We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Dinner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz's Wharf Restaurant - CLOSED

Buzz's Wharf Restaurant
Maalaea Small Boat Harbor, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
+1 808-244-5426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor
Transit: Buzz's Wharf Restaurant is just a 1 minute walk from the Ma'alaea Harbor Village bus stop. Buses from all over Maui (Wailuku, Lahaina and Kihei) stop at Ma'alaea Harbor every hour.
Description: Established in 1967 In 1967, Jerry & Eileen Macdonald opened Buzz's Wharf Restaurant in the Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor, where it still stands today. They shared 30 successful years in the restaurant business on Maui and Honolulu. In 1993, the Macdonald's retired and the next generation took over. The American Cuisine with an Island flavor continues on. Mrs. Macdonald's French Tahitian roots contributed to many of the unique menu items. Their signatures dish the " Prawns Tahitian" being the most popular.Buzz's Wharf Restaurant recently celebrated 45 years of operation, and is one of Maui's Long Standing restaurants. As a landmark in Ma'alaea Bay Harbor, Buzz's continues, year after year, to greet and extend their ho'okipa (hospitality) to both newcomers and their loyal local and visitor clientele. Our ocean front dining room offers panoramic views of the harbor, Mt. Haleakala and the southern coastline of Maui which only serve to enhance your dining experience.
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The food was awesome, however the servers just totally forgot about us after placing the food on our table.
We are not drinkers so we had coffee from the start and they never refilled or ask to refill until I finally requested it. Our cups was empty before we even got our appetizer, so we ended up finishing up the bread provided before the appetizer. By the time we got our dinner it was one hour later, we sat down @ 6:45pm and got our dinner @ 7:45
We ordered from the menu while everyone else was going for the Thanksgiving buffet. But that should have not matter because we were still paying full price.
Food is great, service was a total failure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    76
    65
    42
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something fishy at Buzz's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went to Buzz's Wharf Restaurant expecting a delicious seafood dinner. We were very disappointed. The menu stated the clam chowder soup was loaded with clams so I started with that. It was only luke warm and almost no clams - it was like a bowl of warm milk with potatoes - I could only eat a quarter of it. The main course was fish and chips - the batter was limp and flavourless and could not finish that either. That atmosphere was also dated. We will not be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Got no Buzz”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went here for lunch and found it very strange. We were greeted at the door, presented with menus and seated right away. Once we had chosen our food, we had to go up to the counter and order, with payment required at this time. We also had to help ourselves to water from a side table, where we could also pick up condiments such as mustard, soy sauce & vinegar. Food came to the table in reasonable time, and was hot & fresh. Batter on the fish & chips somewhat soggy, although the battered shrimp were nice and crispy. No salad greens or coleslaw served to balance the totally fried meal. Once we had our food, the server did not check back with us, in fact we felt ignored. If we had not paid up front, we would not have tipped (maybe they have this figured out!). Won't go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lackluster food and bad cocktail”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food was mediocre here. I had a lava flow cocktail which was much too sweet and not worth the $10. We ordered the calamari sticks which were very rubbery and very large pieces. For both of us who enjoyed calamari typically it was a big disappointment. Service here was okay. The view is nice of the ocean. The two is coming from my boyfriend who places, I would have given it a three but with all the other food venues in Maui both of us agreed that we probably would not return.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Food was excellent from Ahi Tuna to teriyaki wahoo. Service was excellent. This was our second trip to Buzz's Wharf and both times were consistent in food quality and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz's Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz's Wharf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.