. I hac the butterfish and spouse the teriaki steak. Both tasted great and the amount of food is more than enough. We had a filling dinner for under $20!!
I can surely recomend this place. but please be aware, they do not accept credit cards.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui
1 review
“our favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

great japanese and local foods. we go here often and always have fresh and tasty ingredients. run by local people with heart who treat their customers like family . the parking lot is small (more parking available across the street). very popular place so recommend you go early (they open for lunch @ 11:00am and dinner @ 5;00pm). portions are generous and prices very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archie's also viewed

 

Been to Archie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.