We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tasty Crust Restaurant

Tasty Crust Restaurant
1770 Mill St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1217
808-244-0845
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 72 restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

If you're into local & casual, this place has the best pancakes, loco moco & hash. We love it & well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    26
    26
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Low grade dog food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was surprised to see good reviews for this place. I guess it's known for breakfast, we tried lunch. It started with ordering iced tea, which was "skeavy", that stale taste you get from tea that has sat out unrefrigerated for multiple days.

Main courses consisted of sesame chicken, which was unlike any I've ever seen. No sesame looked like just a greasy country fried piece of breast. And I do mean greasy. Second platter was a hamburger steak. Again, nothing special, just a piece of low grade burger covered in what looked like instant brown gravy mix. And finally, a cheese burger. How can you mess up a cheeseburger? Well, this reminded me of something I used to eat out of a vending machine in the dorm in college years ago after drinking half the night. We called that vending machine "the food wheel of death".

Everyone in our party had rather unsettled stomachs the rest of the day. Now don't get me wrong, I love a good greasy spoon, and that's what I was expecting here, not a gourmet experience. But this was just bad. Maybe it was an off day or something as the place was crowded and the staff was fairly friendly. But the food was nothing short of awful.

Definitely not recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved the pancakes and the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Don't go if you want a fancy, "tropical" experience on Maui. But if you want some of the best pancakes we've tasted and a place away from crowds of tourists, be sure to stop. The loco moco is also good, with a nicely done hamburger patty and tasty brown gravy (and while one in our party thought it was too salty, I thought it was great).

It's a good spot if you're going to Iao Valley. The whole experience was...well, an experience! We plan to return each time we visit Maui.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“They can do Better....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If this had been our first time at the TC we probably wouldn't go back. But we know they can do better. Fortunately prior trips have been good and the food and service were good. They need to work on getting the order correct and the food to the table while it is hot. It was busy but not that busy. Combo is still a good deal for brekki.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best Pancakes on Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Cant believe this place has been hidden from me with the pancakes they make. Diner like greasy spoon, yes the tables aren't new but it did look clean. Plenty of parking and seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Crust Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tasty Crust Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasty Crust Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.